SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-04-03 17:20:17

Alad
Software Satan
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 1,512

Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

WARNING: MX-14 added gvfs to their XFCE repo (MTP support). See wagmic1's post if you don't also want to update gvfs.

-----

There's another thread on Thunar 1.6.2, but the 4 pages of suggested solutions are either outdated or broken (mixed testing/stable system).

This method is clean, relying on the recent backporting of XFCE 4.10 by MEPIS (Thanks!).

As root, edit /etc/apt/sources.list and add this line:

deb http://main.mepis-deb.org/mepiscr/xfce xfce-4.10 main

Your /etc/apt/preferences should look like this

Package: *
Pin: release a=waldorf
Pin-Priority: 990

Package: *
Pin: release n=xfce-4.10
Pin-Priority: 200

Add the repository signing key

sudo apt-key adv --keyserver keys.gnupg.net --recv-keys 14E225A0

Update your sources

sudo aptitude update

And upgrade

sudo aptitude -t mx upgrade

This will temporarily pin the MX repo at 990, allowing an upgrade of all related XFCE packages. Do not use full-upgrade as MX also includes VLC.

The following NEW packages will be installed:
  libunique-1.0-0{a} libxfce4util6{a} 
The following packages will be upgraded:
  exo-utils libexo-1-0 libexo-common libexo-helpers libgarcon-1-0 
  libgarcon-common libthunarx-2-0 libxfce4ui-1-0 libxfce4util-bin 
  libxfce4util-common libxfconf-0-2 tasksel tasksel-data thunar 
  thunar-archive-plugin thunar-data thunar-media-tags-plugin thunar-volman 
  xfce-keyboard-shortcuts xfce4-mixer xfce4-notifyd xfce4-panel xfconf 
The following packages are RECOMMENDED but will NOT be installed:
  laptop-detect 
23 packages upgraded, 2 newly installed, 0 to remove and 6 not upgraded.

Relogin and you're done. Enjoy a Tabbed Thunar.  smile

Last edited by Alad (2014-06-04 02:51:49)

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2014-04-04 09:13:55

Snap
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2013-10-22
Posts: 567

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Tabbed Thunar you said??!! Wow, no tabs is one of the main reasons I'm far from happy with it. Gonna try the backported version. Thanks so much, Alad.

Last edited by Snap (2014-04-04 09:14:30)

Offline

#3 2014-04-04 20:18:19

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 5,434

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

I originally upgraded to Testing, so I could enjoy a tabbed Thunar amongst other things. But now I never use it - I find it much easier to use multiple windows!

I'd be interested to know how you guys feel about it after using it for a while - TABS or NOTABS?


BunsenLabs Group on deviantArt
damo's gallery on deviantArt
Openbox themes
Forum Moderator smile

Offline

#4 2014-04-04 20:30:56

mrpeachy
20% cooler
From: The Everfree Forest
Registered: 2009-11-08
Posts: 3,460

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

i hate tabs, i dont use them anywhere if i can help it
individual windows makes much more sense to me smile

Offline

#5 2014-04-04 21:59:38

Alad
Software Satan
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 1,512

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Tabs can be useful, but I prefer working with a split pane - which unfortunately Thunar still lacks.

That said, 1.6 isn't just about tabs - 1.2 was unusable to me due to segfaults, for example (remarkable how hard it is to find a stable file manager!).

1.6 changelog:

http://forum.xfce.org/viewtopic.php?pid=28190#p28190

Last edited by Alad (2014-04-04 21:59:56)

Offline

#6 2014-04-05 02:49:53

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 4,148
Website

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Alad wrote:

Tabs can be useful, but I prefer working with a split pane - which unfortunately Thunar still lacks.

That's what I'd like too. So you can see both directories at once, but only have one set of tools taking up space. There are some two-pane file managers of course, but somehow they all seem to lack something compared with Thunar.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
#! forum moderator    BunsenLabs

Offline

#7 2014-04-05 11:49:03

tonyoptical
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-09-08
Posts: 226

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Hi

I followed your advise and broke my system.
Trying to start Thunar just gives me (translated):
Kindprozess thunar konnte nicht ausgeführt werden. (Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden).
child process thunar can not be started - file or directory not found
Pls. advise how to revert back - w/o a working filemanager it's no fun ...

Last edited by tonyoptical (2014-04-05 11:49:49)

Offline

#8 2014-04-05 12:29:22

Alad
Software Satan
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 1,512

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Looks like it didn't install or upgrade Thunar properly (the binary is missing?). Please provide the contents of /var/log/apt/history.log and /var/log/apt/term.log as well as

apt-cache policy thunar

Last edited by Alad (2014-04-05 14:23:34)

Offline

#9 2014-04-05 14:15:03

tonyoptical
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-09-08
Posts: 226

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Hi

Seems like we are talking a different language ;-)
There is no /var/log/history.log neither a /var/log/term.log

I deleted your suggested entries in my sources file as well as the preferences.
apt-get update and a apt-get install thunar fixed it for me.
The issue is solved - i won't try again Thunar 1.6.3

Offline

#10 2014-04-05 14:23:16

Alad
Software Satan
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 1,512

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Sorry I meant /var/log/apt/history.log and term.log

Offline

#11 2014-04-05 14:31:21

Alad
Software Satan
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 1,512

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Ok I've tried this in a fresh #! install and the problem is the pin for waldorf. I've also missed a few packages from the dependency chain. Sorry for the inconvenience.

edit: first post updated

Last edited by Alad (2014-04-05 15:02:57)

Offline

#12 2014-04-19 17:34:36

Bob E
#! Member
Registered: 2012-01-12
Posts: 95

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

damo wrote:

I'd be interested to know how you guys feel about it after using it for a while - TABS or NOTABS?

Back to damo's original question, I don't like using the tabs. I can work better with 2 or 3 file managers open on the same desktop. My curiosity about Thunar 1.6.3 is does it show mounted partitions? I have a storage partition that doesn't show up on Thunar and I have to chase it down through the tree.

I actually prefer and use PCmanFM, but recently I got a hands on glimpse of PCmanFM 1.2.0 and it has some changes that make no sense. One change being the drop-down to "open as root" is gone! No simple way to run the file/folder as root anymore. My solution is to make a root-pcmanfm, but since Thunar on #! already has both, why bother. So, Thunar may well be my future file manager 'til-death-do-I-part.

Offline

#13 2014-04-20 04:48:39

Alad
Software Satan
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 1,512

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

You mean if it shows partitions in /etc/fstab ? I haven't used Thunar in a while, but I believe 1.6 does. Either way, you can add a shortcut to the respective folder.

For PCManFM 1.2, see this:

http://madebits.com/blog/comments.php?y … 317-141947

Last edited by Alad (2014-04-20 04:51:09)

Offline

#14 2014-04-21 22:52:29

Bob E
#! Member
Registered: 2012-01-12
Posts: 95

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Alad wrote:

For PCManFM 1.2, see this:

Thanks Alad! big_smile

That PCmanFM link you posted has the perfect fix! So now if 1.2.0 ever shows up in the stable repos, I'm ready!

(The hard part was I had to d/l a distro that has 1.2.0 and run it in VBox just to test it.)

Offline

#15 2014-04-21 23:42:10

stanna
Member
Registered: 2013-05-10
Posts: 16

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

this did not work for me. thunar is still 1.2.3 but if i run it as root its 1.6.3


batmans a scientist!

Offline

#16 2014-04-22 07:41:47

Alad
Software Satan
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 1,512

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Logout and login again (the old Thunar is still running in the background)

Last edited by Alad (2014-04-22 07:44:30)

Offline

#17 2014-04-22 13:33:38

primit1v3
Member
From: in front of my laptop
Registered: 2014-04-12
Posts: 37

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

I found a good multi-pane manager. 4Pane I'm a fan of tabbed and multi-pane but sadly Thunar doesn't support it at the version I have


Computers are a lot like air conditioners...
useless when you open windoze

Offline

#18 2014-04-22 13:43:08

Alad
Software Satan
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 1,512

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Very interesting. Looks like SpaceFM but with an Undo function!

Thanks for sharing  big_smile

Offline

#19 2014-04-22 14:23:53

primit1v3
Member
From: in front of my laptop
Registered: 2014-04-12
Posts: 37

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Alad wrote:

Very interesting. Looks like SpaceFM but with an Undo function!

Thanks for sharing  big_smile


It's configurable....you can go from 4 panes to only 2 if needed and has tons of other good features


Computers are a lot like air conditioners...
useless when you open windoze

Offline

#20 2014-04-22 22:55:20

stanna
Member
Registered: 2013-05-10
Posts: 16

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Alad wrote:

Logout and login again (the old Thunar is still running in the background)

its soo easy it might just work, but i had to completly restart, logout and in didnt fix it oddly enough. Thanks all the same.   8o


batmans a scientist!

Offline

#21 2014-04-23 20:31:43

DapperMe17
#! CrunchBanger
From: Todd's Gang
Registered: 2012-10-19
Posts: 221

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Thanks Alad.

Very nice tutorial & share.

Any successful tries?

Last edited by DapperMe17 (2014-04-23 20:32:02)

Offline

#22 2014-04-24 07:05:24

Alad
Software Satan
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 1,512

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Any successful tries?

Well it worked for me, though at first it also stayed at 1.2 - in my case a relog did work.

Cheers

Offline

#23 2014-04-25 00:20:40

DapperMe17
#! CrunchBanger
From: Todd's Gang
Registered: 2012-10-19
Posts: 221

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Ok, great. Thanks, and will give it a try.  smile

Offline

#24 2014-04-25 05:18:03

Taco.22
New Member
From: Wheatbelt WA
Registered: 2010-07-20
Posts: 8

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

My preferred file manager has been Thunar for many years now, and always in conjunction with Openbox.  I don't like tabs but do miss a multi-pane option.  My way around this is to install Pytyle, a tiling app, and set a keybinding to use it at will - default is off.  So I just open Thunar twice via keybinding, hit the Pytyle key and bingo - multi-pane!  Pytyle can be downloaded from http://sourceforge.net/projects/pytyle/files/ - for some reason I have found version 0.7.2 to be the one that works for me.  Just make sure you have python-xlib installed first.

There is also a thread on Pytyle on this forum here - http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=4518.  I've never been able to get Pytyle 2 or 3 to work for me and so just stick with the original one.  Still use it to this day.


What can go wrong?!?

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#25 2014-04-25 09:08:59

Alad
Software Satan
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 1,512

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Sounds nice. But doesn't Crunchbang have a script (cb-aerosnap) that provides this functionality? I remember having a few problems with it, though.

Last edited by Alad (2014-04-25 09:09:21)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo