SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-15 15:51:40

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,131
Website

Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2012-10-15 19:54:10

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

There were two "fixes" suggested for the slow Thunar startup - one involved removing the package that auto-mounts the network shares, the other involved modifying a preferences file so it just doesn't try to auto-mount them.  Which fix did you apply?

Offline

#3 2012-10-15 20:05:12

m5
#! CrunchBanger
From: 200 years ago.
Registered: 2011-12-08
Posts: 221

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Congrats,
smile


Keep digging.
Linux beginner.

Offline

#4 2012-10-15 20:06:36

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,131
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

@pvsage, no. 2.

I also rebuilt Thunar with a suggested patch, which delayed the action until after Thunar was open and running, but then read that the patch had been deprecated due to it causing other issues, so I removed it. Anyhow, I modified  '/usr/share/gvfs/mounts/network.mount' from:

[Mount]
Type=network
Exec=/usr/lib/gvfs/gvfsd-network
AutoMount=true

to:

[Mount]
Type=network
Exec=/usr/lib/gvfs/gvfsd-network
AutoMount=false

This is currently done via a hook in the build process, but depending on feedback, I may look at patching the 'gvfs-backends' package.

Offline

#5 2012-10-15 20:10:55

dura
Bloated Gimp
From: interzone
Registered: 2012-09-15
Posts: 2,108

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

yay. the crescendo cometh

Offline

#6 2012-10-15 20:23:08

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Just ran the 32bit PAE version on a Compaq SR2010NX w/ 1G RAM, everything worked OOTB, including keyboard volume multimedia keys, though volume was muted on login. Graphics were fine on an Nivida 6150LE integrated card, system RAM usage was ~100M at login. Great work, I have a spare partition I can install this to shortly.

No install option available from the LIVE session?

One tiny, miniscule fraction of a niggle, the download site says the ISO is ~765M but both Transmission and Nautilus told me it was ~802M. tongue

Any things you'd like specific feedback on, either running live or from the installed OS?

Offline

#7 2012-10-15 20:40:06

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,131
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Offline

#8 2012-10-15 20:40:21

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Volume's been mute on first login with every CrunchBang I've used on my netbook and desktop since the first Statler release.  What's up with that? hmm

Offline

#9 2012-10-15 20:47:42

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,131
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Offline

#10 2012-10-15 20:58:29

junkie
#! Junkie
Registered: 2012-05-04
Posts: 370

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Offline

#11 2012-10-15 21:08:26

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,131
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Offline

#12 2012-10-15 21:22:21

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Well, not exactly muted on my hardware (Radeon sound chip on the desktop, Intel "HD Audio" on the netbook); volume sliders just run all the way down, and mixer channel list completely unpopulated.  Not really a big deal for me to add all the channels that first boot, but still...

...Of course, in Waldorf under Pulseaudio, things are...somewhat stranger. wink

Offline

#13 2012-10-16 01:37:17

sqlpython
#! Die Hard
From: New England
Registered: 2011-11-28
Posts: 931

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Offline

#14 2012-10-16 06:48:19

Milozzy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 633
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Offline

#15 2012-10-16 06:55:01

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,131
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Offline

#16 2012-10-16 07:05:15

Milozzy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 633
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Offline

#17 2012-10-16 07:11:05

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,131
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Offline

#18 2012-10-16 07:23:30

Milozzy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 633
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Offline

#19 2012-10-16 13:55:56

afab4
Member
From: Stony Lake, Michigan
Registered: 2012-08-16
Posts: 23

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

The live install works flawlessly.  With Thunar, I am able to access network shares as well as the other partitions on my hard drive, even without any root authorization.
After installing to my hard drive though, I am unable to access the other partitions on my hard drive.
Trying to mount them in Thunar tells me that I need to have authorization to mount them but fails to give me the opportunity to do so.


I support the candidate that will steal the least from me....

Offline

#20 2012-10-16 20:18:40

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,131
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

@afab4, thanks for the feedback, I will investigate.

Offline

#21 2012-10-16 21:10:55

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Sorry for the delay, I was just able to install Waldorf and mess around a bit (life gets in the way and all)...

I can confirm afab4's bug. When Waldorf is installed, Thunar shows my internal partitions as mounted, but clicking on the drive's icon gives me a "Not Authorized" message. If I run gksu thunar, Thunar does not show those partitions, nor are they visible in either /media or /mnt.

The installer has a quirk that I've never seen with the Debian installer, and as a result it was pretty confusing. The installer labeled my install media (a USB stick) as sda and my hard drive as sdb, every other Debian install I've done it's been the opposite, sdb for the stick and sda for the hard drive. So, install GRUB (and format swap) to sdb was, as I said, confusing.

HTH, I can mess around more with it later and see what I can see.

@sqlpython, maybe we're just not using the same terminology? Yes, I can install Waldorf from the GRUB menu option (Live; Install; Memory Check, or something like that). I meant that once logged in to the Live desktop session, there is no menu item or desktop icon for "Install Waldorf to your hard drive", as there often is with Live CDs. A very minor observation on my part.

Offline

#22 2012-10-17 01:22:26

kd5ob
#! CrunchBanger
From: Oklahoma
Registered: 2012-02-02
Posts: 208

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

I've taken the new installed and ran it in live mode on a Dell 1525 and a Dell mini 10.
The live system worked flawlessly on both units having tested wireless, browser, usb devices like my headset.
I installed Waldorf using the new iso on a 32 gig usbdrive using the Dell 1525 and the install came off fine.
The install also worked just fine on the Dell Mini 10 which has a dual monitor installed which came up just
fine during 1st boot of Waldorf.
I tried simple, LVM, LVM encrypted installs and the only confusion I had was during the usbdisk install when
I tried to install the boot loader to (HD2) and noticed the non-default grub installer had changed.  It was a bit confusing to me to use /dev devices and had to look.  I figured /dev/sdc would do this usbstick but found out that was rejected.  finally /dev/sdc1 worked and it booted.  Anyway, I wonder why they did away with say (hd2,0) specs???  Anyway, minor thing...  Just have to get used to the new Debian way of doing things.
Also, if your going to install to a usbdisk, best not plug the target usbdrive in until you've got to the
install section, about keyboard settings, otherwise the install get's hung trying to figure out who's who...
Again, this was cheating and I don't consider it an error or bug...  I had an old OS on that key and it would have confused my boot loader F12 on the dell as Waldorf was on another usbkey disk.  So, there you go...
FYI,,

If there is something wrong with this one, I couldn't find it.  Must be on the live side and I ran what I could.

Offline

#23 2012-10-18 12:44:33

NicePics13
#! Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2009-01-18
Posts: 75

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

This october release works again with my nForce2 desktop (the september releases did not) smile

Offline

#24 2012-10-18 14:03:36

jst_joe
#! Junkie
From: Here, There and After
Registered: 2012-07-03
Posts: 297

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#25 2012-10-18 14:59:41

idirae
Member
Registered: 2012-09-17
Posts: 19
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Installed with this image on a 64bit system. No problems whatsoever. Everything worked as it should right out of the box!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: bleh

Debian Logo