SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-02-02 23:16:11

behrangsa
New Member
From: Melbourne, VIC
Registered: 2015-02-02
Posts: 5
Website

Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

Hi,

Is there a way to install jq via apt in CrunchBang?

Thanks in advance.

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2015-02-02 23:24:07

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2012-03-22
Posts: 1,026
Website

Re: Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

$ sudo apt-get install jq

Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..
--> The very new BL forum! <--

Offline

#3 2015-02-02 23:56:38

behrangsa
New Member
From: Melbourne, VIC
Registered: 2015-02-02
Posts: 5
Website

Re: Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

Jesus! Rather than replying to you I reported your comment  :8

Here's my reply:

It is not available on the repositories enabled by default:

sudo apt-get install jq
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package jq

It is available in wheezy-backports, but if I enable that and then run apt-get upgrade in the future, wouldn't it bring possibly non-stable versions of other packages too? (I am an Ubuntu refugee and I have started using Crunchbang/Openbox in hopes of a more stable user experience.)

Thanks,
Behrang

Last edited by behrangsa (2015-02-02 23:58:34)

Offline

#4 2015-02-03 00:03:42

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

behrangsa wrote:

It is available in wheezy-backports, but if I enable that and then run apt-get upgrade in the future, wouldn't it bring possibly non-stable versions of other packages too?

No, backports are disabled by default, you have to specify the upgrade with the -t switch unlless you configure them otherwise...
https://wiki.debian.org/Backports
http://backports.debian.org/Instructions/

Debian recommends just using the packages you need from backports, not upgrading to every available backport package.


bunsenlabs     8)     forum mod squad

Offline

#5 2015-02-03 09:38:55

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2012-03-22
Posts: 1,026
Website

Re: Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

behrangsa wrote:

Jesus! Rather than replying to you I reported your comment  :8

smile  smile

No problem, as I can still post here  smile

Sorry my advice wasn't useful ... I'm on sid, and sometimes I forget that people perhaps go with wheezy.

Certainly, try what hhh says, it is in wheezy-backports.


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..
--> The very new BL forum! <--

Offline

#6 2015-02-03 10:05:37

cloverskull
#! Junkie
Registered: 2013-10-26
Posts: 377

Re: Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

Is there any reason you can't just download the binary from the website and install it manually?

Offline

#7 2015-02-03 10:30:05

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2012-03-22
Posts: 1,026
Website

Re: Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

cloverskull wrote:

Is there any reason you can't just download the binary from the website and install it manually?

Installing via 'apt-get' (or similar) ensures future updates and avoids various possible (library) incompatibilities. Also, 'apt-get' (or similar) will automagically assure that proper dependencies are satisfied.

Installing directly from binary, or by compiling yourself, the jq package will not be updated with newer versions (when available), nor incompatible dependencies will be checked.


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..
--> The very new BL forum! <--

Offline

#8 2015-02-03 12:06:46

cloverskull
#! Junkie
Registered: 2013-10-26
Posts: 377

Re: Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

Gotcha. smile

Offline

#9 2015-02-04 06:14:03

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,264

Re: Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

@behrangsa & cloverskull:  Might as well use what's provided via the Backports repo since it is the latest and greatest.

To use Backports repo:

01) As superuser, add the following lines to /etc/apt/preferences:

Package: *
Pin: release a=wheezy-backports
Pin-Priority: 100

Make sure you enter a carriage return (depress the ENTER/RETURN key) after the last line if these are the last lines in the file.

02) As superuser, add the following lines to /etc/apt/sources.list

## DEBIAN BACKPORTS
deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian wheezy-backports main contrib non-free

Feel free to substitute a mirror for the above if desired.  Again, if these are the last lines in the file, make sure to depress the ENTER/RETURN key after the last line.

03) From terminal:

sudo aptitude update
sudo aptitude -Pt wheezy-backports install jq

-- or --

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install -t wheezy-backports jq

Enjoy!

Last edited by KrunchTime (2015-02-04 06:16:05)


Linux User #586672
Come and Die -- Kyle Idleman

Offline

#10 2015-02-04 06:34:37

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

KrunchTime wrote:

01) As superuser, add the following lines to /etc/apt/preferences:

Package: *
Pin: release a=wheezy-backports
Pin-Priority: 100

Not necessary; backports is pinned to 100 by default.
http://backports.debian.org/Instructions/#index3h2

Offline

#11 2015-02-15 03:00:53

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,264

Re: Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

All backports are deactivated by default (i.e. the packages are pinned to 100 by using ButAutomaticUpgrades: yes in the Release files.  But what happens if a dev forgets to do that?  I would rather be on the safe side.  It doesn't hurt to explicitly pin Backports in the preferences file.


Linux User #586672
Come and Die -- Kyle Idleman

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo