SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-07-22 22:56:49

microaide
New Member
Registered: 2014-04-14
Posts: 7

Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

The Volti mixer has a severe bug as far as selecting which volume controls will be displayed in the mixer. It turns out to be very difficult to display just the controls you want because the checkbox for enabling a control (under Select Controls) often ends up controlling the display of a DIFFERENT volume control, or may have no effect whatsoever. See my post under "Help & Support (Stable)". I recommend getting rid of Volti until it is fixed (if that ever happens). I have no firm recommendation for a replacement, but I liked pavucontrol in !# (though it requires pulseaudio, but so does Skype, which I also use).

Anyone else know of a good mixer? I do a lot of sound recording.

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2015-07-22 23:03:24

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Offline

#3 2015-07-22 23:16:15

smacz
#! Junkie
Registered: 2014-12-09
Posts: 250

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Last edited by smacz (2015-07-22 23:27:54)

Offline

#4 2015-07-23 00:43:39

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Offline

#5 2015-07-23 01:16:37

smacz
#! Junkie
Registered: 2014-12-09
Posts: 250

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Offline

#6 2015-07-23 02:06:20

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

I have no idea ... that is way over this noobs head.

Whatever made qasmixer look the way it did in Waldorf (Wheezy) I'd like to have in Bunsen though  big_smile

Offline

#7 2015-07-23 07:15:08

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,264

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Offline

#8 2015-07-23 16:36:49

tynman
Member
From: Edmonton, Canada
Registered: 2015-04-26
Posts: 22

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Offline

#9 2015-07-23 18:14:02

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

sudo apt-get install pavucontrol

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2015-07-23 18:15:31)

Offline

#10 2015-07-23 21:45:27

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,264

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Last edited by KrunchTime (2015-07-23 22:15:58)

Offline

#11 2015-07-23 21:53:32

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Last edited by pvsage (2015-07-23 22:19:36)

Offline

#12 2015-07-26 22:52:05

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 2,205

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

a powder blue prius... not bad...
but a well-coded qt app (4 or 5) can be made to listen to gtk theming.
apart from that, please don't mix up appearance (qt vs gtk) with sound architecture (alsa vs pulseaudio), please.

any questions concerning the latter, reply to this thread.

Offline

#13 2015-07-27 22:45:09

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Just remove Volti if you don't like it...

sudo apt-get purge volti && sudo apt-get --purge autoremove

Logout and login.

Last edited by hhh (2015-07-27 22:45:54)

Offline

#14 2015-07-28 00:02:46

brontosaurusrex
#! Red Menace
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 1,643

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2015-07-28 00:33:17)

Offline

#15 2015-07-28 18:19:50

Nili
#! Die Hard
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2013-03-20
Posts: 811
Website

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

^ +1

Simple, clean, faster, practical and productive

Offline

#16 2015-08-28 17:46:29

MrDowntempo
Member
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 24

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Offline

#17 2015-08-28 18:17:57

ostrołęk
CB Member
Registered: 2015-08-13
Posts: 110

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Isn't alsa, pulseaudio, volumeicon, pavucontrol or xfce4-mixer enough?

Offline

#18 2015-08-28 19:41:40

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Offline

#19 2015-08-28 20:26:10

MrDowntempo
Member
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 24

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

@hhh The big is if I use volti to mute (the icon itself) audio remains muted but unmuting via volti doesn't work. Instead I have to use pavmixer or some other command to unmute.

Offline

#20 2015-08-28 20:31:41

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Offline

#21 2015-08-28 21:51:13

MrDowntempo
Member
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 24

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Yes. I stated that in the thread. Backported xfce4 volumed was installed but that alone didn't help. Only after removing volti and replacing it did I get the expected unmuting behavior.

Offline

#22 2015-08-28 21:56:14

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

OK, thanks for the info. It's different for me on my hardware and the same with both volti and volumeicon, if I mute via the applet, un-muting from there still doesn't work, I have to use my keyboard unmute button.

Offline

#23 2015-08-29 16:53:20

ostrołęk
CB Member
Registered: 2015-08-13
Posts: 110

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Offline

#24 2015-08-29 17:48:10

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

I don't know what you mean by "enough". Hydrogen currently has pulseaudio/alsa for sound, pavucontrol is pulse's mixer and we're using volti for a panel applet. This thread is about dropping volti, which leaves the question of what will replace it in the tint2 notification panel?

We're looking into volumeicon as it's lighter on RAM, but johnraff's discovered a visual glitch that screams "lack of polish". If you scroll on the applet to adjust volume, you get 2 notifications.

I've opened an issue on Maato's Volumeicon GitHub page, we'll see if he responds. In the meantime, if anyone has a workaround for this, please post it. If we can't find one, we'll most likely stick with volti, one can always replace it with their applet of choice.

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#25 2015-08-29 19:00:50

MrDowntempo
Member
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 24

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo