SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2010-10-08 00:10:07

blackplague1347
Member
Registered: 2010-10-07
Posts: 26

[SOLVED] Can someone help me move Conky?

I resized my desktop and now Conky's display is just sitting there, slightly right of center on my desktop. I want to move it toward the edge of the screen, like it was before I adjusted my desktop size.

How can I do it?

Big newbie, by the way. So don't all jargon-y on me wink

Last edited by blackplague1347 (2010-10-08 17:46:43)

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2010-10-08 00:28:10

bolle
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-10-25
Posts: 228

Re: [SOLVED] Can someone help me move Conky?

Hey there,

( welcome to #! btw big_smile )

Well in our home folder there is a hidden file named ".conkyrc"
If you open that up with root access
Find a line that says "position" or something alike.

There should be two words there saying
"top right" or "bottom left", etc. etc.

Im not sure if this will work, or if there is an easier solution ( probably is )
butt

Try changing those words to "bottom left"

save the file, restart your computer, your conky should be in some odd place, near your tint2 panel (where your tasks are),
and then open up your "conkyrc" file again, and edit those words to say "top right" now.

Restart, and see if my magic complete guess solution worked smile

Sorry i couldnt be anymore help.. someone smarter than me will come along and fix this in a snap ^^

Good luck!


I once installed gentoo. It asked me for a sacrifice and would not install itself unless I gave him my neighbor's first born and my best bottle of Whiskey.  -Awebb 2011

Offline

#3 2010-10-08 00:40:29

crunchy
#! Junkie
From: Juneau, AK, USA
Registered: 2010-08-19
Posts: 461

Re: [SOLVED] Can someone help me move Conky?

Offline

#4 2010-10-08 00:51:32

bolle
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-10-25
Posts: 228

Re: [SOLVED] Can someone help me move Conky?

what he said ^^


I once installed gentoo. It asked me for a sacrifice and would not install itself unless I gave him my neighbor's first born and my best bottle of Whiskey.  -Awebb 2011

Offline

#5 2010-10-08 00:53:10

vrkalak
#! Die Hard
From: Las Vegas > US
Registered: 2009-09-14
Posts: 1,647

Re: [SOLVED] Can someone help me move Conky?

Last edited by vrkalak (2010-10-08 00:56:28)

Offline

#6 2010-10-08 01:08:39

boromeus
#! Junkie
From: BG (SRB)
Registered: 2010-09-12
Posts: 313

Re: [SOLVED] Can someone help me move Conky?

Offline

#7 2010-10-08 01:25:32

blackplague1347
Member
Registered: 2010-10-07
Posts: 26

Re: [SOLVED] Can someone help me move Conky?

Thanks, folks. Got it. Had to adjust my display again, for some reason.

Offline

#8 2010-10-08 01:36:02

vrkalak
#! Die Hard
From: Las Vegas > US
Registered: 2009-09-14
Posts: 1,647

Re: [SOLVED] Can someone help me move Conky?

Offline

#9 2010-10-08 07:13:56

luc
#! Die Hard
From: Munich, Germany
Registered: 2010-03-21
Posts: 597

Re: [SOLVED] Can someone help me move Conky?

conky is sometimes misplaced when you change your monitor settings (resolution). to fix that it is sufficient to run these in a terminal:

killall conky
conky &

this command will terminate and restart conky.

luc

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: bleh

Debian Logo