SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-05-03 15:23:15

farmersdaughter
#! Member
Registered: 2009-08-27
Posts: 99
Website

Dual-booting

I'm attempting a dual boot for the first time. CrunchBang and Manjaro. Is there a best way to set this up? 500GB hard drive, brandnew laptop (got to go kill win8 first). I've never done this before and the last time I used #! as back when it was still an Ubuntu-base. I haven't had Linux on a computer since mid 2010 due to school stuff. So kind of rusty big_smile


The Canuck with Questions. And Acer Aspires... if you have #! on an Acer and have a question... ask!

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2013-05-03 15:48:43

fatmac
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-11-14
Posts: 1,948

Re: Dual-booting

First check it out live, if everything works install it.

I don't know Manjaro, but if there is a definate reason to dual boot with #! I would just install them each with a /, swap, & /home of a suitable size, & have a /data partition that both can access, where you will keep all your shared music & movies, etc.

Swap could be used by both distros, so only one swap partition is neccessary.

When you install the second distro, grub should find the others' boot files automatically & add it to the start menu.

Offline

#3 2013-05-03 15:58:49

farmersdaughter
#! Member
Registered: 2009-08-27
Posts: 99
Website

Re: Dual-booting

Okay and how do I make sure they can both access the sharing partition? That's the one step that's getting to me.

Dual booting because Manjaro is rolling-release so it can "break" some days. And #! because its been the best Openbox experience I've had so far.

Will test with liveCDs. Hardware should work from what I've been told and researched.


The Canuck with Questions. And Acer Aspires... if you have #! on an Acer and have a question... ask!

Offline

#4 2013-05-03 19:58:18

fatmac
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-11-14
Posts: 1,948

Re: Dual-booting

In each distros /etc/fstab have it mount that partition on /data.

Edit: You will have to create the /data dir manually in each distro.

Last edited by fatmac (2013-05-03 20:00:24)

Offline

#5 2013-05-03 20:23:01

farmersdaughter
#! Member
Registered: 2009-08-27
Posts: 99
Website

Re: Dual-booting

Last edited by farmersdaughter (2013-05-03 20:32:08)


The Canuck with Questions. And Acer Aspires... if you have #! on an Acer and have a question... ask!

Offline

#6 2013-05-04 09:47:44

fatmac
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-11-14
Posts: 1,948

Re: Dual-booting

Looks like that guide 'will' work, but seems overcomlicated to me, your choice.

My way:
Install Manjaro :-
sda1 = swap = 10gb
sda2 = / = 50gb
sda3 = 50gb partition for #! (do not format or mount)
sda4 = the rest of disk = /data (you will have to add it manually)
Install grub into the mbr
That will let you have personal files under each distro in their /home, within the 50gb partition.
(It is not recommended to use the same /home for both distros, conflic of config files is the usual result.)
Reboot into Manjaro to check all is well.

Then install #! :-
Select sda1 = swap
sda3 = / =50gb (#!)
sda4 = /data (you will have to add it manually) DO NOT FORMAT, ensure you mark it as 'keep existing data'.  (I say this to get you into the habit of not formating & losing this partitions data when you come to re install or replace Manjaro with another distro in the future.)
Install grub into the mbr, it will overwrite the Manjaro one, but will add it to the boot menu. (In future you will manually create entries is your #! grub menu.cfg to add other experimental distros.)

Reboot, & you should be offered Crunchbang or Manjaro.
Boot into #! to check all is working OK.

(The only other thing you may need to do is allow access to /data for all users by adding the user option in your /etc/fstab file.)

Offline

#7 2013-05-04 15:34:38

farmersdaughter
#! Member
Registered: 2009-08-27
Posts: 99
Website

Re: Dual-booting

Thank you, that will hopefully work.

Is there a line in the etc/fstab file where I add the line for all users or is there a terminal command?


The Canuck with Questions. And Acer Aspires... if you have #! on an Acer and have a question... ask!

Offline

#8 2013-05-04 16:49:06

nadir
#! Member
Registered: 2010-10-20
Posts: 83

Re: Dual-booting

UUID=f8b878de-b655-4420-b24c-b0a7324b8888 /home/yourname/data ext4 defaults,users,noatime 1 1

You will find the long number after UUID by running:

blkid

the directory (/home/yourname/data in the example) must exist
The filesystem (ext4 in this case) must be correct.

You probably can copy and edit the line for home.

Once it is edited run
mount -all
or
mount -a
and check if all is correct.

Don't take my word for it. I am especially not too sure about the last 1
(I think it says when to run a filesystemcheck). When i do such i have to search the web myself.

Last edited by nadir (2013-05-04 16:50:41)

Offline

#9 2013-05-04 17:58:03

fatmac
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-11-14
Posts: 1,948

Re: Dual-booting

Last edited by fatmac (2013-05-04 18:04:40)

Offline

#10 2013-05-04 20:51:50

farmersdaughter
#! Member
Registered: 2009-08-27
Posts: 99
Website

Re: Dual-booting

Great! I just got the laptop, haven't done anything yet but so far I have the ISO for #!.  Lots of fun things to do this weekend big_smile

I'm going to run both first live just to check hardware and such before installing. Manjaro has some new stability issues so waiting until those get resolved before getting the new ISO.


The Canuck with Questions. And Acer Aspires... if you have #! on an Acer and have a question... ask!

Offline

#11 2013-05-05 18:35:00

fatmac
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-11-14
Posts: 1,948

Re: Dual-booting

Good luck, & if you hit any problems, just ask & someone will help.

Offline

#12 2013-05-07 18:38:43

farmersdaughter
#! Member
Registered: 2009-08-27
Posts: 99
Website

Re: Dual-booting


The Canuck with Questions. And Acer Aspires... if you have #! on an Acer and have a question... ask!

Offline

#13 2013-05-07 19:24:03

hq
#! Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2011-11-30
Posts: 52
Website

Re: Dual-booting

I've been playing around with manjora (openbox edition) and it's been going pretty nice (using an older laptop though). After installing grub (using manjora) I noticed that it always remembers the last OS I used and logs into that one (if I don't choose anything else that is). It might be an old grub feature, but this is the first time I've come upon it.


Dell Studio 1555

Offline

#14 2013-05-23 06:14:22

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,264

Re: Dual-booting

Offline

#15 2013-05-23 06:17:11

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,264

Re: Dual-booting

Last edited by KrunchTime (2013-05-23 06:18:26)

Offline

#16 2013-05-23 13:42:09

Rumpelstiltskin
#! Member
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 94

Re: Dual-booting

I use Manjaro xfce in my desktop and had no issues with it so far. The only thing I regret is to not have set up LVM, as I did with #! on my laptop.

Still, #! is waaay more stable when it comes to do weird stuff with it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: bleh

Debian Logo