SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#8026 2014-11-24 17:00:47

fabyouless
New Member
From: Vallejo, California
Registered: 2014-09-26
Posts: 6

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Query: Has anybody used conky to display lyrics onscreen during a church worship service?

I'm considering constantly displaying a text file while manipulating the contents. Thinking of pulling in a screenful at a time from a mysql database. Do y'all think this would work?

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#8027 2014-11-24 18:04:13

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Some are small - not all - but the damage ... one (8 and a half minutes) and another (an hour long) unlike some I've only ever seen one live - and I have no desire to see another.

Wise?  Me?  My wife says the same, on rare occasions, boy do I have her fooled.   wink


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#8028 2014-11-25 13:45:16

#!_828
#! Tinfoil Hat
From: Ohio, U. S. of A.
Registered: 2013-09-19
Posts: 1,244

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

fabyouless wrote:

Query: Has anybody used conky to display lyrics onscreen during a church worship service?

I'm considering constantly displaying a text file while manipulating the contents. Thinking of pulling in a screenful at a time from a mysql database. Do y'all think this would work?

Well, using Conky, I don't think that'd be very practical, but definitely I'd be interested in some replacement for ProPresenter, which is what my church uses (our tech department is split between hipsters who adore all things Apple, & a handful of Windows zealots (one of which is a Micro$oft employee) then there's me, the lone prophet of Open Source  lol )


Those who would trade essential liberty for temporary security deserve neither
Member of the (Un)Official #! Emergency Tinfoil Hat Distribution Center
Emergency Tinfoil Hat Conky Alert System development team

Offline

#8029 2014-11-28 17:12:46

syntaxerror
Member
Registered: 2014-09-08
Posts: 30

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Whoot?
Conky misused as "lyrics display"? Conky can do a lot, but that sounds as if you go to the butcher's and look for an expert to tell you how to get the bread crust smoother outside (when you bake one yourself) big_smile

Gimme a break.--- That's usually rather a job for PowerPoint (Win32/64) or the Linux open-source equivalents from either LibreOffice or OpenOffice.

#!_828 wrote:

Well, using Conky, I don't think that'd be very practical

That's a very subtle way to put it. (hrr hrr)

Last edited by syntaxerror (2014-11-28 19:17:17)

Offline

#8030 2014-11-29 01:18:17

Inodoro Pereyra
#! Die Hard
From: Back in Buenos Aires
Registered: 2013-07-01
Posts: 844

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Ok, time to cry for help.

I've been trying to set up a fairly minimalistic conky arrangement on my new laptop. Everything was going well, until I noticed i was getting a shade behind conky. I've tried EVERYTHING I could think of, but the shade won't go away.

Here's what conky looks like:

2014_11_28_1417221277_1600x900_scrot.jpg

And here's what it looks like with the whole below TEXT section commented out:

2014_11_28_1417221045_1600x900_scrot.jpg

So I'm sure the problem is somewhere above TEXT, but, to save my life, I can't find it.

Here's the conky:

## killall conky && conky -c /home/bernardo/.conky/system.conky &

			##  Begin Window Settings  ##
own_window yes
own_window_type normal  ## Window type MUST be "normal".
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
own_window_color 000000
own_window_class conky
own_window_title system
own_window_argb_visual yes
own_window_argb_value 0

double_buffer yes

minimum_size 150 500 ## width, height
maximum_width 150  ## width

gap_x 5 # left-right  
gap_y 0 # up-down  

alignment top_left

			##  End Window Settings  ##
			##  Font Settings  ##
# Use Xft (anti-aliased font and stuff)
use_xft yes
xftfont Anonymous Pro:bold:size=7

# Alpha of Xft font. Must be a value at or between 1 and 0 ##
xftalpha 0
# Force UTF8? requires XFT ##
override_utf8_locale yes

uppercase no

			##  End Font Settings  ##
			##  Color Settings  ##
draw_shades no	#amplifies text if yes
default_shade_color black

draw_outline yes # amplifies text if yes
default_outline_color black

default_color DCDCDC #220 220 220	Gainsboro
color0 FFFFFF #143 188 143	White
color1 778899 #119 136 153	LightSlateGray
color2 FF8C00 #255 140   0	DarkOrange
color3 7FFF00 #127 255   0	Chartreuse
color4 FFA07A #255 160 122	LightSalmon
color5 FFDEAD #255 222 173	NavajoWhite
color6 0000CD #  0 191 255	Medium blue
color7 00FFFF #  0 255 255	Cyan
color8 FFFF00 #255 255   0	Yellow
color9 FF0000 #255   0   0	RED

			##  End Color Settings  ##
			##  Borders Section  ##
draw_borders no
# Stippled borders?
stippled_borders 0
# border margins
border_inner_margin 0
border_outer_margin 0
# border width
border_width 0
# graph borders
draw_graph_borders no #yes
default_graph_size 15 40
			##  End Borders Secton  ##
			##  Miscellaneous Section  ##

background yes

use_spacer none

text_buffer_size 1024

imlib_cache_size 0

no_buffers yes

short_units yes

pad_percents 2

			##  End Miscellaneous Section  ##

# The all important - How often conky refreshes.
update_interval 1

TEXT

${font Ubuntu:bold:size=9}${color9}${goto 5}SYSTEM ${font}${color6}${hr}${color}${font :pixelsize=2}

${goto 10}${font}${sysname} ${kernel}
${goto 10}Uptime:${alignr 5}${uptime}${font :pixelsize=2}

${font Ubuntu:bold:size=9}${color9}${goto 5}PROCESSORS ${font}${color6}${hr}${color}${font :pixelsize=3}

${font}${goto 10}1 ${color3}${cpubar cpu1 7, 100}${color}${alignr 5}${cpu cpu1}%
${goto 10}2 ${color3}${cpubar cpu2 7, 100}${color}${alignr 5}${cpu cpu2}%
${goto 10}3 ${color3}${cpubar cpu3 7, 100}${color}${alignr 5}${cpu cpu3}%
${goto 10}4 ${color3}${cpubar cpu4 7, 100}${color}${alignr 5}${cpu cpu4}%
${goto 10}${cpugraph 30, 135 7FFF00 7FFF00 100}
${font Ubuntu:bold:size=9}${color9}${goto 5}MEMORY ${font}${color6}${hr}${color}${font :pixelsize=3}

${font}${goto 10}${color3}${membar 7, 100}${color}${alignr 5}${memperc}%
${goto 10}${mem}  of  ${memmax}
${font Ubuntu:bold:size=9}${color9}${goto 5}STORAGE ${font}${color6}${hr}${color}${font :pixelsize=3}

${font}${goto 10}${color3}${fs_bar 7, 100 /}${color}${alignr 5}${fs_used_perc /}%
${goto 10}${fs_used /}  of  ${fs_size /}${alignr 1}${execi 10 /usr/bin/hddtemp -n /dev/sda}°C 
${font Ubuntu:bold:size=9}${color9}${goto 5}NETWORK ${font}${color6}${hr}${color}${font :pixelsize=3}

${font}${goto 10}MAC:${alignr 5}${wireless_ap wlan0}${font :pixelsize=3}

${font}${goto 10}${color3}${wireless_link_bar 7, 100 wlan0}${color}${alignr 5}${wireless_link_qual_perc wlan0}%

${font}${font Ubuntu:size=6}${goto 10}Up: ${upspeedf wlan0}KiB/s${alignr 5}Dn: ${downspeedf wlan0}KiB/s${font}
${goto 10}${upspeedgraph wlan0 30, 67 7FFF00 7FFF00 1000}${alignr 5}${downspeedgraph wlan0 30, 67 7FFF00 7FFF00 1000}
${font Ubuntu:bold:size=9}${color9}${goto 5}BATTERY ${font}${color6}${hr}${color}${font :pixelsize=3}

${font}${goto 10}${color3}${battery_bar 7, 100 BAT0}${color}${alignr 5}${battery_percent}%
${goto 5}${color6}${hr}${color}

What am I missing?  sad

Offline

#8031 2014-11-29 02:23:01

Inodoro Pereyra
#! Die Hard
From: Back in Buenos Aires
Registered: 2013-07-01
Posts: 844

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Nevermind. I knew I was forgetting something, so I started going back on this thread. Turns out Sector11 (who else?) had already covered it.
Once again, thanks Sector11, for everything.

Offline

#8032 2014-11-29 02:25:22

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

@ Inodoro Pereyra

Let me guess:

own_window_transparent no #yes

because you are using argb:

own_window_argb_visual yes
own_window_argb_value 0

·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#8033 2014-11-29 03:33:51

Inodoro Pereyra
#! Die Hard
From: Back in Buenos Aires
Registered: 2013-07-01
Posts: 844

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Sector11 wrote:

@ Inodoro Pereyra

Let me guess:

own_window_transparent no #yes

because you are using argb:

own_window_argb_visual yes
own_window_argb_value 0

I tried that. Still didn't work.
What fixed it was the compton.conf hack you posted a few pages back. Worked like a charm. big_smile

Offline

#8034 2014-11-29 09:46:33

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Oh that ... yes, that works.  big_smile


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#8035 2014-11-29 11:09:31

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

fabyouless wrote:

Query: Has anybody used conky to display lyrics onscreen during a church worship service?

I'm considering constantly displaying a text file while manipulating the contents. Thinking of pulling in a screenful at a time from a mysql database. Do y'all think this would work?

I have no idea about mysql but you can for text files.
song.lyrics.test.conky - complete text of lyrics pasted below TEXT.
2014_11_29_07_53_12_1920x1080_Sector11.jpg
song.lyrics.test.2.conky - maybe you can tweak that to get your mysql in there.  That would be the tough part I would think.

# pkill -xf "conky -c /media/5/conky/song.lyrics.test.2.conky" &

###  Begin Window Settings #########################
own_window yes
own_window_type normal
own_window_transparent no
own_window_hints below,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
own_window_colour 000000
own_window_class Conky
own_window_title Song Lyrics
### ARGB can be used for real transparency
  own_window_argb_visual yes # Options: yes or no
### Valid range is 0-255
  own_window_argb_value 150

minimum_size 600 0  # w|h
maximum_width 600

gap_x 15	# l|r
gap_y 10	# u|d

alignment tr
#########################  End Window Settings  ###
###  Font Settings  #########################
# Use Xft
use_xft yes
xftfont Anonymous Pro:bold:size=9
# Alpha of Xft font. Must be a value at or between 1 and 0 ###
xftalpha 1.0

# Force UTF8? requires XFT ###
override_utf8_locale yes

uppercase no
#########################  End Font Settings  ###
###  Color Settings  #########################
draw_shades yes
default_shade_color 000000
draw_outline no
default_outline_color 000000

default_color DCDCDC #220 220 220	Gainsboro
color0 8FBC8F #DarkSeaGreen
color1 778899 #LightSlateGray
color2 F5F5DC #Beige
color3 87CEFA #LightSkyBlue
color4 48D1CC #MediumTurquoise
color5 FFDEAD #NavajoWhite
color6 00BFFF #DeepSkyBlue
color7 B0E0E6 #PowderBlue
color8 FFD700 #Gold
#color9 FFA07A #LightSalmon
color9 CD5C5C #IndianRed
#color9 FF0000 #Red
#color9 DC143C #Crimson
#########################  End Color Settings  ###
###  Borders Section  #########################
draw_borders yes #no
# Stippled borders?
stippled_borders 5
# border margins
border_inner_margin 5
border_outer_margin 0
# border width
border_width 2
# graph borders
draw_graph_borders yes #no
#default_graph_size 15 40
#########################  End Borders Secton  ###
###  Miscellaneous Section  #########################
# Boolean value, if true, Conky will be forked to background when started.
background yes

# Adds spaces around certain objects to stop them from moving other things
# around, this only helps if you are using a mono font
# Options: right, left or none
use_spacer none

# Default and Minimum size is 256 - needs more for single commands that
# "call" a lot of text IE: bash scripts
#text_buffer_size 6144

# Subtract (file slystem) buffers from used memory?
no_buffers yes

# change GiB to G and MiB to M
#short_units yes

# Like it says, ot pads the decimals on % values
# doesn't seem to work since v1.7.1
#pad_percents 2

# Imlib2 image cache size, in bytes. Default 4MiB Increase this value if you use
# $image lots. Set to 0 to disable th0e image cache.
#imlib_cache_size 0

#default_bar_size 0 10

# Use the Xdbe extension? (eliminates flicker)
# It is highly reco${color}mmended to use own window with this one
# so double buffer won't be so big.
double_buffer yes

#   Maximum size of user text buffer, i.e. layout below TEXT line in config file
#  (default is 16384 bytes)
# max_user_text 16384

# Desired output unit of all objects displaying a temperature. Parameters are
# either "fahrenheit" or "celsius". The default unit is degree Celsius.
# temperature_unit Fahrenheit
		###  End Miscellaneous Section  ###

update_interval 1

template0 CPU ${platform f71882fg.2560 temp 1}°${alignr 5}Mobo ${platform f71882fg.2560 temp 2}°\nGPU ${nvidia temp}°${alignr 5}SDA ${hddtemp /dev/sda}°
template1 ${alignc}${membar 0,50}  CPU Usage  ${membar 0,50}\nA = ${cpu cpu0} %${alignr 5}${cpu cpu1} % = 1\n2 = ${cpu cpu2} %${alignr 5}${cpu cpu3} % = 3

TEXT
#${execi 1 head -n 100 /media/5/conky/pharrell_williams_happy.txt}
${execi 1 head -n 100 /media/5/conky/Elvis.Presley-Hound.Dog.txt}

${template1}

Anyway it's a start.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#8036 2014-12-01 08:37:41

Snap
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2013-10-22
Posts: 567

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Interesting! I love it!

Hey S11, I just saw Despicable me 2 yesterday! Right on time  tongue

Offline

#8037 2014-12-01 08:58:13

Snap
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2013-10-22
Posts: 567

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Hey folks, I cannot manage to display temperatures in conky into a VirtualMachine. I have a development VM to build packages, tampering isos and stuff and so on and I like to have conky to monitor my system in case the CPU cores go crazy. I know I can still monitor them into the host system, but wouldn't it be nicer making it work directly in the guest instead? big_smile

Everything works excepting the temperature. I've tried different approaches with no success.

CPU temp option1:${hwmon 0 temp 1} °C
CPU temp option2:${execi 10 sensors | grep ^temp1 | tail -n 1 |awk '{print $2}'} °C
CPU temp option3: ${hwmon 1 temp 2}°C Case: ${hwmon 1 temp 1}°C NB: ${hwmon 1 temp 3} °C
CPU temp option4: ${platform coretemp.0 temp 1} °C
CPU temp option5: ${execi 5 /home/paco/bin/temp.sh} °C

Option 5 is a script that happens to work in the host but not in the guest.

#!/bin/bash
echo $(($(cat /sys/bus/pci/drivers/k10temp/0000:00:18.3/temp1_input) / 1000))
#echo $(($(cat /sys/bus/pci/drivers/k10temp/0000:00:18.3/temp1_max) / 1000))
#echo $(($(cat /sys/bus/pci/drivers/k10temp/0000:00:18.3/temp1_crit) / 1000))

Any tips?

Last edited by Snap (2014-12-01 09:02:24)

Offline

#8038 2014-12-01 10:19:01

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2012-03-22
Posts: 1,026
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

^I think that it is highly unlikely that guest can access (through VirtualBox emulation) motherboard chips directly. You can check it yourself ... just try to descend the '/sys/...' path.

I mean, VirtualBox would need to 'emulate' those, same as it 'emulates' network card and/or graphics card and/or SATA/IDE. And I bet it is very low priority on their list ...

To be sure, install 'lshw' in guest and run 'sudo lshw'. Or install 'lm-sensors' in guest and see if it can read anything by 'sudo sensor-detect' command.

To get temperature in guest, I would make shell script in host to periodically write sensor outputs to some (static) file, and then read this file in guest (and show it in conky) ...

Last edited by iMBeCil (2014-12-01 10:19:31)


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..
--> The very new BL forum! <--

Offline

#8039 2014-12-01 11:03:36

Snap
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2013-10-22
Posts: 567

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Thanks so much for the explanation. lm-sensors doesn't seem to read anything. I'll try lshw just in case.

PS, Nice tip, BTW. I think i'll better try that script route borrowing data from the host.

Last edited by Snap (2014-12-01 11:05:04)

Offline

#8040 2014-12-01 12:12:15

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2012-03-22
Posts: 1,026
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Snap wrote:

Thanks so much for the explanation. lm-sensors doesn't seem to read anything. I'll try lshw just in case.

PS, Nice tip, BTW. I think i'll better try that script route borrowing data from the host.

You're welcome. Glad I could help.

As for the script ... one solution is to simply put your original script into cron (host), every few seconds, while redirecting output to some file (again, on host filesystem). Then you setup shared folder in VBox, make it permanently mounted in fstab (in guest), and simply read aforementioned file with temperature in conky (in guest) ...

If you need more help about that, let me know.


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..
--> The very new BL forum! <--

Offline

#8041 2014-12-01 13:06:03

Snap
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2013-10-22
Posts: 567

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Thanks again. Let's see if I mange to make it work.

Offline

#8042 2014-12-07 19:58:27

syntaxerror
Member
Registered: 2014-09-08
Posts: 30

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Snap wrote:

Thanks so much for the explanation. lm-sensors doesn't seem to read anything. I'll try lshw just in case.

Well, I think I know the reason for this. Because I too had to "steal" a lm-sensors configuration file off some forum post to get it working in my setup. The default config that is shipped with it is simply awful, as it has the most important things missing, especially with old(er) and rare chipsets these parameters MUST be given to lm-sensors, otherwise the output will be totally nonsensical and/or messy.

Last edited by syntaxerror (2014-12-07 19:58:56)

Offline

#8043 2014-12-08 13:32:15

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Snap wrote:

Interesting! I love it!

Hey S11, I just saw Despicable me 2 yesterday! Right on time  tongue

hahahaha those little minions - I have a couple of nieces that are nuts about them - and a wife; "Awwwwww they're cute!"

How's your lm-sensors thing coming?  I've been watching - I don't have that problem but curious as to the outcome.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#8044 2014-12-08 13:51:36

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Over in the interactive thread ohnonot said requoted here because it not totally an interactive issue I'm asking about.

OK, ears open - wax cleaned out, coffee pot full ... milk? sugar? ... let's go ...  smile

ohnonot wrote:

debugging conky is a pita....

I have to agree.  A conky built for GNOME with compiz will in most cases not work right in XFCE4, KDE or UNITY etc etc.  All of mine are now built for #! ie: OpenBox, compton on Debian if you will.  But once you get a setup (above TEXT) working ... it's a piece of cake.

ohnonot wrote:

in your conky config, make sure:

background no

so it doesn't fork itself to background when you start it from the terminal.

All of mine, and I have a couple of thousand here, are

background yes

I have never had a problem with it at all.  Can you explain why you say it's not a good idea to have it forked to the background please.

ohnonot wrote:

also make sure that all conky processes are dead - don't use "killall conky && conky ....", use the "killall conky" in a seperate command.

I have been using this forever.  Why do you say not a good idea?  They are two separate commands separated by the "&&"

Now saying that, lately I have been using this gem from a friend:

pkill -xf "conky -c /path/to/A_conky_file" &

to kill the "individual" conky, leaving the rest running and

conky -c /path/to/A_conky_file &

to restart it.

Or in bash scripts (a working version):

#!/bin/bash
## Original idea by: GrouchyGaijin
## This idea by: Stinkeye - Jan 2013
## With another tweak by: arclance
## Final tweak by: Sector11
## click to start, click to stop

## Tweaked
#if pgrep -f "conky -c $1"
#then
#	pkill -xf "conky -c $1"
#else
#	conky -c "$1"
#fi

##if pgrep -f "conky -c /media/5/Conky/S11_Dates.conky"
##then
##	pkill -xf "conky -c /media/5/Conky/S11_Dates.conky"
##else
##	gnome-terminal -e "conky -c /media/5/Conky/S11_Dates.conky"
##fi
## not running in a terminal
## remove: gnome-terminal -e

if pgrep -f "conky -c /media/5/Conky/S11_Dates.conky"
then
	pkill -xf "conky -c /media/5/Conky/S11_Dates.conky"
else
#	wmctrl -s 1 && conky -c "/media/5/Conky/S11_Dates.conky"
	conky -c "/media/5/Conky/S11_Dates.conky"
fi
ohnonot wrote:

conky also has a debugging switch, so starting it: "conky -D -c /wherever/your/config/file" should give more output. but i have never tried that.

WoW I haven't used that since the 2008.  Just tried it and it needs a "killall conky" to stop the conky afterwards.
And for the test I made sure this was in affect:

background no #yes
ohnonot wrote:

fwiw, sometimes conky will somehow be affected by the last time it was started, even if i killed it twice.
i guess it's caching something somewhere and uses the old cache; i had to restart X or maybe even reboot to fix it.
conky is a strange beast.

I have never had that problem that I can recall.  Maybe that "pkill" command above will help you.

Top line in my conkys:

# pkill -xf "conky -c /home/sector11/4_Conky_WeatherCom/Twcom.Sun_Moon_2.conky" &

... to match each conky of course.

From medit's terminal:

 08 Dec 14 | 10:42:06 ~/4_Conky_WeatherCom
    $ pkill -xf "conky -c /home/sector11/4_Conky_WeatherCom/Twcom.Sun_Moon_2.conky" &
[1] 22974
[1]+  Done                    pkill -xf "conky -c /home/sector11/4_Conky_WeatherCom/Twcom.Sun_Moon_2.conky"
 
 08 Dec 14 | 10:42:29 ~/4_Conky_WeatherCom
    $ conky -c /home/sector11/4_Conky_WeatherCom/Twcom.Sun_Moon_2.conky &
[1] 23035
 
 08 Dec 14 | 10:42:40 ~/4_Conky_WeatherCom
    $ Conky: desktop window (264) is root window
Conky: window type - normal
Conky: drawing to created window (0x3e00001)
Conky: drawing to double buffer
 
 08 Dec 14 | 10:42:51 ~/4_Conky_WeatherCom
    $ pkill -xf "conky -c /home/sector11/4_Conky_WeatherCom/Twcom.Sun_Moon_2.conky" &
[2] 23340
Conky: received SIGINT or SIGTERM to terminate. bye!
[2]+  Done                    pkill -xf "conky -c /home/sector11/4_Conky_WeatherCom/Twcom.Sun_Moon_2.conky"
 
 08 Dec 14 | 10:43:02 ~/4_Conky_WeatherCom
    $ conky -c /home/sector11/4_Conky_WeatherCom/Twcom.Sun_Moon_2.conky &
[2] 23350
[1]   Done                    conky -c /home/sector11/4_Conky_WeatherCom/Twcom.Sun_Moon_2.conky
 
 08 Dec 14 | 10:43:06 ~/4_Conky_WeatherCom
    $ Conky: desktop window (264) is root window
Conky: window type - normal
Conky: drawing to created window (0x3e00001)
Conky: drawing to double buffer
 
 08 Dec 14 | 10:43:07 ~/4_Conky_WeatherCom
    $ 

·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#8045 2014-12-08 13:56:32

boisei0
#! CrunchBanger
From: Gaanderen, Netherlands
Registered: 2013-07-16
Posts: 193

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Currently designing a completely new Conky setup. Quick drawing here; inspired by Falldown's interactive Conky layouts and of course a (perhaps more than) healthy dose of Frozen. Wallpaper from DeviantArt


YAWS (cli weather script with conkyForecast syntax) | Bitbucket | Github | Blog
Member of the Unofficial #! Emergency Tinfoil Hat Distribution Center
Emergency Tinfoil Hat Conky Alert System development team

Offline

#8046 2014-12-08 14:04:12

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

^  Oh my ... that does look interesting...
I only have one active "interactive" conky working I think ... to read logs.

I moved a  couple of conkys roll  from ~/ to media/5/some directories and OOPS!

Looks like postimg(dot)org is under DDOS  ... sad


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#8047 2014-12-08 14:08:10

boisei0
#! CrunchBanger
From: Gaanderen, Netherlands
Registered: 2013-07-16
Posts: 193

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Sector11 wrote:

Looks like postimg(dot)org is under DDOS  ... sad

Been like that the whole day... Was a hell trying to open the photos needed for debugging that interactive Conky script.


YAWS (cli weather script with conkyForecast syntax) | Bitbucket | Github | Blog
Member of the Unofficial #! Emergency Tinfoil Hat Distribution Center
Emergency Tinfoil Hat Conky Alert System development team

Offline

#8048 2014-12-08 14:11:38

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Tis why I have a couple more:
http://imgbox.com/  - - -> same people as postimg
http://www.imagebam.com/

big_smile


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#8049 2014-12-09 15:30:49

thesoundman20
Member
From: FL
Registered: 2013-09-14
Posts: 35

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

My Problem:

using a #! usb drive so everytime i plug it into a new computer my network adapter changes numbers (ex: eth1, eth2,...eth36). so trying to have any kind of network info in conky gets frustrating having to change it all the time.    Example:

NETWORK:
eth2: $alignr${addr eth2}
wlan0: $alignr${addr wlan0}
wlan1: $alignr${addr wlan1}
Inbound: ${font Liberation Sans:size=8}$alignr ${downspeed eth2}/s>${totaldown eth2} || ${downspeed eth2}/s>${totaldown eth2}${font}
Outbound: ${font Liberation Sans:size=8}$alignr ${upspeed eth2}/s>${totalup eth2} || ${upspeed eth2}/s>${totalup eth2}${font}

My question:

Is there a way to add a variable to the network...er...um variable?? For example:

SET NETVAR={some way to detect current network adapter variable}

NETWORK:
%NETVAR%: $alignr${addr %NETVAR%}
wlan0: $alignr${addr wlan0}
wlan1: $alignr${addr wlan1}
Inbound: ${font Liberation Sans:size=8}$alignr ${downspeed %NETVAR%}/s>${totaldown %NETVAR%} || ${downspeed %NETVAR%}/s>${totaldown %NETVAR%}${font}
Outbound: ${font Liberation Sans:size=8}$alignr ${upspeed %NETVAR%}/s>${totalup %NETVAR%} || ${upspeed %NETVAR%}/s>${totalup %NETVAR%}${font}

I am really bad at luna scripts. but is there any way that you can insert some kind of variable to detect the current hardware number (eth2, eth11, etc.) and that can be added into conky so that everytime i log in it has the correct network adapter listed?


Colossians 3:23

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#8050 2014-12-09 17:56:35

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

thesoundman20 wrote:

My Problem:

using a #! usb drive so everytime i plug it into a new computer my network adapter changes numbers (ex: eth1, eth2,...eth36). so trying to have any kind of network info in conky gets frustrating having to change it all the time.    Example:

I am really bad at luna scripts. but is there any way that you can insert some kind of variable to detect the current hardware number (eth2, eth11, etc.) and that can be added into conky so that everytime i log in it has the correct network adapter listed?

OH MY!!!   eth0 to eth36 ... that's a bummer.

this will always find what you are using:

 09 Dec 14 | 14:05:04 ~
    $ ls /sys/class/net/ | sed '/lo/d'
eth0
 
 09 Dec 14 | 14:05:05 ~
    $ 

but getting that to work in ${addr | ls /sys/class/net/ | sed '/lo/d'} - doesen't

IF someone can find a way to do that ... it would be super.  big_smile

so the long way .. if_up
above text:

# indicate up when having a link
if_up_strictness link
TEXT

then below text something like this:

TEXT
--- Network ---
IP Address ${if_up eth5}eth5 ${addr eth5}
more eth5 stuff
more eth5 stuff
more eth5 stuff${else}\
 ${if_up eth4}eth4 ${addr eth4}
more eth4 stuff
more eth4 stuff
more eth4 stuff${else}\
 ${if_up eth3}eth3 ${addr eth3}
more eth3 stuff
more eth3 stuff
more eth3 stuff${else}\
 ${if_up eth0}eth0 ${addr eth0}
  ${color1}ETH 0

  UpSpd${color}
  ${upspeedf eth0}
  ${color1}Total${color}
  ${totalup eth0}

  ${color1}DnSpd${color}
  ${downspeedf eth0}
  ${color1}Total${color}
  ${totaldown eth0}
more eth0 stuff${else}\
 ${if_up eth2}eth2 ${addr eth2}
more eth2 stuff
more eth2 stuff
more eth2 stuff${else}\
 ${if_up eth1}eth1 ${addr eth1}
more eth1 stuff
more eth1 stuff
more eth1 stuff${else}\
 ${if_up wlan0}wlan0 ${addr wlan0}${else}\
${endif}${endif}${endif}${endif}${endif}${endif}${endif}
Conky resumes here
Conky resumes here

2014_12_09_14_51_38_262x273_Sector11.jpg


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo