SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#51 2013-07-02 01:32:14

crunchycat
Member
Registered: 2013-01-20
Posts: 28

Re: Working Netflix in #!

Hi. I tried the fix here to add the i386 architecture and although the app starts up, when I click something to stream, plugin-container.exe crashes and the screen goes blank. Has anyone had this problem or come up with a workaround?

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#52 2013-07-09 22:09:39

oaxacamatt
Member
From: PVD, N.A.
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 20

Re: Working Netflix in #!

Hi all,
I tried the How-To at the top of the page and ran across this:

 [64][mcc.dollybang: /home/mcc]$ sudo apt-get install netflix-desktop
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 netflix-desktop : Depends: wine-browser-installer but it is not going to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

I thought it was said above that it is not needed to have WINE already installed??
Any thoughts?

Offline

#53 2013-07-09 22:16:56

schwim
#! Die Hard
From: Interweb's #1 Devotee
Registered: 2012-10-11
Posts: 1,031
Website

Re: Working Netflix in #!

Others have posted a workaround for this repeatedly in the thread, it seems.  Check from this post and further and you'll read numerous posts on getting it working on 64 bit architecture.

Offline

#54 2013-07-15 00:52:35

diegoelsurfer
Member
From: Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina
Registered: 2013-05-07
Posts: 36
Website

Re: Working Netflix in #!

schwim wrote:

Heya guys and gals!

With the assistance of bp, I have working Netflix in Crunchbang Waldorf 32 bit(I'll be trying 64 bit later today).  For purposes of condensation, Here's what you have to do, including BP's instructions, without which I never would have been able to do it.

Hi guys. I did what schwim posted and I am enjoying netflix right now.

My notebook:
OS: Debian 7.1 x86_64
Kernel: 3.2.0-4-amd64

Works great, but I hate the fact that Linux users have to install all that Window$ crap, really. Silverlight, firefox.exe...

I wrote a mail to Netflix people, asking about the Linux client. No answer yet.

Anyway, thanks schwim!


http://www.vanguardiasur.com.ar
embedded systems & kernel development

Offline

#55 2013-07-15 05:43:18

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: Working Netflix in #!

Rumors of a Linux-native client for Netflix keep resurfacing; these have always been greatly exaggerated. sad

Offline

#56 2013-07-27 23:49:06

dr.ross
Member
Registered: 2013-07-27
Posts: 33

Re: Working Netflix in #!

I would just like to express my continued gratitude to the #! forum.  I am a total linux noob and was able to follow this thread, set up the i386 arch and now have netflix up and running.  You guys are several kinds of awesome.

Offline

#57 2013-08-05 15:23:23

g33zr
#! Die Hard
From: Never Never Land
Registered: 2013-02-19
Posts: 635

Re: Working Netflix in #!

Before I borked #! on my laptop recently, I used Schwim's helpful tips to install Netflix-desktop on both my 64-bit desktop and laptop, which worked great on both. smile

After reinstalling #! on the laptop and restoring my files, etc., I began the process of reinstalling the packages to make Netflix work, but ran into various dependency issues. It didn't take me long to realize that when I restored my files, I also brought back bits and pieces from the previous install, which I think caused at least some of the dependency issues in trying to reinstall the netflix-desktop.

At the same time, I noticed that the repos in synaptic contain wine, wine-browser, netflix-desktop, among other packages. Nothing I've tried so far seems to work this time around. neutral

My question: Is it now possible to install the netflix-desktop with all the necessary packages via synaptic? If so, is there a particular sequence to do this? 8)


It's never too late to learn something new! wink

OHCG | LXer

Offline

#58 2013-08-08 18:54:07

g33zr
#! Die Hard
From: Never Never Land
Registered: 2013-02-19
Posts: 635

Re: Working Netflix in #!

Update: After a recent #! update/upgrade, I discovered that netflix-desktop no longer booted on the desktop. Out of curiosity, I checked synaptic and noticed that it was unchecked. Hmmmm....how did THAT happen? So, I marked it and hit apply and reinstalled it with all the packages/dependencies. After launching Netflix, I had to install the usual additional packages, but it now works fine on the desktop. smile

Getting netflix-desktop to work on the laptop was trickier. I not only received the "broken packages" message, but there were also duplicate packages in /etc/apt/sources.list.d, which I was unable to remove.

I then installed the i386 architure and updated again, then installed netflix-desktop in terminal and...PRESTO...it now works on the laptop, too!

Thanks everyone for sharing your tips and tricks!  big_smile  big_smile  big_smile


It's never too late to learn something new! wink

OHCG | LXer

Offline

#59 2013-08-15 22:12:26

Renorei
Member
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 14

Re: Working Netflix in #!

I get as far as the Netflix desktop app but then when I go to hit "play" to stream something I get a grey screen that says "The Silverlight plugin has crashed.  Reload the page to try again."  It also gives me the option to send an error report. 

What should I do now?

Offline

#60 2013-08-16 13:55:24

Renorei
Member
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 14

Re: Working Netflix in #!

Actually it's worse than I thought.  Now the area at the top with the two clickable desktops is gone (so once I minimize something I can't get it back) as is the taskbar with info about my wifi connection, battery power, what time it is, etc.  Plus whenever I hover over "places" or "recent files" I get an error message that says:  "Failed to execute command for pipe-menu "cb-recent-files-pipemenu": Failed to execute child process "cb-recent-files-pipemenu" (No such file or directory)"

My netbook is almost unusable AND I don't have working Netflix!  Help!

Offline

#61 2013-08-28 04:58:49

th3pun15h3r
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2011-11-22
Posts: 571

Re: Working Netflix in #!

Ive been having the same issues with broken packages, I just searched for netflix desktop on debian wheezy 64 bit and found this link:

http://www.skybert.net/debian/netflix-o … ezy-64bit/

this worked for me! hope this helps everyone else!

Offline

#62 2013-08-28 23:06:10

TheHeen
New Member
Registered: 2013-08-28
Posts: 1

Re: Working Netflix in #!

Hi, first post. Tried the guide, but get the following error on the first step. Any ideas?

sudo apt-add-repository ppa:ehoover/compholio
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/apt-add-repository", line 8, in <module>
    from softwareproperties.SoftwareProperties import SoftwareProperties
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/softwareproperties/SoftwareProperties.py", line 53, in <module>
    from ppa import AddPPASigningKeyThread, expand_ppa_line
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/softwareproperties/ppa.py", line 27, in <module>
    import pycurl
ImportError: /usr/lib/pymodules/python2.7/pycurl.so: undefined symbol: _PyTrash_

Offline

#63 2013-08-28 23:23:03

CrunchieBar
New Member
Registered: 2013-08-18
Posts: 8

Re: Working Netflix in #!

For those of you trying to access netflix in browser via silverlight there seems to be a project aiming to get silverlight running in browsers on Linux more easily: http://fds-team.de/cms/articles/2013-08 … wsers.html
Hope this helps someone smile


I'm kix_/kix__/kix___ on the #! IRC, come find me smile

Offline

#64 2013-08-31 22:00:38

SamMac4763
New Member
Registered: 2013-08-31
Posts: 5

Re: Working Netflix in #!

Hi. I've been trying to get this up and running on Debian Testing amd64 but to no avail due to dependency conflicts, particularly between libopus0 and libopus0:i386. I can't remove libopus0 to install libopus0:i386 without effectively removing KDE and a bunch of other applications I use like Skype, Pidgin, VLC, etc., and I can't install ia32-libs because of this libopus0/libopus0:i386 conflict. So, I've been setting out to get netflix-desktop to run in a chroot jail in order to dodge these dependency conflicts, and am very close to getting it fully working, so I thought I'd post here for other amd64 users having dependency issues. So far video works great, but I have not worked out audio. Maybe some others here can help out.

First, for those unfamiliar with what chroot is, here's a rundown. Now for the instructions, and remember, as of right now, video works but audio does not. If I find out how to make audio work, I'll update this post.

Create the chroot:
$ sudo apt-get install binutils debootstrap
$ sudo mkdir -p /srv/chroot/netflix-desktop
$ sudo debootstrap --arch i386 wheezy /srv/chroot/netflix-desktop http://http.debian.net/debian

Enter the chroot & set up netflix-desktop:
$ sudo chroot /srv/chroot/netflix-desktop
$ nano /etc/apt/sources.list

$ apt-get update && apt-get install wine ttf-mscorefonts-installer locales python-software-properties
$ apt-add-repository ppa:ehoover/compholio
$ nano /etc/apt/sources.list.d/ehoover-compholio-wheezy.list

$ apt-get update && apt-get install netflix-desktop
$ nano /etc/locale.gen

  • Uncomment your preferred language (e.g., en_US.UTF-8 UTF-8)

$ locale-gen
$ sh -c "echo ttf-mscorefonts-installer msttcorefonts/accepted-mscorefonts-eula select true | debconf-set-selections"

Allow the chroot to run graphical applications:
In a separate terminal not logged into your chroot and as your standard user (no sudo), enter:
$ xhost +
$ echo $DISPLAY

  • Use the output of this command for the next command. E.g., if you got ":0", you'll enter "export DISPLAY=:0" next.

Now, head back over to your chroot session and enter:
$ export DISPLAY=<output of previous command>

  • e.g., $ export DISPLAY=:0

$ netflix-desktop
 
netflix-desktop should now run its setup and launch. This is working quite well for me, with the exception of audio. So with that said, would anybody know how to get audio working? I like this method because it is a perfect way to avoid any sort of dependency conflicts for 64 bit users. It's also a nice way to mitigate the "ugliness" of mixing an Ubuntu repository with your main Debian installation. It just lacks sound at this point. Thanks for any help! smile

Last edited by SamMac4763 (2013-08-31 22:11:36)

Offline

#65 2013-09-02 05:47:44

savedjuli
New Member
From: Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2013-08-28
Posts: 8

Re: Working Netflix in #!

Well, it worked perfectly fine following the instructions from the first post, and now I have netlix up and running on my #! 64 bit, so thank you very much!
Cheers to everyone!


The software told me to install XP or better... so I installed Linux.
Happy #! user I am.
]:D

Offline

#66 2013-09-17 04:17:17

th3pun15h3r
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2011-11-22
Posts: 571

Re: Working Netflix in #!

CrunchieBar wrote:

For those of you trying to access netflix in browser via silverlight there seems to be a project aiming to get silverlight running in browsers on Linux more easily: http://fds-team.de/cms/articles/2013-08 … wsers.html
Hope this helps someone smile

I've setup netflix this way myself and it improved netflix playback performance, reducing cpu and ram usage for me.  I am playing it through google chrome.

Offline

#67 2013-10-09 16:11:23

rmcellig
#! Die Hard
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 624
Website

Re: Working Netflix in #!

I am trying to install Netflix as well. I am running #! 11 32bit. Here is what I get:

randy@crunchbang:~$ sudo apt-get install netflix-desktopReading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 netflix-desktop : Depends: wine-browser-installer (= 0.8.5~quantal) but it is not going to be installed
                   Depends: wine-silverlight5.1-installer but it is not going to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.
You have new mail in /var/mail/randy
randy@crunchbang:~$ ^C
You have new mail in /var/mail/randy
randy@crunchbang:~$ 

What do I need to do to get this running.


Cheers Randy
www.mcran.com - my web site
www.chuo.fm - My radio show Sundays  noon-2pm EST or 89.1 fM

Offline

#68 2013-10-17 01:56:00

Taran'li Maren
New Member
Registered: 2013-10-17
Posts: 1

Re: Working Netflix in #!

I'm in the process of installing netflix-desktop on my 64bit cruchbang.  I enabled i386, and it seems to be right.  When I go to install the actual netflix-desktop package, it says this:

The following packages will be REMOVED:
  gettext-base grub-common grub-pc grub-pc-bin grub2-common libasprintf0c2

sudo apt-get upgrade returns nothing, neither does sudo apt-get autoremove.  Why would netflix-desktop be wanting to remove the grub packages?

Probably there is an innocent explanation I just don't know.

Offline

#69 2014-01-24 01:00:45

WhiteVenom1993
New Member
Registered: 2014-01-24
Posts: 1

Re: Working Netflix in #!

I fixed my problems by changing the two lines from

deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/ehoover/compholio/ubuntu quantal main
deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/ehoover/compholio/ubuntu quantal main

to

deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/ehoover/compholio/ubuntu ringtail main
deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/ehoover/compholio/ubuntu ringtail main

Offline

#70 2014-02-28 19:46:08

tgb1
New Member
Registered: 2014-02-28
Posts: 1

Re: Working Netflix in #!

I am having this problem



dave@crunchbang:~$ sudo apt-get install wine-compholio
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree        
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 wine-compholio : Depends: libpulse0 (>= 1:0.99.1) but 2.0-6.1 is to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.
dave@crunchbang:~$ sudo apt-get install libpulse0
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
libpulse0 is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.

Offline

#71 2014-03-06 08:28:05

PSIONEER2K
New Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 1

Re: Working Netflix in #!

tgb1 wrote:

I am having this problem



dave@crunchbang:~$ sudo apt-get install wine-compholio
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree        
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 wine-compholio : Depends: libpulse0 (>= 1:0.99.1) but 2.0-6.1 is to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.
dave@crunchbang:~$ sudo apt-get install libpulse0
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
libpulse0 is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.

Solution: I followed the first post, got same problem but solved it by using

deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/ehoover/compholio/ubuntu ringtail main
deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/ehoover/compholio/ubuntu ringtail main

Hope this helps ;D

It runs laggy though on my machine with netflix-desktop.

I have followed the guide on http://fds-team.de/cms/articles/2013-08 … wsers.html
to run it in Google Chrome, using Agent switcher for “Firefox 15 Windows”. There was no lag. Starting up Netflix went snappy, but the resolution was a tad worse than on my XBOX360. I guess it is a graphic driver issue. I use Waldorf 32bit with stock graphic drivers. I haven't yet found out how to enable GPU acceleration in Silverlight. (Netflix ran perfectly on Windows 7, but the OS was a little bit to demanding for my low-end HTPC so I switched to Crunchbang which is the best Linux distrubution I have seen since Ubuntu got messed up with Unity and Amazon.)

My system:

Shuttle XS35GT-804, 2GB RAM, 128GB SSD, NVIDIA Next Generation ION

Last edited by PSIONEER2K (2014-03-06 14:53:15)


"Good technology never dies, it only gets cheaper! ;D"

Favourites: Sinclair ZX Spectrum 48KB, Commodore 64, Amstrad NC100, Psion Revo 16MB, Palm m500, Alphasmart Neo, Shuttle XS35GT-804, MBP 13" 2011, Thinkpad X300, XBOX360

Offline

#72 2014-03-07 23:25:02

schwim
#! Die Hard
From: Interweb's #1 Devotee
Registered: 2012-10-11
Posts: 1,031
Website

Re: Working Netflix in #!

PSIONEER2K wrote:

I have followed the guide on http://fds-team.de/cms/articles/2013-08 … wsers.html
to run it in Google Chrome, using Agent switcher for “Firefox 15 Windows”. There was no lag. Starting up Netflix went snappy, but the resolution was a tad worse than on my XBOX360. I guess it is a graphic driver issue. I use Waldorf 32bit with stock graphic drivers. I haven't yet found out how to enable GPU acceleration in Silverlight. (Netflix ran perfectly on Windows 7, but the OS was a little bit to demanding for my low-end HTPC so I switched to Crunchbang which is the best Linux distrubution I have seen since Ubuntu got messed up with Unity and Amazon.)

My system:

Shuttle XS35GT-804, 2GB RAM, 128GB SSD, NVIDIA Next Generation ION

I've edited the initial post to reflect the superior method of getting Netflix up and running.  I would suggest to anyone that has already installed the compholio solution to give it a shot as it's the bee's knees.

Offline

#73 2014-03-19 00:43:15

mediocore
New Member
From: California
Registered: 2013-07-16
Posts: 6

Re: Working Netflix in #!

WhiteVenom1993 wrote:

I fixed my problems by changing the two lines from

deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/ehoover/compholio/ubuntu quantal main
deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/ehoover/compholio/ubuntu quantal main

to

deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/ehoover/compholio/ubuntu ringtail main
deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/ehoover/compholio/ubuntu ringtail main

This made everything work for me! Thank you!

Offline

#74 2014-06-05 04:48:12

NewfiePrince
New Member
Registered: 2014-06-05
Posts: 1

Re: Working Netflix in #!

Hi I'm needing help set-up  netflix. Could someone please point me right direction. Thanks

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#75 2014-06-05 10:32:36

vic
#! by Default
From: /grill
Registered: 2009-02-13
Posts: 3,361

Re: Working Netflix in #!

This thread, and this;

http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=30221

If you want help, you really should provide som information about what you have done and what the problem is. You found this thread, have you read it?


Time to move on!#

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo