SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#26 2012-09-29 10:49:42

vic
#! by Default
From: /grill
Registered: 2009-02-13
Posts: 3,361

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

Installed from dd`d usb, everything went smooth, #! looks and feels simple, elegant and great as it always does. Waldorf will be a fantastic #! release me believe! Congratulations Philip!


Time to move on!#

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#27 2012-09-29 13:12:43

afab4
Member
From: Stony Lake, Michigan
Registered: 2012-08-16
Posts: 23

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

afab4 wrote:
jst_joe wrote:
pghjake wrote:

^^Same as afab4, this is within thunar.

You can install disk-manager and it will edit fstab and create the necessary folders.
Then just drag the folders from /mount to the left side of Thunar.

EDIT: /media not /mount

Yes, this worked.  The partition entries are now in fstab and they mount on boot.  SO problem overcome thanks to your post.  Problem created still exists though to be solved in the next release.
Thanks for your help.

I just downloaded and installed the 32 bit 20120927 iso and installed to my hard drive.
Thunar will not find my other partitions in6 this version either.  Running "Live" everything works perfectly.
In the earlier 20120806 32 bit release, Thunar mounted my partitions and network shares "out of the box", Even after a full upgrade to unstable all was well.
Seems a bit of one step forward, 2 steps back.
EDIT:  I downloaded and installed the 20120806 64 bit release and installed and I am posting from it right now.
Thunar found my other partitions and after authenticating I was able to successfully mount the other partitions on my hard drive.  I found fstab still doesn't have my other partitions listed in it.  What does have them listed is mtab and that is the difference in the 20120927 release and the 20120806 release.

Last edited by afab4 (2012-09-29 14:01:47)


I support the candidate that will steal the least from me....

Offline

#28 2012-09-29 15:15:01

NicePics13
#! Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2009-01-18
Posts: 75

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

The latest september i686 releases won't boot on my nForce2 chipset desktop (boots on ICH7 chipset netbook) - when booting from a usb stick I keep getting usb device descriptor errors that result in squashfs errors and everything pretty much halts after that.

Offline

#29 2012-09-29 15:41:14

chameleon
UK #! Guy
From: Luxembourg
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 719
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

Some further feedback;

->On both the 64bit and 32bit installs my Logitech wireless keyboard and wireless mouse are not detected during the install. I need a wired USB keyboard and wired USB mouse at the ready to perform the install. After install, wireless keyboard and mouse work perfectly.
Bios keyboard/mouse option set to 'bios'.

-> Scrot from openbox menu saves image in ~/images. Scrot from terminal saves image in ~/home (32bit+64bit).

-> Both 32 bit and 64 bit installs report that Crunchbang is the only operatiing system found (I know there is another one on /dev/sdb1 wink )

32 bit install requires;

sudo update-grub

following the install and the other OS is entered in the GRUB menu.

64 bit install does actually enter the other OS in GRUB - no further input needed.

Really enjoying this masterpiece cool

Offline

#30 2012-09-29 15:46:05

becker
#! CrunchBanger
From: Perth, Western Australia
Registered: 2010-02-26
Posts: 245
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

I'm currently very happy with the testing build prior to this latest version and don't have any issues to report. In saying that I wanted to help out so I'm currently grabbing the latest 64 bit build and will leave it seeding for as long as I can.

Thanks Philip for your incredible distro.


pay the bills with Windows, obssesed with Linux, studying CCNA when I can fit it in.

Offline

#31 2012-09-29 16:06:41

gstb
New Member
From: Russia
Registered: 2012-09-17
Posts: 4

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

Bug with doubled session in live mode still exist
117z6s5.png

Offline

#32 2012-09-30 02:47:36

alfbar1
Member
Registered: 2011-12-04
Posts: 34

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

cb-hotcorners changes

Last edited by alfbar1 (2012-09-30 02:49:20)

Offline

#33 2012-09-30 07:06:50

MekkaGodzilla
Member
From: Lyon, France
Registered: 2011-07-02
Posts: 18

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

Hi there,
I installed the 64 bit version last night.
The install went smooth, but I noticed a couple of issues :
In obmenu, most of the execute fields of items are empty, even though the menu works fine.

Some of the multimedia keys do not work: volume up and down work fine, but toggle mute, play/pause, previous and next do not.

Offline

#34 2012-09-30 18:03:15

chameleon
UK #! Guy
From: Luxembourg
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 719
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

@MekkaGodzilla

In obmenu, most of the execute fields of items are empty, even though the menu works fine.

Yeh same here...It is OK to add items as before but to edit an item I had to edit menu.xml

Offline

#35 2012-10-01 10:36:35

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,131
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

chameleon wrote:

@MekkaGodzilla

In obmenu, most of the execute fields of items are empty, even though the menu works fine.

Yeh same here...It is OK to add items as before but to edit an item I had to edit menu.xml

I think this is probably due to replacing the depreciated '<execute>' actions with '<command>' in the default menu file. I will need to either patch obmenu, or revert to the depreciated actions. The preferred solution would be to patch obmenu, but having had a look at the code, it could be tricky. Hmm.


Ex-developer of #! CrunchBang. Follow me on Twitter smile

Offline

#36 2012-10-01 10:45:38

omns
#! wanderer
From: ~/
Registered: 2008-11-25
Posts: 5,131

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

^ Thanks for the explanation, it had me scratching my head... I added a couple of things with obmenu the other day but I think I'll now  go in and tidy up the code manually.

Offline

#37 2012-10-01 12:28:13

Milozzy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 633
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

Hi Philip, can I ask you why cb-hotcorners has gone from the new autostart config file?

and what is the difference in editing ~/.compton.conf or ~/.config/comptonrc?

Thanks!!!

Last edited by Milozzy (2012-10-01 12:43:43)

Offline

#38 2012-10-01 13:24:54

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,131
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

Milozzy wrote:

Hi Philip, can I ask you why cb-hotcorners has gone from the new autostart config file?

I gave cb-hotcorners a trial and while a few people commented about how they liked it, more seemed to comment about how gmrun would start randomly, without knowing what was actually happening. Therefore, I figured it was probably best to remove it, at least until I can find time to make it more usable.

and what is the difference in editing ~/.compton.conf or ~/.config/comptonrc?

I have updated the compton-git package and it now uses its own config file, instead of having to pass in arguments via the compton command.

~/.config/comptonrc is the old config, used by the cb-compositor pipemenu. It is safe to remove as it is not referenced by the new compton build or pipemenu. If you use the edit item from within the pipemenu, it should open the correct file for you.


Ex-developer of #! CrunchBang. Follow me on Twitter smile

Offline

#39 2012-10-01 15:30:16

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,131
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

corenominal wrote:
chameleon wrote:

@MekkaGodzilla

In obmenu, most of the execute fields of items are empty, even though the menu works fine.

Yeh same here...It is OK to add items as before but to edit an item I had to edit menu.xml

I think this is probably due to replacing the depreciated '<execute>' actions with '<command>' in the default menu file. I will need to either patch obmenu, or revert to the depreciated actions. The preferred solution would be to patch obmenu, but having had a look at the code, it could be tricky. Hmm.

Okay, it took a little while to get familiar with the code, but I have now created a working patch for obmenu.

Here is the difficulty is in a particular situation; if I apply the patch, it will break obmenu for users who still have depreciated syntax in their menu files. If I do not apply the patch, obmenu will remain broken for users with the new syntax.

Personally, I do not think I have any option but to apply the patch.


Ex-developer of #! CrunchBang. Follow me on Twitter smile

Offline

#40 2012-10-01 20:15:07

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: V-Ger
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,165
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

^ Can you add a blurb to the patch that would notify the users who still have depreciated syntax in their menu files of the breakage and what to do while it is installing?

I am seeing more and more messaging coming during an update than ever...  I am not sure how difficult it would be but it might help out.


VSIDO | Words That Build Or Destroy

I dev VSIDO

Offline

#41 2012-10-01 20:28:30

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,131
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

VastOne wrote:

^ Can you add a blurb to the patch that would notify the users who still have depreciated syntax in their menu files of the breakage and what to do while it is installing?

Yes. That was my thinking too. I will look into it, before uploading the new package. smile


Ex-developer of #! CrunchBang. Follow me on Twitter smile

Offline

#42 2012-10-02 06:19:58

Milozzy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 633
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

corenominal wrote:
Milozzy wrote:

Hi Philip, can I ask you why cb-hotcorners has gone from the new autostart config file?

I gave cb-hotcorners a trial and while a few people commented about how they liked it, more seemed to comment about how gmrun would start randomly, without knowing what was actually happening. Therefore, I figured it was probably best to remove it, at least until I can find time to make it more usable.

Understood.
Personally, I find it cb-hotcorners very cool and useful but I change gmrun with the invocation of skippy-xd (http://code.google.com/p/skippy-xd/) for a sort of a gnome3 behavior smile

corenominal wrote:
Milozzy wrote:

and what is the difference in editing ~/.compton.conf or ~/.config/comptonrc?

It is safe to remove as it is not referenced by the new compton build or pipemenu.

This is right what I wanted to know wink

corenominal wrote:
VastOne wrote:

^ Can you add a blurb to the patch that would notify the users who still have depreciated syntax in their menu files of the breakage and what to do while it is installing?

Yes. That was my thinking too. I will look into it, before uploading the new package. smile

Fair enough imho.

Thanks for your kind replies!

Offline

#43 2012-10-02 11:00:38

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,131
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

corenominal wrote:
VastOne wrote:

^ Can you add a blurb to the patch that would notify the users who still have depreciated syntax in their menu files of the breakage and what to do while it is installing?

Yes. That was my thinking too. I will look into it, before uploading the new package. smile

Okay, I have now uploaded the patched package to the repository. I have added the follow output to the postinst file:

This version of obmenu is not compatible with some depreciated
Openbox menu syntax. For more information, please see:
http://openbox.org/wiki/Help:Actions#Execute

Hopefully, this will ease the transition.


Ex-developer of #! CrunchBang. Follow me on Twitter smile

Offline

#44 2012-10-02 11:03:16

SabreWolfy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2009-03-09
Posts: 1,285

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

^ @corenominal: Can those of us on pre-September Waldorf safely update/dist-upgrade still?

$ sudo apt-get dist-upgrade 
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Calculating upgrade... Done
The following packages will be upgraded:
  obmenu
1 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 26.8 kB of archives.
After this operation, 78.8 kB disk space will be freed.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? 

Last edited by SabreWolfy (2012-10-02 11:05:01)


Support #!Waldorf • Debian sid • Xubuntu • siduction • Peppermint • OpenBox • Xfce • LXDE •

Offline

#45 2012-10-02 11:19:23

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,826
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

^ You can anyway put the package on hold:

echo "obmenu hold" | dpkg --set-selections

so your normal dist-upgrades will still work.

Then remove the hold some day one day with

 echo "obmenu install" | dpkg --set-selections

Last edited by machinebacon (2012-10-02 11:19:59)


Sweaty lads picking up the soap | I love the new "Ignore user" button

Offline

#46 2012-10-02 11:26:35

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,131
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

SabreWolfy wrote:

^ @corenominal: Can those of us on pre-September Waldorf safely update/dist-upgrade still?

Yes, but if you want to use obmenu, you will need to update your menu and replace the deprecated <execute> actions with <command>. This might help:

1. Make a backup of your menu file:

cp ~/.config/openbox/menu.xml ~/.config/openbox/menu.xml.bak

2. Replace the deprecated syntax:

sed -e 's/execute>/command>/g' ~/.config/openbox/menu.xml.bak > ~/.config/openbox/menu.xml

Job done. smile


Ex-developer of #! CrunchBang. Follow me on Twitter smile

Offline

#47 2012-10-02 11:27:42

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 4,148
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

btw if it's going in the code:
<spellcheck>'depreciated' => 'deprecated'</spellcheck>
smile


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
#! forum moderator    BunsenLabs

Offline

#48 2012-10-02 11:31:46

SabreWolfy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2009-03-09
Posts: 1,285

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

@machinebacon: Good to know how to do that.

@corenominal: Thanks -- did the search and replace and then upgraded obmenu. Your note is coming through ...

$ sudo apt-get dist-upgrade 
Reading package lists... Done
...
The following packages will be upgraded:
  obmenu
...
Setting up obmenu (1.0-4) ...
This version of obmenu is not compatible with some depreciated
Openbox menu syntax. For more information, please see:
http://openbox.org/wiki/Help:Actions#Execute
Processing triggers for python-support ...
...

@johnraff:: I'm sure your correction is ... appreciated wink

Last edited by SabreWolfy (2012-10-02 11:34:31)


Support #!Waldorf • Debian sid • Xubuntu • siduction • Peppermint • OpenBox • Xfce • LXDE •

Offline

#49 2012-10-02 11:35:59

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,131
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

johnraff wrote:

btw if it's going in the code:
<spellcheck>'depreciated' => 'deprecated'</spellcheck>
smile

Good catch! I always get caught by that. hmm


Ex-developer of #! CrunchBang. Follow me on Twitter smile

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#50 2012-10-02 12:15:20

Milozzy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 633
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

@corenominal: I have another question (if I have not already pissed you off): why Squeeze and not Xarchiver? The former doesn't support password protected archive, AFAIK, while the latter does.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo