SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-05-27 15:35:04

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

how to fix - netinstall - rfkill wifi - rfkill not installed

I got netinstll installed -- just basic , desktop-enviro, and everything esle not install, except utilites. I go to set up my wifi

sudo ip link set wlan0 up

RF-kill blocked. We configured this system improperly on purpose so that RF-Kill will just bring you more difficulty in setting up your Linux system.  Giving you more steps to do before you can get done what it is you're really needing to get done. We here at Linux anonymous even enjoy putting road blocks in your way to help make your day go by little more worse. tongue big_smile wink

sudo rfkill list

command not found

sudo apt-get remove rfkill

not installed

How can one fix RF-Kill when it is not installed? But it is tongue no it's not neutral  Yes it is because we're using it in blocking you from setting up your WIFI hahahahaha  tongue

mad  mad  mad  mad  mad  gurrrrrr RF-Kill --

so how do I get past rf-kill if I cannot use the commands to set it the way it should be set period?


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2015-05-27 15:38:35

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 5,434

Re: how to fix - netinstall - rfkill wifi - rfkill not installed

userx-bw wrote:

so how do I get past rf-kill if I cannot use the commands to set it the way it should be set period?

Clue....

userx-bw wrote:

I got netinstll installed -- just basic , desktop-enviro, and everything esle not install, except utilites.


BunsenLabs Group on deviantArt
damo's gallery on deviantArt
Openbox themes
Forum Moderator smile

Offline

#3 2015-05-27 15:55:05

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: how to fix - netinstall - rfkill wifi - rfkill not installed

damo wrote:
userx-bw wrote:

so how do I get past rf-kill if I cannot use the commands to set it the way it should be set period?

Clue....

userx-bw wrote:

I got netinstll installed -- just basic , desktop-enviro, and everything esle not install, except utilites.

no desk top - no server thingy - no what ever else that was I didn't want -- so just add the desktop to that list of things to install with the basic --??

I'm Using my / John Raff's or John Raff's and My script to upgrade my main install CrunchBang to Jessie / BunsenLabs right now, but after that gets done (hour or so ) -- I'll redo the netinstall on my other HDD on this lap top then get to test the script on a NOT stripped down version of debian 8 to simulate a netinstall where I removed desktop-enveriotment from that system -- and other things to simulate a NetInstall and it still worked  ( wifi was already in system though big_smile )

RF _ KIll is a butt biter just the same
Thanks Damo
edit

PS when all else fails -- read the instructions big_smile
  big_smile

EDIT 2
according to hhh instructions. As I had thought I had done it right- per instructions  tongue

Choose software (I deselected everything, you can add standard system utils if you want but deselect everything else)

http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=39643



Now what advice can you give me ??  neutral

Last edited by userx-bw (2015-05-27 16:12:59)


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#4 2015-05-27 18:21:20

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: how to fix - netinstall - rfkill wifi - rfkill not installed

It's not GNU/Linux, it's your firmware (BIOS)...

Install rfkill using the .deb package available from here (select your architecture from the list at the bottom of the page):
https://packages.debian.org/jessie/rfkill

Download the .deb on another computer, copy it to a USB stick, transfer if to your jessie system and use `dpkg -i <name of .deb>` to install it, then use:

sudo rfkill unblock all

If that doesn't work, post details of your hardware -- be excruciatingly specific...

Offline

#5 2015-05-27 18:27:05

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: how to fix - netinstall - rfkill wifi - rfkill not installed

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

It's not GNU/Linux, it's your firmware (BIOS)...

Install rfkill using the .deb package available from here (select your architecture from the list at the bottom of the page):
https://packages.debian.org/jessie/rfkill

Download the .deb on another computer, copy it to a USB stick, transfer if to your jessie system and use `dpkg -i <name of .deb>` to install it, then use:

sudo rfkill unblock all

If that doesn't work, post details of your hardware -- be excruciatingly specific...

doesn't work says rfkill is not installed DONT WORK sad

I just did hhh instruck-in's http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=39643

to bring up the wlan0 net but still gets an RF - Kill

I got me laptop to netinstall then did as that instructions said so I can run this script to see what I see but that rf kill is killing wifi ;p

how to get it not installed during netinstall or config files I can edit maybe even -- as I was just about to install it again putting in the desktop - enviorment then trying it again.

I can still boot it up and get in to it

EDIT ok wait I am now reading the rest of the post, I just scanned it first read   lol

brb doing this now .... burp

Last edited by userx-bw (2015-05-27 18:29:00)


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#6 2015-05-27 18:56:52

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: how to fix - netinstall - rfkill wifi - rfkill not installed

userx-bw wrote:
Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

It's not GNU/Linux, it's your firmware (BIOS)...

Install rfkill using the .deb package available from here (select your architecture from the list at the bottom of the page):
https://packages.debian.org/jessie/rfkill

Download the .deb on another computer, copy it to a USB stick, transfer if to your jessie system and use `dpkg -i <name of .deb>` to install it, then use:

sudo rfkill unblock all

If that doesn't work, post details of your hardware -- be excruciatingly specific...

brb doing this now .... burp

installed rfkill -> sudo rfkill unblock all -> sudo ifup wlan0 ->

wpa_supplicant /sbin/wpa_supplicant deamon failed to start
if-pre-up.d /wpasupplicant returned error exit 1

Intel Link 5300

userx@crunchbangerz:~$ sudo lshw -C network
  *-network               
       description: Wireless interface
       product: Ultimate N WiFi Link 5300
       vendor: Intel Corporation
       physical id: 0
       bus info: pci@0000:03:00.0
       logical name: wlan0
       version: 00
       serial: 00:21:6a:be:c7:08
       width: 64 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
       configuration: broadcast=yes driver=iwlwifi driverversion=3.16.0-4-amd64 firmware=8.83.5.1 build 33692 ip=172.31.98.243 latency=0 link=yes multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11abgn
       resources: irq:48 memory:d8100000-d8101fff
userx@crunchbangerz:~$ 

I hope that is excruciatingly specific  enough smile

Last edited by userx-bw (2015-05-27 18:58:26)


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#7 2015-05-27 19:15:34

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: how to fix - netinstall - rfkill wifi - rfkill not installed

userx-bw wrote:

I hope that is excruciatingly specific  enough smile

Not even close -- I need to know the make, model, brand, date of birth and favourite colour of your laptop.

Post the output of:

sudo rfkill unblock all
sudo ip l set wlan0 up
ip l

Offline

#8 2015-05-27 19:35:25

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: how to fix - netinstall - rfkill wifi - rfkill not installed

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
userx-bw wrote:

I hope that is excruciatingly specific  enough smile

Not even close -- I need to know the make, model, brand, date of birth and favourite colour of your laptop.

Post the output of:

sudo rfkill unblock all
sudo ip l set wlan0 up
ip l

let me try that too as I forgot to tell you I did the

sudo ip link set wlan0 up

no go

looked into wpa_supplicant deamon stuff Arch wikiciwiki comes up a lot

going to stick this in there too wpa_supplicant.conf

#ctrl_interface=DIR=/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
#update_config=1
#fast_reauth=1
#ap_scan=1


network={
    ssid="XXXXXXX"
    #psk="passphrase"
    #psk=59e0d07fa4c7741797a4e394f38a5c321e3bed51d54ad5fcbd3f84bc7415d73d
}
Not even close -- I need to know the 
make ->  HP EliteBook 6930p
model the one that has the off board ATI Video 256K vram gram what ever they are calling it now days
brand ->  HP EliteBook 6930p -- I alread told you that once :) 
date of birth -> long time ago - its out of production 
favourite colour of my laptop -> if I had a spray can I think I'd color it red and black :D

"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#9 2015-05-27 19:43:57

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: how to fix - netinstall - rfkill wifi - rfkill not installed

I need to see the `ip l` output and any error messages from `rfkill`

Post the output of:

lsmod|grep hp

There is no point creating a wpa_supplicant.conf as nothing in a Debian system parses that file unless you tell it to...

Offline

#10 2015-05-27 19:55:53

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: how to fix - netinstall - rfkill wifi - rfkill not installed

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

I need to see the `ip l` output and any error messages from `rfkill`

Post the output of:

lsmod|grep hp

There is no point creating a wpa_supplicant.conf as nothing in a Debian system parses that file unless you tell it to...

wpa_supplicant -B -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -iwlan0
I got a successful but and error exit 1 again off of that on sudo ifup wlan0

on your rfkill unblock all
prior upon reboot it was set to (for wifi ) soft on hard off
then it set it to on for both,
sudo ip l set wlan0 up
ip l -> State DOWN

ip link set wlan0 up
it still does not take effect it stays DOWN

let me rebboooot in to the other one and get back to you on grep


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#11 2015-05-27 20:16:47

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: how to fix - netinstall - rfkill wifi - rfkill not installed

@Head_on_a_Stick

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

gibbity gibbiy gibbity

on boot screen

job started for LSB raise network interf ... keeping time xxx / no limit ) 

Prob cuz of wpa_sup xx.conf - then it kicks in and runs off too fast to read ...
I check it and its still down

lsmod|grep hp

hp_wmi 13330 0
sparce_keymap 12812 1 hp_wmi
hp_accel 25200 0
lis3lv02d 17883 1 hp_accel
rfkill 18867 3 cfg 80211 , hp_wmi
wmi 17339 hp_wmi
shpchp 31121 0

Last edited by userx-bw (2015-05-27 20:26:18)


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#12 2015-05-27 20:25:38

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: how to fix - netinstall - rfkill wifi - rfkill not installed

sudo tee /etc/modprobe.d/hp.conf <<< "blacklist hp_wmi"

Then reboot & run:

sudo rfkill unblock all

And stop f****ing around with wpa_supplicant, you have no idea what you're doing... roll

Offline

#13 2015-05-27 20:28:29

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: how to fix - netinstall - rfkill wifi - rfkill not installed

userx-bw wrote:

@Head_on_a_Stick

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

gibbity gibbiy gibbity

This is the last time I help you.

Goodbye.

Offline

#14 2015-05-27 20:33:53

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: how to fix - netinstall - rfkill wifi - rfkill not installed

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
sudo tee /etc/modprobe.d/hp.conf <<< "blacklist hp_wmi"

Then reboot & run:

sudo rfkill unblock all

And stop f****ing around with wpa_supplicant, you have no idea what you're doing... roll

I wasn't I left it in there because I didnt get your post don't do that as I was in my other one when you posted that so tongue

this is just taking too much time and effort to do for the both of us. Let's just scrap this idea. The only reason I am doing it was because I just wanted to complete my suspissions of my sctipt working on a net install too, as I modded it for that aera as well, I know it will work. I just wanted to watch it work.

if you like you could check it on a netinstall if you'd like .. then get back to me on that. it'd be done faster then all of this messing around trying to get this wifi working.

I'm thinking of moving on to a Mint distro install  then runnig the script to see what I get, then go from there

Thanks for all of your effort on this wifi thing,,, what should the post state in the  header now? scrapped Idea??

did that stuff anyways -- blacklist --> no such file --> reboot -> rfkill unblock all -> ifup I think that is what I ran then it did something possitive but not -> still down if config wlan0 link encop:Ethernet hardware -- wlan0:acahi link encap:Ethernet

roll  roll  roll  roll  roll

Last edited by userx-bw (2015-05-27 21:04:24)


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo