SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-07-19 00:33:18

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

is there an different applet for slelecting wifi connections?

ip link show
wlp3s0

// long version


1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default 
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: wlp3s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,DYNAMIC,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state UP mode DORMANT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:21:6a:be:c7:08 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

is there a different applet that one can use to show the connections one can use to connect to the wifi other then NetworkManger?


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2015-07-19 00:37:02

porkpiehat
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-10-02
Posts: 1,007

Re: is there an different applet for slelecting wifi connections?

Yes, there are several programs that can be used for this.

Last edited by porkpiehat (2015-07-19 00:38:07)

Offline

#3 2015-07-19 00:38:49

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: is there an different applet for slelecting wifi connections?

^ nothing comes to mind or are you one of them military types that only give information to answer just that 1 question that is asked no more and no less?


smile


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#4 2015-07-19 00:43:03

porkpiehat
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-10-02
Posts: 1,007

Re: is there an different applet for slelecting wifi connections?

I am one of them military types.

Offline

#5 2015-07-19 01:06:47

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: is there an different applet for slelecting wifi connections?

10


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#6 2015-07-19 01:53:45

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: is there an different applet for slelecting wifi connections?

^ me too I got caught in my own trap lol wink


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#7 2015-07-19 09:09:09

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: is there an different applet for slelecting wifi connections?

sudo iwlist scan|grep SSID

Or:

sudo iw dev wlp3s0 scan|grep SSID

https://wiki.debian.org/WiFi/HowToUse

Offline

#8 2015-07-19 17:10:31

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: is there an different applet for slelecting wifi connections?

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
sudo iwlist scan|grep SSID

Or:

sudo iw dev wlp3s0 scan|grep SSID

https://wiki.debian.org/WiFi/HowToUse

[userx@void ~]$ sudo iwlist scan|grep SSID
Password: 
sudo: iwlist: command not found
[userx@void ~]$ 
[userx@void ~]$ sudo iw dev wlp3s0 scan|grep SSID
	SSID: Google Starbucks
	SSID: ConnectCC
	SSID: \x00
[userx@void ~]$ 

the SSID is Google StarBucks that I added to it during setup / install

[userx@void ~]$ ls /etc
ConsoleKit            dns            host.conf          lvm            profile      skel
X11                   dracut.conf    hostname           lxdm           profile.d    ssh
acpi                  dracut.conf.d  hosts              man.conf       protocols    ssl
asound.conf           drirc          inputrc            mke2fs.conf    pulse        sudoers
at-spi2               enlightenment  iproute2           modprobe.d     rc.conf      sudoers.d
bash                  environment    iptables           mplayer        rc.local     sudoers.new-1.8.14p1_1
ca-certificates       fonts          issue.new-0.128_1  mtab           rc.shutdown  sv
ca-certificates.conf  fstab          kernel.d           nsswitch.conf  resolv.conf  sysctl.conf
colors                gai.conf       ld.so.cache        openldap       rpc          udev
cron.daily            gconf          ld.so.conf         os-release     runit        updatedb.conf
crypttab              group          ld.so.conf.d       pam.d          securetty    vbox
cups                  group-         libnl              pango          security     wgetrc
dbus-1                grub.d         libpaper.d         papersize      services     wpa_supplicant
default               gshadow        locale.conf        passwd         sgml         xdg
depmod.d              gshadow-       localtime          passwd-        shadow       xml
dhcpcd.conf           gtk-2.0        login.defs         pkcs11         shadow-      zzz.d
dkms                  gtk-3.0        logrotate.d        polkit-1       shells
[userx@void ~]$ 

that is all of /etc
if you notice it does not have every directory that is installed in other Linux Distros for one, and if you look closely you'll see that it is using wpa_supplicant.

Compiling network-manager-applet-1.0.4 or lesser
I've already added some of the files it tells me it is missing, then run ./configue again to run into this.

configure: error: Package requirements (dbus-glib-1 >= 0.74
         gio-2.0 >= 2.32
        NetworkManager >= 1.0.0
         libnm-glib >= 1.0.0
         libnm-util >= 1.0.0
         libnm-glib-vpn >= 1.0.0
         gmodule-export-2.0) were not met:

No package 'dbus-glib-1' found
No package 'NetworkManager' found
No package 'libnm-glib' found
No package 'libnm-util' found
No package 'libnm-glib-vpn' found

it is not getting trhough the installing of all of this that is stopping me from doing it. it is the I do not want to install all of this, especailly NetworkManager >= 1.0.0 Because I do not want to run into conflicts and have this  NetworkManager >= 1.0.0 mess up my already working WIFI -- that only logs onto Google Starbucks because I set it up to do so during install.

Because I like having that applet up on my status bar so I can see what is going on at a glance, and if need be I can change the SSID on a click's notice.


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#9 2015-07-19 17:28:58

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: is there an different applet for slelecting wifi connections?

Why don't you just write a BASH function to connect with the `nmcli` command?

Read:

man nmcli

&

man bash

For more on this wink

Alternatively: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wi … nual_setup

Adjust for use with Void, obviously...

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2015-07-19 17:30:51)

Offline

#10 2015-07-19 17:55:43

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: is there an different applet for slelecting wifi connections?

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Why don't you just write a BASH function to connect with the `nmcli` command?

Read:

man nmcli

&

man bash

For more on this wink

Alternatively: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wi … nual_setup

Adjust for use with Void, obviously...

It already auto logs on to Starbucks only because 99.9 % of the time because that is where I am at using WIFI 99.9% of the time but I too just like looking at the bells and Whisles too wink


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#11 2015-07-19 17:57:08

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: is there an different applet for slelecting wifi connections?

You had better be buying coffee while you're there...
tongue

Offline

#12 2015-07-19 18:01:05

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: is there an different applet for slelecting wifi connections?

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

You had better be buying coffee while you're there...
tongue

haha I got Big Mac Daddy gold card status for two more years  FREE REFILLS !!  big_smile (means free coffee most of the time  wink  ) hehe

Last edited by userx-bw (2015-07-19 18:01:39)


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#13 2015-07-19 20:19:40

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: is there an different applet for slelecting wifi connections?

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

You had better be buying coffee while you're there...
tongue

They don't sell "coffee" coffee ... But they need to re-paint a few trucks, this is the correct wrong message:
Starbucks_Delivery_Van_Sliding_Door_Seemed_Like_AGood_Id.jpg


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#14 2015-07-19 20:25:34

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: is there an different applet for slelecting wifi connections?

lol

I wholeheartedly agree with the statement on the van.

I am the only one irked by their use of a literary character as a brand name?

I mean really, what does Moby-Dick have to do with coffee?

Pretentious bunch of [redacted]...

Offline

#15 2015-07-19 20:52:52

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: is there an different applet for slelecting wifi connections?

^ hey I only go here for the killer fast WIFI. I just got a put up with the over priced not really all that good tasing coffee they sell here, but I got lucky and someone that works here gave me a free gold card to sign up for so I get most my coffee for free. and every body loves free smile

even though they are ran by people that way over price everything in the store.


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#16 2015-07-19 20:52:55

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: is there an different applet for slelecting wifi connections?

@ head_on_a_Stick

lol  Donno do whales drink coffee?  Hey, not Moby Dick at all ... a two-tailed mermaid ... go figure.

The Evolution of the Starbucks Logo

BTW: I agree with you.  I got served a coffee on a commercial flight once, took two sips and before the "stewart" could move on I asked him, "What brand is this, and can I change it for a coke please".  He quietly stated, "Starbucks, we get that a lot." and a little louder, "Here's you coke sir" as he made the exchange.  "I don't Starbuck!"


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#17 2015-07-20 00:16:49

unfugr
#! Member
From: ruhr area, germany
Registered: 2012-09-18
Posts: 68

Re: is there an different applet for slelecting wifi connections?

Coffee: Most coffee brewed outside my kitchen tastes like thin mud.

Wifi: What about conky or someting shellish like this

/sbin/iwconfig wlan0 | awk -F "\"" '/ESSID/ { print $2 }'

(please adapt to your system)
to monitor and wpa_gui to change networks? I think it even has a systray icon, but I could be wrong.

Last edited by unfugr (2015-07-20 00:19:31)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo