SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-03-07 08:36:33

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 5,434

Re: Conky in Bunsen

EDIT by johnraff
A thread to discuss possible changes in the way conky is implemented - startup scripts, config file location etc.

Some posts have been split off from the "Wally" thread, starting with this one.

nicholasalipaz wrote:

Using the cheatsheet on page 2 I am able to get a great little install up.  However when restarting conky I see the error message "failed to execute child process conkywonky".  I was able to get a copy of the conkywonky file, but I am not sure where I should put it, any ideas?

Somewhere in your $PATH  -   /usr/bin, ~/bin etc

Last edited by johnraff (2015-03-09 05:39:39)


BunsenLabs Group on deviantArt
damo's gallery on deviantArt
Openbox themes
Forum Moderator smile

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2015-03-07 11:24:58

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky in Bunsen

How are you starting your conky?  "conkywonky" isn't really needed, it basically says so.  Running it kills ~/.conkyrc if it's running and starts ~/.conkyrc if it's not running.

#!/bin/sh
# conkywonky
# ----------
# Many moons ago, Conky did not automatically restart when changes were
# made to its config files. This script was used to restart it. It does not
# really serve any purpose now, but I like the name and some people may still
# be using/referencing it.

if [ "$(pidof conky)" ]; then
    killall conky
    conky -q
    exit
else
    conky -q
    exit
fi

It's the equivalent of:
To start ~/.conkyrc if it's not running

conky

and to stop it (and all other conkys) if it is running

killall conky

EDIT - had to run - RL -  let me continue

Mine is non-executable and resides in /media/5/Conky/Tips_n_Stuff/conkywonky as a text file for historical purposes.  It looks like a kissing cousin to the ssc script found at Conky PitStop use to start stop multiple conkys ... and conkywonky could be used in that same manner.

#!/bin/sh
# conkywonky
# ----------
# Many moons ago, Conky did not automatically restart when changes were
# made to its config files. This script was used to restart it. It does not
# really serve any purpose now, but I like the name and some people may still
# be using/referencing it.

if [ "$(pidof conky)" ]; then
    killall conky
    conky -q -c /path_to/conky1
    conky -q -c /path_to/conky2
    conky -q -c /path_to/conky3
    exit
else
    conky -q -c /path_to/conky1
    conky -q -c /path_to/conky2
    conky -q -c /path_to/conky3
    exit
fi

Now here's a neat trick.

Let say you have two conkys: ~/.conkyrc and ~/.conkyrc2.  Starting the first with

conky

and the second with:

conky -c ~/conkyrc2

Now you have two conkys running:
2015_03_07_09_21_16_1920x1080_Sector11.jpg

If you started those conkys as seen above you have no choice but to "killall all" and restart them if you are editing one of them or only want "one conky running"

But, if you started them both like this:

conky -c /home/sector11/.conkyrc
conky -c /home/sector11/.conkyrc2

Now you can kill each one individually leaving the other running.
Lets kill ~/.conkyrc

pkill -xf "conky -c /home/sector11/.conkyrc" &

2015_03_07_09_26_51_1920x1080_Sector11.jpg
And there you have it, ~/conkyrc2 is still running.

NOTE:  $HOME/ for /home/sector11/ does not work in the home directory however if your conkys are in /conky

~/conky/conkyrc
~/conky/conkyrc2

now you can use:

conky -c $HOME/conly/conkyrc
conky -c $HOME/conky/conkyrc2

and:

pkill -xf "conky -c $HOME/conky/.conkyrc" &

I'm hoping to update the way BunsenLabs deals with conky.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#3 2015-03-08 00:44:43

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 4,148
Website

Re: Conky in Bunsen

^Sounds like a good idea. Maybe put the files in .config though? Something like ~/.config/conky/ or even ~/.config/user/conky/ just in case some future version of conky starts to use ~/.config/conky...

Try to move as much config stuff out of ~/ to ~/.config as possible?


...and, yeah, BunsenLabs probably doesn't need conkywonky any more, right?

Last edited by johnraff (2015-03-08 00:46:21)


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
#! forum moderator    BunsenLabs

Offline

#4 2015-03-08 07:39:41

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 5,434

Re: Conky in Bunsen

johnraff wrote:

^Sounds like a good idea. Maybe put the files in .config though? Something like ~/.config/conky/ or even ~/.config/user/conky/ just in case some future version of conky starts to use ~/.config/conky...

Try to move as much config stuff out of ~/ to ~/.config as possible?


...and, yeah, BunsenLabs probably doesn't need conkywonky any more, right?

I put my own conky's in ~/.config/conky/.

Why do you think a conky restart script isn't needed? At the least it provides a template for new users who start tweaking their configurations.


BunsenLabs Group on deviantArt
damo's gallery on deviantArt
Openbox themes
Forum Moderator smile

Offline

#5 2015-03-08 14:30:22

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 4,148
Website

Re: Conky in Bunsen

damo wrote:

Why do you think a conky restart script isn't needed? At the least it provides a template for new users who start tweaking their configurations.

Because conky now detects when its config file has been edited and reloads by itself.

conkywonky wrote:

#Many moons ago, Conky did not automatically restart when changes were
# made to its config files. This script was used to restart it. It does not
# really serve any purpose now, but I like the name and some people may still
# be using/referencing it.

Last edited by johnraff (2015-03-08 14:33:13)


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
#! forum moderator    BunsenLabs

Offline

#6 2015-03-08 16:22:42

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky in Bunsen

@ johnraff and damo

Actually that isn't 100% John.  At times conky will choke and crap out if edited and saved.  So one has to restart it.  Possibly not for something as simple as the "CrunchBang" default conky but it does happen.

Just ask someone who bends/folds and mutilates them a lot.  O:)

So the idea of "conkywonky" is a good one ... I'm just suggesting an update of types to that idea.

A screenshot showing "MY" version of a tweaked BunsenLabs conky running and I'm about to execute ssc-Dice.sh in thunar:
2015_03_08_12_19_32_1920x1080_Sector11.jpg
Now executing that again will kill the two "Dice" time/date conkys leaving the main conky.
2015_03_08_12_27_10_1920x1080_Sector11.jpg<- before --- after -> 2015_03_08_12_27_25_1920x1080_Sector11.jpg

Put that script in an OB Menu entry needs to be clicked to start the conky and to kill the conky ... the conkywonky it a little different, it will start a conky ( ~/.conkyrc ) that isn't running or kill (ALL) conkys that are running and re-run ~/.conkyrc only

Not so good for people that put conkys in other places or run multiple conkys;

  • ~/.conky/.conkyrc - I have never understood hidden conkys in hidden directories - but there are lots out there.

  • ~/.config/conkyrc

  • /media/5/Conky - my main conky area

  • ~/.config/conky/ - damo's area

  • etc

Now the problem.  IF ~/.conkyrc does NOT exist and IF someone types

conky

it will start the default fugly conky:
2015_03_08_12_39_21_430x469_Sector11.jpg

Suggestion
If Bunsenlabs is to have a "default" conky and we want to use a "conkywonky" style script edit it and put it in ~/bin where the USER owns it and can edit it if needed without root privileges.  The "conkyrc" files isn't really a "program" nor is it "program code" it's nothing but a glorified text file.  Hi damo. O:)
2015_03_08_12_50_40_1920x1080_Sector11.jpg

My "conkywonky" is slightly more complicated and it's used in my autostart file as well:

######################################### Start Conky after a slight delay ###
 (sleep 2s && /media/5/Conky/OBMenuS/S11_Current.sh) &

exit

Works the same -- if nothing is running it runs my conkys (on startup), if they are already running - or any test conky is running - it kills em all and restarts mine.
It's a little more complicated though at 81 lines - it starts 13 conkys on 3 different desktops (two run on all desktops) and 4 are in "Windows" that I read in the AM on boot and then close.

Is conkywonky needed - NO!  but like damo said

it provides a template for new users who start tweaking their configurations.

Check out the scripts in the /conky-BL/scripts directory.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#7 2015-03-08 16:46:59

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: Conky in Bunsen

Sector11 wrote:

@ johnraff and damo

Actually that isn't 100% John.  At times conky will choke and crap out if edited and saved.  So one has to restart it.  Possibly not for something as simple as the "CrunchBang" default conky but it does happen.

Just ask someone who bends/folds and mutilates them a lot.  O:)

I've had to kill & restart Conky after such simple edits as changing its position or size.

Offline

#8 2015-03-08 17:56:22

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky in Bunsen

Maybe we should move some of this to a: Index » Development » Bunsen Conky  thread?


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#9 2015-03-09 01:28:22

tknomanzr
#! Die Hard
From: Heavener, OK
Registered: 2014-12-09
Posts: 777

Re: Conky in Bunsen

I agree that it does have to be killed occasionally. I have modified my conkywonky to start the shell script I use to fire up my conkies. I do like having it in my menu, however.

Offline

#10 2015-03-09 05:31:01

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 4,148
Website

Conky in Bunsen

This post now unnecessary, but if I delete it the thread will go too...

Last edited by johnraff (2015-03-09 05:41:13)


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
#! forum moderator    BunsenLabs

Offline

#11 2015-03-09 18:32:45

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky in Bunsen

Noooooooo a thread dependent on a single post?

I have been in and out all day and just wrote a huge PM to smacz who is beta testing the BunsenLabs conky setup on GitHub

It's really easy to get way out on a limb (for me) when it comes to conky. 

pvsage wrote:

I've had to kill & restart Conky after such simple edits as changing its position or size.

Are you running the default OOTB CB conky?

@all
another thing I'd like to see tested: [Super]+d - to show desktop and again to come back.  Does your conky disappear?
For smacz it does unless he uses:

own_window desktop

I use

own_window normal

in my conkys and they do not disappear.  I use "normal" so the conkys don't become dead space for the mouse centre/right-click functions.
2015_03_09_15_31_19_1920x1080_Sector11.jpg


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#12 2015-03-10 02:58:26

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 4,148
Website

Re: Conky in Bunsen

Sector11 wrote:

Noooooooo a thread dependent on a single post?

Apparently. That was the post I created this thread with, but when I merged in the other posts, because they were older they came before the OP. But the OP is still the OP so the whole thread depends on it - at least that's what the forum interface said when I tried to delete it.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
#! forum moderator    BunsenLabs

Offline

#13 2015-03-10 12:46:54

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky in Bunsen

^ Oh ... well that explains that.

Let's continue with a couple of questions as in a new default for BunsenLabs

  • Is anyone interested in the GitHub bunsen-conky setup?

  • Is anyone interested in the conkys at GitHub?, or

  • Is the CB Default going to be preserved?

If the GiTHub idea isn't going to be used it still makes a good example of how to use start/stop scripts with zenity, I use the same setup for multiple tint2 setups as well.

I keep playing with the conkys, the latest one has a "draw-bk.lua" script to give a bit of shading - I've set it to a grey 'similar' to the Bunsen Flame and changed the default colour so it's not so much in contrast with the grey of velvet-noise.
2015_03_10_09_24_13_1920x1080_Sector11.jpg
My personalized version on the left.

Anyone with Ideas or other possible layouts please post them I'm not the only person that does conkys here.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#14 2015-03-10 14:17:05

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 5,434

Re: Conky in Bunsen

I like the idea of the conky zenity dialog very much. It should be no problem to have a default plain conky started, and the conky-chooser script in the menu, with several other conkys to choose from.

Same idea as a having a default theme and others to choose using obconf/lxappearance.

@Sector11    I've raised an issue on github about a code error in the blc script


BunsenLabs Group on deviantArt
damo's gallery on deviantArt
Openbox themes
Forum Moderator smile

Offline

#15 2015-03-10 15:55:25

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky in Bunsen

damo wrote:

I like the idea of the conky zenity dialog very much. It should be no problem to have a default plain conky started, and the conky-chooser script in the menu, with several other conkys to choose from.

Same idea as a having a default theme and others to choose using obconf/lxappearance.

@Sector11    I've raised an issue on github about a code error in the blc script

NOTE:  GitHub blc fixed - Thank you

OK, that raises a couple of points then.
If the "zenity" script is included the conkys as they stand now are found in "~/conky-BL" and the start/stop scripts in "~/conky-BL/scripts"

I can add a "Default" to that list that will start: conky -c $HOME/.conky however in the OpenBox autostart file it will need to start the default conky the same way.
ie:
## start default conky ##
(sleep 2s && conky -c $HOME/.conky)

REASON:
the ~/.conkyrc usually starts with "conky" and if it is the line:

pkill -xf "conky -c $HOME/.conkyrc"

will not kill it.
2015_03_10_12_40_19_1920x1080_Sector11.jpg
Try it ... if your conky resides at: ~/.conkyrc

pkill -xf "conky -c $HOME/.conkyrc"

that should not kill it.

Now do a "killall conky" and start the conky:

conky -c $HOME/.conkyrc

and then kill it:

pkill -xf "conky -c $HOME/.conkyrc"

Advantage: If you run multiple conkys this starts and stops just the ~/.conkyrc leaving others alone.
give it a neat name like ssc-defcon  ( defaultconky )

#!/bin/bash
## click to start, click to stop
## the default conky

if pgrep -f "conky -c $HOME/.conkyrc"
then
	pkill -xf "conky -c $HOME/.conkyrc"
else
	conky -c $HOME/.conkyrc
fi

EDIT:

autostart could actually point directly to that script as well.

(sleep 2s && ssc-defcon)  ## if in $PATH

or

(sleep 2s && ~/conky-BL/scripts/ssc-defcon)  ## if not in $PATH

Last edited by Sector11 (2015-03-10 16:04:36)


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#16 2015-09-08 19:22:51

wagmic1
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2013-11-15
Posts: 119

Re: Conky in Bunsen

hi guys is there a way to add my own conky in conky-chooser i have tried a lot's of things but my conkys was never showed on the zenity box maybe i 've followed the bad way.
thank's for you work and your answers

Last edited by wagmic1 (2015-09-08 19:23:44)


I need to learn how to speak/write English big_smile
latest Firefox on #! handylinux

Offline

#17 2015-09-08 19:43:17

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky in Bunsen

Put your conky in:

~/.config/conky and give it a unique name ...
and other files in:
~/.config/conky/images
~/.config/conky/LUA
~/.config/conky/scripts

That will do it.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#18 2015-09-08 21:34:10

wagmic1
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2013-11-15
Posts: 119

Re: Conky in Bunsen

i apologized i have made this but havent see the extention .conkyrc  of the file
all is gone now thanks S11


I need to learn how to speak/write English big_smile
latest Firefox on #! handylinux

Offline

#19 2015-09-08 21:39:24

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky in Bunsen

and my mistake, I should have mentioned that as well.  OOPS!

We both learn.  wink


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#20 2015-09-11 00:11:05

tknomanzr
#! Die Hard
From: Heavener, OK
Registered: 2014-12-09
Posts: 777

Re: Conky in Bunsen

Hey, I just wanted to let you know how cool conky-chooser is S11. Once I figured out where to place stuff and how to name it, my conkies came up in it, easy-peasy. Unlike a lot of you folks, I am pretty set in my ways when it comes to my conkies. I just want all my relevant system stats to be there for me lol. However, porting my two conkies into BL was easy.

Offline

#21 2015-09-11 03:39:15

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky in Bunsen

The idea wasn't mone, came from Voyager Linux (?) - I still use it the way I found it and have BunsenChooser here as well.  damo did the work on that rendition - way over my head.  I'm and idea man don't have the knowhow to do the actual scripting.

But glad you're happy ... it is pretty slick.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo