SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-22 06:04:02

ChipButty
Member
Registered: 2012-12-12
Posts: 35

Automount Partition Won't Automount

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
# device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
# that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
# / was on /dev/sda6 during installation
UUID=1ac6b1a7-5688-4ae6-862f-c9b2f9373605 /               ext4    errors=remount-ro 0       1
# swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=99cf82f6-57a2-4a63-b605-64cef60f85c7 none            swap    sw              0       0
/dev/sr0        /media/cdrom0   udf,iso9660 user,noauto     0       0
/dev/sr1        /media/cdrom1   udf,iso9660 user,noauto     0       0
#/dev/sdb1       /media/usb0     auto    rw,user,noauto  0       0
/dev/sda3 /media/81189abb-e861-418c-ba00-66a2b909ec6a auto defaults 0 0

Last edited by ChipButty (2013-02-22 06:04:52)

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2013-02-22 09:04:49

moetunes
#! Member
Registered: 2012-10-06
Posts: 75

Re: Automount Partition Won't Automount

For the error when trying to manually mount it, as it says you need to be root or use sudo to mount it. I'd try

sudo mount -av

as it uses the fstab options to mount it and you'll see if it errors out. Piping dmesg to a grep for sda3 might give a clue to why it fails during boot.

dmesg | grep sda3

HTH

Offline

#3 2013-02-22 16:51:07

ChipButty
Member
Registered: 2012-12-12
Posts: 35

Re: Automount Partition Won't Automount

Thanks. Here's the result for that. I can't tell if there's any clues in there though but hopefully you can wink

tom@crunchbang:~$ dmesg | grep sda3
[    1.437652]  sda: sda1 sda2 < sda5 sda6 sda7 > sda3
[   40.141631] EXT4-fs (sda3): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)

Offline

#4 2013-02-22 18:12:59

CBizgreat!
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2011-07-27
Posts: 1,865

Re: Automount Partition Won't Automount

Offline

#5 2013-02-22 19:06:08

moetunes
#! Member
Registered: 2012-10-06
Posts: 75

Re: Automount Partition Won't Automount

tom@crunchbang:~$ dmesg | grep sda3
[    1.437652]  sda: sda1 sda2 < sda5 sda6 sda7 > sda3
[   40.141631] EXT4-fs (sda3): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)

Offline

#6 2013-02-22 23:31:56

ChipButty
Member
Registered: 2012-12-12
Posts: 35

Re: Automount Partition Won't Automount

/dev/sda3 on /home type ext4 (rw,noatime,data=ordered)

Last edited by ChipButty (2013-02-22 23:37:16)

Offline

#7 2013-02-23 09:17:30

moetunes
#! Member
Registered: 2012-10-06
Posts: 75

Re: Automount Partition Won't Automount

You don't edit /etc/mtab, that's where the system keeps a record of what it's mounted.
The mount command you ran isn't quite what we wanted. Just type

mount

and the system will show you a list of what it's mounted. Have a look for /dev/sda3 in that list, what you posted earlier says it gets mounted.

Offline

#8 2013-02-24 00:07:16

ChipButty
Member
Registered: 2012-12-12
Posts: 35

Re: Automount Partition Won't Automount

Oops! Here it is but I don't see /dev/sda3

tom@crunchbang:~$ mount
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime)
proc on /proc type proc (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime)
udev on /dev type devtmpfs (rw,relatime,size=10240k,nr_inodes=383161,mode=755)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000)
tmpfs on /run type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,size=307772k,mode=755)
/dev/disk/by-uuid/1ac6b1a7-5688-4ae6-862f-c9b2f9373605 on / type ext4 (rw,relatime,errors=remount-ro,user_xattr,barrier=1,data=ordered)
tmpfs on /run/lock type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,size=5120k)
tmpfs on /run/shm type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,size=1591800k)
fusectl on /sys/fs/fuse/connections type fusectl (rw,relatime)
gvfs-fuse-daemon on /home/tom/.gvfs type fuse.gvfs-fuse-daemon (rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,user_id=1000,group_id=1000)
tom@crunchbang:~$

Offline

#9 2013-02-24 09:03:53

moetunes
#! Member
Registered: 2012-10-06
Posts: 75

Re: Automount Partition Won't Automount

ok.
There's a line in /etc/fstab to mount the partion but it's not mounted during boot which is confirmed by reading what mount returns.
Time to pipe dmesg through a grep for sda3 to see any errors for why it wasn't mounted. Use sudo mount -av to see if that mounts it ok too.
I always use the filesystem type in fstab, I've never bothered with auto, and everything always is mounted fine here. That might be worth you trying, depending on what errors show from dmesg.

Offline

#10 2013-02-24 12:36:56

CBizgreat!
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2011-07-27
Posts: 1,865

Re: Automount Partition Won't Automount

Lol ... for da luv of the Linux gawds ... Read the stuff in that link, would read it all ... As there's been some babble updates. It would still work perfectly as described anyway either w /dev/sdax or the newer ( and preferred ) way of using UUID's for the partitions. Run this, run that ... post output of xyz ?

Just read da friggin link already. tongue Agree w the guy above about changing the  mount pt you're using to something other than the UUID and would also think enabling error checking by fsck isn't a bad idea. ie: 0 0 should be 0 2 imo. Just 2 cents ... shutting it now. big_smile


Vll!

Offline

#11 2013-02-24 14:00:42

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: V-Ger
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,165
Website

Re: Automount Partition Won't Automount

Offline

#12 2013-02-25 03:22:49

ChipButty
Member
Registered: 2012-12-12
Posts: 35

Re: Automount Partition Won't Automount

Ok well here's is the output for sudo mount -av

tom@crunchbang:~$ sudo mount -av
[sudo] password for tom: 
mount: UUID=81189abb-e861-418c-ba00-66a2b909ec6a already mounted on /media/81189abb-e861-418c-ba00-66a2b909ec6a
nothing was mounted
tom@crunchbang:~$

I changed the fstab to see if something else would work. here is the fstab

UUID=1ac6b1a7-5688-4ae6-862f-c9b2f9373605	/	ext4	errors=remount-ro	0	1
#Entry for /dev/sda3 :
UUID=81189abb-e861-418c-ba00-66a2b909ec6a	/media/81189abb-e861-418c-ba00-66a2b909ec6a	auto	defaults	0	2
#Entry for /dev/sda5 :
UUID=99cf82f6-57a2-4a63-b605-64cef60f85c7	none	swap	sw	0	0
/dev/sr0	/media/cdrom0	udf,iso9660	user,noauto	0	0
/dev/sr1	/media/cdrom1	udf,iso9660	user,noauto	0	0

#/dev/sdb1	/media/usb0	auto	rw,user,noauto	0	0

I installed disk-manager and it tells me the partition is mounted and I can unmount/mount it from there. The strange thing is that the partition isn't visible in the Thunar side-panel anymore. Before it was there but greyed out, and if I went to click on it to mount it I was given an error dialog box. So I have gone into the /media directory and once I click on the data partition I am inside so it must be mounted now. (I just don't have the experience to do all this via the terminal unfortunately) So things seem better but still not behaving as they should.

Last edited by ChipButty (2013-02-25 03:23:32)

Offline

#13 2013-02-25 03:50:04

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: V-Ger
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,165
Website

Re: Automount Partition Won't Automount

Offline

#14 2013-02-25 04:10:41

ChipButty
Member
Registered: 2012-12-12
Posts: 35

Re: Automount Partition Won't Automount

As it happens I don't care for Thunar anway and would prefer to use something else. I downloaded pcmanfm a few days ago but not sure how to make it the default file manager and as I obviously have other issues going on I thought it best to leave that for now. I have used pcmanfm before briefly when using Mint. Spacefm doesn't show in the repos. Looks good though, maybe I should download it and check it out.

Offline

#15 2013-02-25 04:12:23

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: V-Ger
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,165
Website

Re: Automount Partition Won't Automount

The install instructions are on that page for debian and it auto builds for you

If you ever used pcmanfm-mod, that was created by IgnorantGuru and became SpaceFM

Offline

#16 2013-02-25 05:23:36

ChipButty
Member
Registered: 2012-12-12
Posts: 35

Re: Automount Partition Won't Automount

Well first attempt to install wasn't successful "probably due to missing build dependencies" so I looked through the output and installed intltool, tried again and got the same result. I figure as pcmanfm works out of the box as it were I may as well stick with that rather than going through a whole load of dependency installs for spacefm. Once spacefm is in the repos I'll try it again, I like the look of it. How do I make pcmanfm the default file manager?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: bleh

Debian Logo