SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-12-21 16:28:30

DebCrunch
Member
Registered: 2012-11-23
Posts: 15

How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

Edit #4 After looking into it, there is a thunar 1.6.3 in unstable.  Please read http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=12081 for more info on how to use apt pinning.

Edit #3 Another heads up, Thunar 1.6.3 has been released.  I don't know when it will make it into experimental but info can be found here.

http://git.xfce.org/xfce/thunar/tag/?id=thunar-1.6.3

Edit #2:  Just a heads up, Thunar 1.6.2 is out, a list of bug fixes and improvements can be found here.

http://git.xfce.org/xfce/thunar/tag/?id=thunar-1.6.2

Edit add

Package: thunar libthunarx-2-0 thunar-data
Pin: release a=experimental
Pin-Priority: 1200

to your /etc/apt/preferences



1. You are going to add the Debian experimental repos to your source.list

Replace nano with your preferred text editor.

sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list

then add

deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian experimental main

Now were are going to install it run

sudo apt-get -t experimental install thunar

You may need to kill thunar, just use

sudo pkill thunar

and everything should work


tZ3MxdQ

Last edited by DebCrunch (2013-05-23 00:16:12)

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2012-12-21 20:22:07

brontosaurusrex
#! Red Menace
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 1,643

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

Thanks, seems to work fine (+ The new thunar starts really fast), can you predict any future mega-breakage?

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2012-12-21 20:22:35)

Offline

#3 2012-12-22 00:23:34

ivanovnegro
Ivan #000000
From: unstable madness
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,432

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

^ Yes, if the user screws its setup.  ]:D

Honestly, should be fine. After the freeze you will get anyway the newest Thunar from regular Sid.

Ok, if it is for Waldorf, then, no idea, pinning is not my thing.

Offline

#4 2012-12-22 18:05:20

tlilja
Member
Registered: 2012-08-20
Posts: 10

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

Thanks for the tip. Tried this from Siduction repos but Thunar crashed every time I right-clicked on files or directories.

And thanks for the info on pinning, couldn't install Thunar without it.

Offline

#5 2012-12-22 18:38:14

donkeyotay
#! CrunchBanger
From: Everywhere
Registered: 2011-01-28
Posts: 192

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

Thanks for this, I have absolutely no need for this but I did it anyway smile
It worked for me once I'd pinned


I didn't say it was your fault... I said I was going to blame you.

Offline

#6 2012-12-23 12:38:29

letku
Member
From: Turku ,Finland
Registered: 2012-08-02
Posts: 26

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

Thanks DebCrunch, work's perfectly here, really love those tabs and now I also can delete straight without moving to trash, which was really annoying in old version. Mee happy big_smile

Offline

#7 2012-12-26 20:00:35

Marceau
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2012-01-09
Posts: 103

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

Just chiming in with thanks. Had been eying the update in the experimental repos, but trying by myself just led to broken packages. This did the trick easily and simply however. smile

Offline

#8 2012-12-27 18:15:11

TeoBigusGeekus
#! Die Hard
From: /Greece/Kastoria
Registered: 2012-04-28
Posts: 963

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

Thunar 1.6 is broken for me in Arch.
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=154339
If anyone has any idea I'd be obliged...


Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!
Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!
Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!
Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!

Offline

#9 2013-01-08 10:35:08

tlilja
Member
Registered: 2012-08-20
Posts: 10

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

Hmm, Thunar 1.6.2 seems to exhibit the same problem as I mentioned on my previous post on this topic, but not nearly as much as before. Now if I select multiple files and directories (i.e. 30 or more) Thunar crashes. Still no biggie, it's not daily I mass-delete files.

And heck, I'm not complaining since with Thunar 1.6.x I can access my Samsung Galaxy S3 without mtp-probing and such.

Offline

#10 2013-01-14 18:26:55

foozer
Member
Registered: 2013-01-14
Posts: 25

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

Gotta love that viking.

Mind telling me what your GTK theme is, OP?
EDIT: Never mind, I found out it's the default Waldorf theme!

Last edited by foozer (2013-01-14 20:59:13)

Offline

#11 2013-02-05 15:05:05

Resident Bot
#! Die Hard
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2012-02-17
Posts: 638

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

Followed the instructions and got this in terminal

The value 'experimental' is invalid for APT::Default-Release as such a release is not available in the sources

i am using Waldorf

Last edited by Resident Bot (2013-02-05 15:27:14)


Troll = not a fanatic
slave of #!  and arch

Offline

#12 2013-02-05 17:39:45

foozer
Member
Registered: 2013-01-14
Posts: 25

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

ChickenPie4Tea wrote:

Followed the instructions and got this in terminal

The value 'experimental' is invalid for APT::Default-Release as such a release is not available in the sources

i am using Waldorf

do

sudo apt-get update

first, then try again

Offline

#13 2013-02-05 19:18:45

Resident Bot
#! Die Hard
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2012-02-17
Posts: 638

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

@Foozer - yep that was it, thanks,  :8


Troll = not a fanatic
slave of #!  and arch

Offline

#14 2013-02-07 19:22:45

james0610
#! Member
Registered: 2013-02-03
Posts: 91

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

for some reason its not working for me. I get

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
thunar is already the newest version.
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
  libgsoap2 libvncserver0 linux-kbuild-3.2
Use 'apt-get autoremove' to remove them.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 409 not upgraded.

i added the experimental repo and ran sudo apt-get update and still nothing


"On The First Day, God Created Linux... And The Rest Was Easy"

Offline

#15 2013-02-07 19:25:46

ivanovnegro
Ivan #000000
From: unstable madness
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,432

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

If you people are on Stable or Testing, chances are high you all try to bork your system. Now, going out of this madness.

Offline

#16 2013-02-07 19:36:33

james0610
#! Member
Registered: 2013-02-03
Posts: 91

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

ivanovnegro wrote:

If you people are on Stable or Testing, chances are high you all try to bork your system. Now, going out of this madness.

i love to live life on the bleeding edge of things. Anyhow with weekly backups on my system it take all of 30mins to restart everything, which is no big deal smile


"On The First Day, God Created Linux... And The Rest Was Easy"

Offline

#17 2013-03-21 22:46:29

wallen
New Member
Registered: 2012-10-12
Posts: 5

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

After reading this thread I wanted to install Thunar again (been using spaceFM for a while) but I am having issues at upgrading to the last version of it.
I've modified my sources.list and it's correctly installing the current version as shown by the apt output:

Setting up thunar-data (1.6.2-1) ...
Setting up libthunarx-2-0 (1.6.2-1) ...
Setting up thunar (1.6.2-1) ...

What is weird is that when I try to run it I am prompted with the 2011 1.2.3 Thunar version (before installing the 1.6.2-1 my system was Thunar-free so I cannot really explain why this is happening). Does anyone have any idea?

Offline

#18 2013-03-22 01:46:39

user77
#! CrunchBanger
From: Dirty Denver
Registered: 2012-01-20
Posts: 161

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

Works perfectly, thanks.

Offline

#19 2013-03-25 20:01:20

SabreWolfy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2009-03-09
Posts: 1,285

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

@DebCrunch: Thanks smile This worked under Debian sid/unstable netinstall smile Very glad to be on Thunar 1.6.2. Looks like xfce4-panel updates were installed.

What prevents the whole system from using the experimental repo? When I do dist-upgrade, it won't upgrade everything from experimental? Is that what the preferences file does? Will thunar update from experimental from now on?

Last edited by SabreWolfy (2013-03-25 20:05:33)


Support #!Waldorf • Debian sid • Xubuntu • siduction • Peppermint • OpenBox • Xfce • LXDE •

Offline

#20 2013-03-25 21:28:17

SabreWolfy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2009-03-09
Posts: 1,285

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

I think my questions are answered here.


Support #!Waldorf • Debian sid • Xubuntu • siduction • Peppermint • OpenBox • Xfce • LXDE •

Offline

#21 2013-03-31 00:44:50

oaxacamatt
Member
From: PVD, N.A.
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 20

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

This has really preplexed me (not that it takes much mind you) but I can't get thunar 1.6.2 experimenatl to install using this strategy.  I am running up against many road blocks. 

I can introduce the debian experimental repository and apt-get update,  run the proper commands and THEN get the messages

   sudo apt-get -t experimental install thunar
   Reading package lists... Done
   Building dependency tree       
   Reading state information... Done
   thunar is already the newest version.
   0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 449 not upgraded.

Nada??

Any suggestions?

Offline

#22 2013-03-31 00:46:54

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: V-Ger
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,165
Website

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

^ With Experimental still enabled run

apt-cache policy thunar 

and post the results


VSIDO | Words That Build Or Destroy

I dev VSIDO

Offline

#23 2013-03-31 01:01:29

oaxacamatt
Member
From: PVD, N.A.
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 20

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

Check this out:

thunar:
  Installed: 1.2.3-5~crunchbang1
  Candidate: 1.2.3-5~crunchbang1
  Version table:
     1.6.2-1 0
          1 http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ experimental/main amd64 Packages
*** 1.2.3-5~crunchbang1 0
       1001 http://packages.crunchbang.org/waldorf/ waldorf/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     1.2.3-4+b1 0
        500 http://http.debian.net/debian/ wheezy/main amd64 Packages

How come I cannot seem to get Thunar 1.6.2 up and running then?
hmmmm...

Offline

#24 2013-03-31 01:13:25

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: V-Ger
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,165
Website

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

^ It looks fine

Post your /etc/apt/sources.list

and

etc/apt/preferences


VSIDO | Words That Build Or Destroy

I dev VSIDO

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#25 2013-03-31 01:22:59

oaxacamatt
Member
From: PVD, N.A.
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 20

Re: How to - Install Thunar 1.6.2

cat /etc/apt/sources.list
## CRUNCHBANG
## Compatible with Debian Wheezy, but use at your own risk.
deb http://packages.crunchbang.org/waldorf waldorf main
#deb-src http://packages.crunchbang.org/waldorf waldorf main

## DEBIAN
deb http://http.debian.net/debian wheezy main contrib non-free
#deb-src http://http.debian.net/debian wheezy main contrib non-free

## DEBIAN SECURITY
deb http://security.debian.org/ wheezy/updates main
#deb-src http://security.debian.org/ wheezy/updates main

## Debian Experimental wanted for Thunar 1.6.2
deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian experimental main

Actually
cat: etc/apt/preferences:
gives me this: No such file or directory
But I do have this file none the less...

Package: *
Pin: release a=waldorf
Pin-Priority: 1001

Package: *
Pin: release a=wheezy
Pin-Priority: 500

Last edited by oaxacamatt (2013-03-31 01:31:38)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo