SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-09-27 09:08:14

danieljames
Member
Registered: 2014-07-24
Posts: 14

Shellshock bash bug

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2014-09-27 09:14:04

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: Shellshock bash bug

If you're on Waldorf Stable, a patched-and-repatched version is in the security repo (which is active in the default install, as it should be in any respin based on Debian Stable).  Don't know if `apt-get upgrade` will do it, but `apt-get dist-upgrade` definitely will.

There have been several threads here concerning this, by the way; search the forum for "bash bug".

Offline

#3 2014-09-27 09:17:04

danieljames
Member
Registered: 2014-07-24
Posts: 14

Re: Shellshock bash bug

thank you.

Offline

#4 2014-09-28 16:31:17

blackjack
Member
Registered: 2014-09-07
Posts: 25

Re: Shellshock bash bug

me i only did sudo apt-get update and sudo apt-get upgrade and its now patched smile to check if the patch is working, you should not see the word "vulnerable" if you try to run this test code --> env x='() { :;}; echo vulnerable' sh -c "echo this is a test"

Your output should only be "this is a test". If you see the word 'vulnerable' as an output you still havent patched your system. Type that on the terminal by the way if you are new to linux smile.

Your system is good output is:
---------
this is a test
---------

Your system is still vulnerable and needs patching if your output is:
---------
vulnerable
this is a test
---------



Thats all smile

Offline

#5 2014-09-28 16:47:14

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: Shellshock bash bug

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: bleh

Debian Logo