SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#26 2015-05-29 16:15:09

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: how do I install 3 Linux sys on 2 HDD's?

eight.bit.al wrote:

My design using the distros as the only input from your request:

sda - grub in MBR listing all OS'es
| - - - elementary w/home - - - | - - - Debian w/home - - - | - - - Main share- - - - - - - - - |

sdb - grub in MBR listing all OS'es
| - Swap - | - - - Test  w/home - - - | - - - - - Secondary Share - - - - - |

sdb could be totally wiped with no loss of important data.
peace out.

your idea of using extra space for a share drive changed my line of thought -- I've never experimented in this area whereas I am sure you have

already swapped HDD around --


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#27 2015-05-29 19:18:26

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: how do I install 3 Linux sys on 2 HDD's?

userx-bw wrote:
Sector11 wrote:
alias gri='echo "alias gri = sudo grub-install /dev/sda" ; sudo grub-install /dev/sda'
alias gru='echo "alias gru = sudo update-grub" ; sudo update-grub'
alias griu='echo "alias griu = sudo grub-install /dev/sda ; sudo update-grub" ; sudo grub-install /dev/sda ; sudo update-grub'

Are them BASH conf alias for ease on the finger tips with the command line and memory usages?  smile

I'm a horrible typist - I make aliases of everything.

I've had up to 4 HDD's in my system, and had up to 5 test distros on various partitions on various drives - so the answer is: yes, to make typing easy because I am a horrible typist.  I added the "echo" so that if I show it in a terminal people will understand what "gru" actually means ...:D


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#28 2015-05-29 19:44:24

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: how do I install 3 Linux sys on 2 HDD's?

Sector11 wrote:
userx-bw wrote:
Sector11 wrote:
alias gri='echo "alias gri = sudo grub-install /dev/sda" ; sudo grub-install /dev/sda'
alias gru='echo "alias gru = sudo update-grub" ; sudo update-grub'
alias griu='echo "alias griu = sudo grub-install /dev/sda ; sudo update-grub" ; sudo grub-install /dev/sda ; sudo update-grub'

--------------
I added the "echo" so that if I show it in a terminal people will understand what "gru" actually means ...:D

lol haha chuckel that's a good one. most no longer even call su GOD Mode, it's all sudo now sad

I swapped my Hard dirves around, making the 750 GB sda - and the 1 TB sdb - installed so far one Elementry OS - and two Crunchbangs, I'm planing on keeping one #! and about to run my modified script to upgrade the other to Bl --

then make another one to test with all the sda

I did sdb 1TB set mount points to /usr for elementry because it gave me no other choise, with #! I named it /storage

figured I just fix it afterwards. THIS is my first time doing this. so i am going to use sdb 1 TB just for storage swap is on sda too.

so I boot up into the two first installs see the /usr for the one and the /storage for the other.

the only thing that is wrong with this is that both installed put all them folders that /usr has on sdb 

I DO NOT WANT THAT  mad  mad  mad  mad

I want an empty full hard drive just to put whatever directories I want in it and my suff on it.

so I'll be looking into how to fix that soon.

right now I am going to upgrade #! to BL


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#29 2015-05-29 21:54:31

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: how do I install 3 Linux sys on 2 HDD's?

I did sdb 1TB set mount points to /usr for elementry because it gave me no other choise

Now that I don't understand

You have 750GB as /dev/sda and 1TB as /dev/sdb right?

Partitions:

  • /dev/sda1 - swap - what size you want

  • /dev/sda2 - extended partition - the rest of the drive

  • /dev/sda3 - / - 20GB - distro 1

  • /dev/sda4 - /home - 20GB - distro 1

  • /dev/sda5 - / - 20GB - distro 2

  • /dev/sda6 - /home - 20GB - distro 2

  • /dev/sda7 - / - 20GB - distro 3

  • /dev/sda8 - /home - 20GB - distro 3

  • /dev/sdb1 - /media/data1 - 500GB (½ TB)

  • /dev/sdb2 - /media/data2 - 500GB (½ TB)

have each distro mount /media/data1 & /media/data2 for you to keep all your personal files - videos, music et al..
I only have one 500GB drive but it's partitioned like this ... waiting for a re-install of wally-jr and Bl and one other maybe a BL to SID (for testing).
2015_05_29_18_44_37_775x500_Sector11.jpg

Also "disk-manager" is a GREAT aid for noobs (ME - in CAPS)

 29 May 15 | 18:48:02 ~
    $ sho disk-manager
alias sho = aptitude show filename
Package: disk-manager             
State: installed
Automatically installed: no
Version: 1.1.1-2
Priority: optional
Section: admin
Maintainer: David Paleino <dapal@debian.org>
Architecture: all
Uncompressed Size: 675 k
Depends: python2.6 | python2.7, python (>= 2.6.6-7~), python (< 2.8), python-gtk2, python-glade2, menu
Recommends: dmsetup
Description: simple graphical filesystem configurator
 Disk-Manager is a simple filesystem configurator that allows you to: 
 * Automatically detect new partitions at startup. 
 * Fully manage configuration of filesystem. 
 * Enable/disable write support for NTFS (needs ntfs-3g installed).
Homepage: http://flomertens.free.fr/disk-manager/
 
 29 May 15 | 18:48:10 ~
    $ 

2015_05_29_18_52_05_899x491_Sector11.jpg

But that's me - others do things differently.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#30 2015-05-29 22:03:33

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: how do I install 3 Linux sys on 2 HDD's?

Sector11 wrote:

I did sdb 1TB set mount points to /usr for elementry because it gave me no other choise

Now that I don't understand

You have 750GB as /dev/sda and 1TB as /dev/sdb right?

Partitions:

  • /dev/sda1 - swap - what size you want

  • /dev/sda2 - extended partition - the rest of the drive

  • /dev/sda3 - / - 20GB - distro 1

  • /dev/sda4 - /home - 20GB - distro 1

  • /dev/sda5 - / - 20GB - distro 2

  • /dev/sda6 - /home - 20GB - distro 2

  • /dev/sda7 - / - 20GB - distro 3

  • /dev/sda8 - /home - 20GB - distro 3

  • /dev/sdb1 - /media/data1 - 500GB (½ TB)

  • /dev/sdb2 - /media/data2 - 500GB (½ TB)

so you just named yours data1 and data2 when and it didn't fill them with all those directories?

that is pretty close to the way I have my sda

but the left overs not being used yet is on the back end of the drive.
swap on top
50 GB /
50 GB /home
for each install

elementry did give me an option to write in a mount point for my sdb 1 TB , so I just told it /usr -- then figured I'd fix it after reboot. they maybe why it is filled with them other directories.

Can I just retag the mount point in fstab but first delete them direvtories.

BECAUSE i tag it /storage in fstab to match the other install of #!  then rebooted and elementry just got hung up. so I rebooted into #! then went into elementry and chaged fstab back to /usr mount point then elementry booted up NP.


right now my 1 TB is full of this

/usr/bin
/usr/games
/usr/include
/usr/lib
/usr/local
/usr/sbin
/usr/share
/usr/src

"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#31 2015-05-29 22:59:00

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: how do I install 3 Linux sys on 2 HDD's?

Because /usr is a part of the / system


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#32 2015-05-29 23:31:15

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: how do I install 3 Linux sys on 2 HDD's?

Sector11 wrote:

Because /usr is a part of the / system


DOWN with the SYSTEM!!!!  - LoL !   big_smile


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo