SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-11-08 22:33:06

rmcellig
#! Die Hard
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 624
Website

organizing windows

Everytime I set up my recording session. I have to manually open 12 thunar windows and resize them so they fit on the screen. Along with those windows I have Gnome-schedule open as well as the volume control settings. Is there any easier way to set this up so I don't have to reinvent the wheel every time?

I hae an image to upload to this post but am not sure what the best way is to do this? Please advise. I saw some posts from around four years ago in the #! forum.

windows.jpg

Last edited by rmcellig (2014-11-09 00:26:36)


Cheers Randy
www.mcran.com - my web site
www.chuo.fm - My radio show Sundays  noon-2pm EST or 89.1 fM

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2014-11-08 22:47:37

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 5,434

Re: organizing windows

Image upload advice here

Multiple windows - use a tiling window manager?


BunsenLabs Group on deviantArt
damo's gallery on deviantArt
Openbox themes
Forum Moderator smile

Offline

#3 2014-11-09 00:30:24

rmcellig
#! Die Hard
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 624
Website

Re: organizing windows

I'm not sure if a tiling manager (awesome or something similar?) would work for me. In effect, I was wondering if I for example selected alt-F!, it would open up all the windows I need to have open. Would I have to set up a script to do this, or is there another way that I am not understanding?

This is all new to me so any help/ advice is really appreciated.


Cheers Randy
www.mcran.com - my web site
www.chuo.fm - My radio show Sundays  noon-2pm EST or 89.1 fM

Offline

#4 2014-11-09 01:29:56

PackRat
#! Die Hard
From: USA
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 1,572

Re: organizing windows

If it's always the same layout, then a manual tiling window manager like i3 or subtle may be the way to go. You can divide up your screen the way you need to. If the apps you're opening support a geometry, then you could write a script that opens everything at it's proper coordinates on your screen - command would be something like:

thunar --geometry 200x100+0+0

which is wxh x,y

You could also make key bindings to move and resize the windows into a grid after you open the app.

Last edited by PackRat (2014-11-09 01:44:49)


"It does not require many words to speak the truth." - Chief Joseph, Nez Perce tribe

Offline

#5 2014-11-09 07:23:01

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 2,205

Re: organizing windows

i sympathize with the reluctance to change window managers.

fortunately, things like pytyle exist, a tiling utility that can be superimposed on an existing wm (i was sure it's in the repos, but can't find it right now)..
it definitely works with openbox, and i'm pretty sure you can set it up to do precisely what you need.

Offline

#6 2014-11-09 07:40:24

nore
>2^9
From: Lakeland
Registered: 2009-11-28
Posts: 740

Re: organizing windows

Try manual tiling in Openbox with window geometry keybindings.
Read Brontosaurusrex's howto on openbox manual tiling.
Grab my (somewhat old) rc.xml.
Don't copy over your own setup, it will not fit! Open in editor and examine lines 279-573. I've got a 2Rx3C layout for numpad keys. You can use whichever keys and coordinates you wish.

Offline

#7 2014-11-09 10:40:17

rmcellig
#! Die Hard
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 624
Website

Re: organizing windows

Thanks for the tips! I will check out both of your suggestions.


Cheers Randy
www.mcran.com - my web site
www.chuo.fm - My radio show Sundays  noon-2pm EST or 89.1 fM

Offline

#8 2014-11-09 13:27:52

brontosaurusrex
#! Red Menace
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 1,643

Re: organizing windows

you could do a silly script like this;

#!/bin/bash

# thuntest
# I need 'xdotool' < in repos
# open 3 thunar windows to specific positions, adjust sleep as you wish

thunar ~/downloads/ && sleep 3 && xdotool getactivewindow windowsize 300 300 windowmove 0 30
thunar ~/videos/ && xdotool getactivewindow windowsize 300 300 windowmove 300 30
thunar ~/images/ && xdotool getactivewindow windowsize 300 300 windowmove 600 30

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2014-11-09 13:59:37)

Offline

#9 2014-11-09 13:34:03

rmcellig
#! Die Hard
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 624
Website

Re: organizing windows

brontosaurusrex,

I like this! Now to take it another step, is it possible to have them load in a specific desktop? For example, I have four desktops and would like them to open in desktop 3. If this is possible, that would be beyond awesome!!

Just looking at the code you posted intrigues me to no end! And don't forget, I am a former Mac user. I can't believe all the stuff you can do with Linux!!!


Cheers Randy
www.mcran.com - my web site
www.chuo.fm - My radio show Sundays  noon-2pm EST or 89.1 fM

Offline

#10 2014-11-09 13:59:15

brontosaurusrex
#! Red Menace
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 1,643

Re: organizing windows

something like

#!/bin/bash

# thuntest2
# I need 'xdotool' < in repos
# open 3 thunar windows to specific positions at desktop 1 (they start with 0!)
 
now=$(xdotool get_desktop)
xdotool set_desktop 1 # < change me to a desktop you want thunar windows to open

# adjust sleep as you wish
thunar ~/downloads/ && sleep 3 && xdotool getactivewindow windowsize 300 300 windowmove 0 30 
thunar ~/videos/ && xdotool getactivewindow windowsize 300 300 windowmove 300 30
thunar ~/images/ && xdotool getactivewindow windowsize 300 300 windowmove 600 30

xdotool set_desktop "$now" # return me to original desktop

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo