SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-09-11 17:53:49

pcmark
New Member
Registered: 2014-10-22
Posts: 8

Add "Games" folder to OB menu

maybe I'll get younger each time I login to the future! present sit is to get the Games Folder to the Menu that pops on when you click anywhere on the desktop which is or not conky? (pst I'm a diabetic with   sometimes severe memory problems. enough whining i'm here to learn

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2015-09-11 18:08:18

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Add "Games" folder to OB menu

This isn't a conky question.

I'm not on a Bunsen system ATM, can someone explain where to add his Games folder in bl-places-pipemenu?


bunsenlabs     8)     forum mod squad

Offline

#3 2015-09-11 18:15:34

pcmark
New Member
Registered: 2014-10-22
Posts: 8

Re: Add "Games" folder to OB menu

Sorry  got the wrong thing I'll shift to help& support stable "pipe menu please help" if that's ok

Offline

#4 2015-09-11 18:17:56

pcmark
New Member
Registered: 2014-10-22
Posts: 8

Re: Add "Games" folder to OB menu

Hi again looking for help/guidance to bring "Games folder to Pipe Menu"

-moderator edit- I merged the threads and updated your title - hhh

Offline

#5 2015-09-11 18:41:04

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 5,434

Re: Add "Games" folder to OB menu

Still not sure what you are meaning? (NB "menu" and "pipemenu" are different things)
Do you want your "Games" directory to show up in the Menu -> Places item? If  it is in $HOME it should there appear anyway.
If you have the directory eg on another drive, then add a symlink to it in $HOME so it shows up in Menu -> Places

Do you want a separate menu item which opens your Games directory? In which case look in Help ---> Openbox to see how to edit menu.xml. Add something like

        <item label="Open Games">
            <action name="Execute">
                <command>
                    bl-file-manager /path/to/Games
                </command>
            </action>
        </item>

Reconfigure Openbox and the new item should appear


BunsenLabs Group on deviantArt
damo's gallery on deviantArt
Openbox themes
Forum Moderator smile

Offline

#6 2015-09-11 18:57:54

pcmark
New Member
Registered: 2014-10-22
Posts: 8

Re: Add "Games" folder to OB menu

Thank you I will look in openbox and mirror what you put in dash box for me

Offline

#7 2015-09-11 19:14:09

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 5,434

Re: Add "Games" folder to OB menu

pcmark wrote:

Thank you I will look in openbox and mirror what you put in dash box for me

Best not to copy and paste blindly!

(BTW it is a "code" box, for pasting terminal output)


BunsenLabs Group on deviantArt
damo's gallery on deviantArt
Openbox themes
Forum Moderator smile

Offline

#8 2015-09-11 19:46:52

pcmark
New Member
Registered: 2014-10-22
Posts: 8

Re: Add "Games" folder to OB menu

quick story Ten years ago I was new to web work was FTP thought i was doing good didnt save a copy of file i was working on when i did ftp there was my mistake glaring at me took 2 days of code writing in spare time to fix. I now stepping into the unknown w/openbox should I Copy/Paste to a fresh build so i don't mess you guy's work up?

Last edited by pcmark (2015-09-11 19:49:02)

Offline

#9 2015-09-11 20:38:26

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 2,205

Re: Add "Games" folder to OB menu

^ wot?

anyway, i think you need an applications menu, probably built dynamically into the openbox menu with something like obmenu-generator. there you'd have a games category. go to openbox.org, search for wiki and then menu, you will find.

but, given your level of expertise, maybe you should just use a panel, e.g. xfce4-panel or lxpanel.

Last edited by ohnonot (2015-09-11 20:39:32)

Offline

#10 2015-09-11 20:47:56

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 5,434

Re: Add "Games" folder to OB menu

pcmark wrote:

... I now stepping into the unknown w/openbox should I Copy/Paste to a fresh build so i don't mess you guy's work up?

Look in the Help menu for Openbox links.

Step 1) Back up
Step 2) Make a backup copy of any config file before you edit it
Step 3) If you make a major f***up, you can restore the default Openbox configs from /usr/share/bunsen/skel/.config/openbox/


BunsenLabs Group on deviantArt
damo's gallery on deviantArt
Openbox themes
Forum Moderator smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo