SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-02-02 23:16:11

behrangsa
New Member
From: Melbourne, VIC
Registered: 2015-02-02
Posts: 5
Website

Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2015-02-02 23:24:07

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2012-03-22
Posts: 1,026
Website

Re: Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

$ sudo apt-get install jq

Offline

#3 2015-02-02 23:56:38

behrangsa
New Member
From: Melbourne, VIC
Registered: 2015-02-02
Posts: 5
Website

Re: Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

Jesus! Rather than replying to you I reported your comment  ops

Here's my reply:

It is not available on the repositories enabled by default:

sudo apt-get install jq
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package jq

It is available in wheezy-backports, but if I enable that and then run apt-get upgrade in the future, wouldn't it bring possibly non-stable versions of other packages too? (I am an Ubuntu refugee and I have started using Crunchbang/Openbox in hopes of a more stable user experience.)

Thanks,
Behrang

Last edited by behrangsa (2015-02-02 23:58:34)

Offline

#4 2015-02-03 00:03:42

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

Offline

#5 2015-02-03 09:38:55

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2012-03-22
Posts: 1,026
Website

Re: Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

Offline

#6 2015-02-03 10:05:37

cloverskull
#! Junkie
Registered: 2013-10-26
Posts: 377

Re: Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

Is there any reason you can't just download the binary from the website and install it manually?

Offline

#7 2015-02-03 10:30:05

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2012-03-22
Posts: 1,026
Website

Re: Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

Offline

#8 2015-02-03 12:06:46

cloverskull
#! Junkie
Registered: 2013-10-26
Posts: 377

Re: Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

Gotcha. smile

Offline

#9 2015-02-04 06:14:03

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,264

Re: Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

sudo aptitude update
sudo aptitude -Pt wheezy-backports install jq

-- or --

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install -t wheezy-backports jq

Last edited by KrunchTime (2015-02-04 06:16:05)

Offline

#10 2015-02-04 06:34:37

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

Offline

#11 2015-02-15 03:00:53

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,264

Re: Is there a way to install jq using apt-get?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: bleh

Debian Logo