SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#26 2015-09-10 19:28:13

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: Don't run all conkys

I vote for an Arch style installer to keep those bloody n00bs out.

Should I write up a quick debootstrap tutorial so we can dump the installer from the ISO image?

[/joke]

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#27 2015-09-10 20:13:18

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Don't run all conkys

^ YEA RIGHT!

I call this Hoa_S.png HoaS on the ARCH Stick!   ]:D
Take two aspirins and call Dr. Jekyll.  lol


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#28 2015-09-10 21:50:14

Ututo
#! CrunchBanger
From: Lerma Valley
Registered: 2012-03-09
Posts: 133

Re: Don't run all conkys

Hi there!
Just a question. What is going to happen to these forums once we move to B^L forums? Because there're a lot of interesting and valuable information on these forums...

cheers

Ututo


BunsenLabs en Español
BunsenLabs on deviantArt

Offline

#29 2015-09-10 22:34:26

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Don't run all conkys

We do not have a definitive answer yet.

But in the worst case scenario the CrunchBang forum will be locked for new posts/users and we can "refer" to the posts from the Bunsen Forums.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#30 2015-09-11 01:51:16

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Don't run all conkys

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Should I write up a quick debootstrap tutorial so we can dump the installer from the ISO image?

[/joke]

Can you make it so I have to chroot via a Google Play app using a Blackberry Z10 running 10.3 OS and Snap? Because that would be epic.


bunsenlabs     8)     forum mod squad

Offline

#31 2015-09-11 04:41:24

ostrołęk
CB Member
Registered: 2015-08-13
Posts: 110

Re: Don't run all conkys

Conky is not an important thing. It is just something we can play with. That's what we have been doing most of the times with old crunchbang, and trying to rearrange the way Tint2 looked. Anyway, I am using Compton too. All that you wrote is true, you can move the conkys etc, but for the session. Would the conky rewrite itself to the new place in

gap_x
gap_y
alignment

these points?
The screeny in the 1st post is of BL RC1 Live.

Sector11 wrote:

If you ran BL you'd see that compton is our compositor...

points to another question; how many of us are really running BL? Really means really, as the main OS.

Offline

#32 2015-09-11 04:57:17

ostrołęk
CB Member
Registered: 2015-08-13
Posts: 110

Re: Don't run all conkys

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

I vote for an Arch style installer to keep those bloody n00bs out.
[/joke]

Joke or not, not much new members are coming in now.

Ututo wrote:

Just a question. What is going to happen to these forums once we move to B^L forums? Because there're a lot of interesting and valuable information on these forums...

I suppose, if the old members would join the new BL forum, and the new guys would join in, questions would be asked, answers given and with luck the new BL forum would grow. Crunchbang had been abandoned and there might be very few users of the old crunchbang. BL is new and different, so it should go on its way. BL would also change its look and evolve into a separate distro. smile

Offline

#33 2015-09-11 05:07:03

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Don't run all conkys

Points to another question? Like, really really points?

Choose your next words carefully.


bunsenlabs     8)     forum mod squad

Offline

#34 2015-09-11 07:14:59

ostrołęk
CB Member
Registered: 2015-08-13
Posts: 110

Re: Don't run all conkys

hhh wrote:

Points to another question? Like, really really points?

Choose your next words carefully.

Oh, forget my 2nd question. smile I'd really love to see lot of users in the new BL forums.
Let's leave the 1st question on;  Would the conky rewrite itself to the new place in

gap_x
gap_y
alignment

these points, when we move the conky with Alt pushed down?

Offline

#35 2015-09-11 07:38:40

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 2,205

Re: Don't run all conkys

ostrolk wrote:

Conky is not an important thing. It is just something we can play with.

i care to disagree.
i've not been "playing with my conkys" for a while now, but i rather consider them important utilities. at a glance, i know what the weather will be like today, or if my cpu is on overload, and which process is taking so much.
not unimportant, imho.

PS: is ostrolk userx-bw?

Offline

#36 2015-09-11 08:16:58

ostrołęk
CB Member
Registered: 2015-08-13
Posts: 110

Re: Don't run all conkys

ohnonot wrote:
ostrolk wrote:

Conky is not an important thing. It is just something we can play with.

i care to disagree.
i've not been "playing with my conkys" for a while now, but i rather consider them important utilities. at a glance, i know what the weather will be like today, or if my cpu is on overload, and which process is taking so much.
not unimportant, imho.

PS: is ostrolk userx-bw?

Wouldn't Htop show you all that?

Ostrolk is my city, Ostrołęka, but you wouldn't pronounce it. Have a look, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ostro%C5%82%C4%99ka

Offline

#37 2015-09-11 08:58:05

mzsade
#! Junkie
Registered: 2009-09-27
Posts: 276

Re: Don't run all conkys

Harrumph! Grumpy old Crunchbanger here.  Recently discovered OpenBox as a standalone and gkrellm, and with my new found appreciation of the minimal and the "less is more" philosophy, Conky, to say nothing of 3 conkys, seems like an affectatious waste of system resources and time when you have gkrellm for the same visual representation, In the same way i consider panels to be a needless waste of Screen real estate when your OB right click menu can be configured to have everything you can have in the panel, including Restart and Shutdown, in the root menu and switching desktops is just a matter of touchpad 2-finger/middle-mouse-button scrolling.
I know, i am such a wet blanket.  tongue

Offline

#38 2015-09-11 09:26:01

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 5,434

Re: Don't run all conkys

ostrolk wrote:

... Would the conky rewrite itself to the new place in

gap_x
gap_y
alignment

these points, when we move the conky with Alt pushed down?

You know it doesn't, so why ask the question?


BunsenLabs Group on deviantArt
damo's gallery on deviantArt
Openbox themes
Forum Moderator smile

Offline

#39 2015-09-11 09:44:15

ostrołęk
CB Member
Registered: 2015-08-13
Posts: 110

Re: Don't run all conkys

damo wrote:
ostrolk wrote:

... Would the conky rewrite itself to the new place in

gap_x
gap_y
alignment

these points, when we move the conky with Alt pushed down?

You know it doesn't, so why ask the question?

Moving the conkys around by pushing down Alt key for the session has no real value, if you are going to logout at the end, so you  shouldn't open more conkys at the same time. You can get all the info from Htop. Conky is not a marketing/selling point. Most of the time, the conky is under a window--you are working--you don't see it.

Offline

#40 2015-09-11 09:58:53

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 5,434

Re: Don't run all conkys

osTROLLk wrote:

....
Moving the conkys around by pushing down Alt key for the session has no real value, if you are going to logout at the end, so you  shouldn't open more conkys at the same time. You can get all the info from Htop. Conky is not a marketing/selling point. Most of the time, the conky is under a window--you are working--you don't see it.

Speak for yourself.

Do you use a multi-monitor setup, with plenty of desktop space? Do you enjoy playing with your setup, having fun with it? Dragging a useful conky to where you want can be very handy.

htop cannot show all the things a conky can.


BunsenLabs Group on deviantArt
damo's gallery on deviantArt
Openbox themes
Forum Moderator smile

Offline

#41 2015-09-11 11:53:18

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Don't run all conkys

ostrolk wrote in Post #19:
Would the conky rewrite itself to the new place in

gap_x
gap_y
alignment

these points?

You're kidding right!
I answered this in post #10 and you yourself answered this in post #14.

So my guess is you:

  1. are trying to increase your post count

  2. are trying to get yourself in print

  3. don't really read questions and answers

  4. don't believe in yourself


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#42 2015-09-11 16:40:16

ostrołęk
CB Member
Registered: 2015-08-13
Posts: 110

Re: Don't run all conkys

@ damo. I didn't think you'd go that far...

Do you use a multi-monitor setup, with plenty of desktop space? Do you enjoy playing with your setup, having fun with it? Dragging a useful conky to where you want can be very handy.

No, I don't. And, don't correct the problem, that is, if there is a problem. Let's play with conkys.

@ Sector11. I know you love conkys, so let it be.  smile

Offline

#43 2015-09-11 17:44:56

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Don't run all conkys

No, you don't get to make repetitive arguments about minutiae and then post "Relax! smiley emojie" when your ridiculousness is acknowledged. Have a week off to reconsider your purpose in being a member of these forums.


bunsenlabs     8)     forum mod squad

Offline

#44 2015-09-11 20:21:33

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 2,205

Re: Don't run all conkys

mzsade wrote:

Recently discovered OpenBox as a standalone and gkrellm, and with my new found appreciation of the minimal and the "less is more" philosophy, Conky, to say nothing of 3 conkys, seems like an affectatious waste of system resources and time when you have gkrellm for the same visual representation, In the same way i consider panels to be a needless waste of Screen real estate when your OB right click menu can be configured to have everything you can have in the panel, including Restart and Shutdown, in the root menu and switching desktops is just a matter of touchpad 2-finger/middle-mouse-button scrolling.

wot.
openbox? window managers are overrated. X is bloat. the shell is enough. and never use commands that have more than 3 letters (and yes, bash has 4 letters, so it's bloat)! except for vim, that's bloat, too. its vi, or ed for purists.
for system monitoring i closely watch the blinking LEDs on my motherboard.

Offline

#45 2015-09-11 20:26:38

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: Don't run all conkys

ohnonot wrote:

openbox? window managers are overrated. X is bloat. the shell is enough. and never use commands that have more than 3 letters (and yes, bash has 4 letters, so it's bloat)! except for vim, that's bloat, too. its vi, or ed for purists.
for system monitoring i closely watch the blinking LEDs on my motherboard.

QFT
]:D

Offline

#46 2015-09-11 20:42:37

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Don't run all conkys

YEA right ... a purist uses punch-cards.  lol

And conky is done with hammer and chisel on the cave wall and the blood of the daily kill, for din-din, to fill in the variables!


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#47 2015-09-12 06:12:09

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Don't run all conkys

I've merged the other ostrolk OT post collection-thread to this one.


bunsenlabs     8)     forum mod squad

Offline

#48 2015-09-12 22:31:42

mzsade
#! Junkie
Registered: 2009-09-27
Posts: 276

Re: Don't run all conkys

lol Guys, guys..i never claimed to be a purist, and my minimalism does not entail being a trappist monk when it comes to using a GUI. Had a pretty elaborate 3 Conky set up myself back in the day,  a Conky main, a weather Conky and lua clock conky, all running from startup. Grew tired of tweeaking it after awhile.  That was before i became an eager-beaver Debian user.  wink

Offline

#49 2015-09-12 23:46:12

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Don't run all conkys

@ mzsade

We're just having fun.  Have a {insert favourite drink here} and relax.   wink

elaborate 3 Conky set up  lol  lol  lol that's good ... but then I'm a conky nut ... my wife says I should make one to do the dishes, the laundry and sweep the floor.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#50 2015-09-13 00:43:06

tknomanzr
#! Die Hard
From: Heavener, OK
Registered: 2014-12-09
Posts: 777

Re: Don't run all conkys

Back when I still drank beer, beer brewed by trappist monks was not what I would call minimalist or ascetic. In fact, that particular beer was one of the best I ever tasted.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo