SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#2101 2012-07-11 10:33:26

ElderV.LaCoste
#! Die Hard
From: Equarico
Registered: 2010-07-15
Posts: 817

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

S11 - Thank you for sharing this amazing Conky.  I am really enjoying it!  I am confused as to why I don't see it on the front page of CPS?!

2012_07_11_1342002651_1366x768_scrot.jpg

Last edited by ElderV.LaCoste (2012-07-11 10:35:05)


Things are not as they seem, nor are they otherwise.
- Lankavatara Sutra

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2102 2012-07-11 15:25:30

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: V-Ger
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,165
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

^ Very nice ElderV...  Love that look...


VSIDO | Words That Build Or Destroy

I dev VSIDO

Offline

#2103 2012-07-11 15:37:50

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

ElderV.LaCoste wrote:

S11 - Thank you for sharing this amazing Conky.  I am really enjoying it!  I am confused as to why I don't see it on the front page of CPS?!

Ooooooooooo beautiful.  Something looks familiar.  Can't quite place it.

I know: Sherlock Holmes - the latest film.
The analogue clock is a dead give-a-way.  big_smile

Donno, I was going to put it up at CPS ... then got caught up with other stuff and forgot.
But I have to admit, you make it look sexy with everything else there.

Last edited by Sector11 (2012-07-11 15:38:42)


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#2104 2012-07-11 17:32:45

ElderV.LaCoste
#! Die Hard
From: Equarico
Registered: 2010-07-15
Posts: 817

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

@ VastOne - Thanks.  All credit to Sector11 and his newly found Lua skills!

@ Sector11 - Well my nickname is Sexy Beast so...oh you said I made "it" look sexy!  Ha, ha, just kidding.  Seriously you should put it up on CPS (and DeviantArt for that matter).


Things are not as they seem, nor are they otherwise.
- Lankavatara Sutra

Offline

#2105 2012-07-11 18:41:25

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

ElderV.LaCoste wrote:

@ VastOne - Thanks.  All credit to Sector11 and his newly found Lua skills!

@ Sector11 - Well my nickname is Sexy Beast so...oh you said I made "it" look sexy!  Ha, ha, just kidding.  Seriously you should put it up on CPS (and DeviantArt for that matter).

The Sexy Beast huh ... your secret revealed: ElderV.LaSexyBeast.jpg
aamLW50L.jpg

OK, back to the lua script ... something in me says .... Mmmmmm, no, not right.

It's like this.  mrpeachy created the 24 hour clock. Then someone asked if it was possible to get 4 analog clocks in a conky. You know, sometimes you see a run of clocks on an international company's wall:

      Washington      London      Moscow      Tokyo

... again mrpeachy came through and created it in a lua script.  I saw the potential - OH YEA, something I had 'thought about for a while'.

But I had to go behind the scenes to pick mrpeachy's brain on how to get day name, numbers in there that left a little room for expansion.  So it's really his work, I just created the layout.

As I have said for a long time, "I'm a layout guy!"  The LUA code - if looked at by a lua script writer I'm certain would create headaches where I touched it.  roll

However in my own defence - it does work and looks great ... well, sexy on your part.
hmmmmmmmm code by a large part: mrpeachy - layout and code tweaking by 'what's his name'!

Yea, that could work  big_smile

I guess I'm just happy that someone else likes it enough to use as well.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#2106 2012-07-12 12:15:35

ElderV.LaCoste
#! Die Hard
From: Equarico
Registered: 2010-07-15
Posts: 817

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Ok then.  Thank you Mr. Peachy for sharing all of your superb skills with us. Without your Lua scripting Linux just wouldn't be nearly as much fun.

@ S11 - Still, excellent work and idea!  That is a real nice beast but I'm ready to drop that whole thing now lol!


Things are not as they seem, nor are they otherwise.
- Lankavatara Sutra

Offline

#2107 2012-07-12 14:49:32

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

ElderV.LaCoste wrote:

Ok then.  Thank you Mr. Peachy for sharing all of your superb skills with us. Without your Lua scripting Linux just wouldn't be nearly as much fun.

@ S11 - Still, excellent work and idea!  That is a real nice beast but I'm ready to drop that whole thing now lol!

I was just having a bit of fun me friend.  I look at you desktops and I have never been disappointed in the 'artistic' touch you have.

I agree with you, mrpeachy is a master.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#2108 2012-07-12 20:07:37

PackRat
#! Die Hard
From: USA
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 1,572

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Pretty standard stuff; added a cloud image from the Weather Channel site as background for weather conky:

aanjDNGy.jpg

Last edited by PackRat (2012-07-13 02:32:01)


"It does not require many words to speak the truth." - Chief Joseph, Nez Perce tribe

Offline

#2109 2012-07-12 22:56:01

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: V-Ger
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,165
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

^ That looks really good PackRat!  Nice job!


VSIDO | Words That Build Or Destroy

I dev VSIDO

Offline

#2110 2012-07-13 05:02:03

lwfitz
#! Die Hard
From: Monrovia, CA
Registered: 2012-01-19
Posts: 886
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

This laptop Im on has an integrated Intel graphics card. Is there any way to get gpu info from it and display it in conky?

Offline

#2111 2012-07-13 09:22:07

lwfitz
#! Die Hard
From: Monrovia, CA
Registered: 2012-01-19
Posts: 886
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Been playing around with Se7en11's conky and tweaked it a bit


tZXFhaA

Offline

#2112 2012-07-13 09:36:37

dk75
#! Junkie
Registered: 2012-06-14
Posts: 250

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

lwfitz wrote:

This laptop Im on has an integrated Intel graphics card. Is there any way to get gpu info from it and display it in conky?

Check sensors - one of ISA temp is your GPU temperature, so "${hwmon}" should work, but which one it is?
If you have no more readings than CPU temperature then try adding GRUB kernel parameter - "acpi_osi=Linux"; and reboot.
You could install "libsensors3" also and then do sensors-detect again.

Then monitor all temp sensors and run glxgears. One that rise is GPU. Unless, only temp1 rises, which is CPU, then it means that your GPU have no sensor (many integrated haven't).


Debian Sid (Minted) x86_64/3.12-10, Conky 2.0_pre, Xorg 7.7/1.15.0, KDE 4.11.5, Intel X3100
Lenovo T61, HITACHI HTS722010K9SA00 100GB, WDC_WD5000BEVT 500GB
Linux user No.: 483055 | Conky Pitstop

Offline

#2113 2012-07-13 15:57:15

ronaldo99
#! Member
From: Rio das Ostras,Brazil
Registered: 2009-09-07
Posts: 60

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Hi-I want to show currency conversion in my Conky setup.
If someone has this already setup can they post the details - I am looking for £ to brazilian reais.

Thanks

Offline

#2114 2012-07-13 16:17:18

lwfitz
#! Die Hard
From: Monrovia, CA
Registered: 2012-01-19
Posts: 886
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

dk75 wrote:

Check sensors - one of ISA temp is your GPU temperature, so "${hwmon}" should work, but which one it is?
If you have no more readings than CPU temperature then try adding GRUB kernel parameter - "acpi_osi=Linux"; and reboot.
You could install "libsensors3" also and then do sensors-detect again.

Then monitor all temp sensors and run glxgears. One that rise is GPU. Unless, only temp1 rises, which is CPU, then it means that your GPU have no sensor (many integrated haven't).

Thanks buddy....... looks like Im outa luck on this one

Offline

#2115 2012-07-13 16:24:44

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

ronaldo99 wrote:

Hi-I want to show currency conversion in my Conky setup.
If someone has this already setup can they post the details - I am looking for £ to brazilian reais.

Thanks

Excellent idea....

wget -O $HOME/brazil.xml http://themoneyconverter.com/rss-feed/GBP/rss.xml

will save the current rates for British Pounds to ~/Brazil.xml

Where you'll see (I included the line numbers, those you don't see):

94      <title>BRL/GBP</title>
95      <link>http://themoneyconverter.com/GBP/BRL.aspx</link>
96      <pubDate>Fri, 13 Jul 2012 16:10:05 GMT</pubDate>
97      <description>1 British Pound Sterling = 3.16660 Brazilian Real</description>

Now getting that into conky will require the skilled work of a bash/python/lua/perl/etc etc programmer.

I'd like the same for different currencies ... but yea!  Great Idea!!!!
Xing fingers someone sees this.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#2116 2012-07-13 16:35:36

arclance
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-03-29
Posts: 987

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Sector11 wrote:

Now getting that into conky will require the skilled work of a bash/python/lua/perl/etc etc programmer.

I am not a skilled bash programmer but this was not very complicated
It works the same way I used to get my cpu temps so I had a good example to go off of.

wget --timeout=0.75 --tries=1 -O - http://themoneyconverter.com/rss-feed/GBP/rss.xml | grep "Brazilian Real" | cut -c 47-53

Its output looks like this.

3.16660

The "--timeout=0.75 --tries=1" keeps wget from locking up conky if the website does not respond within 0.75 seconds.

Last edited by arclance (2012-07-13 16:37:07)

Offline

#2117 2012-07-13 16:48:44

lwfitz
#! Die Hard
From: Monrovia, CA
Registered: 2012-01-19
Posts: 886
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

I totally read ronaldo99's post wrong and then was completely thrown by your responses...... I think it might be a long day........


So since I cant get GPU info from this one, does anyone know a way to show my current vuze downloads?

Offline

#2118 2012-07-13 17:24:36

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

arclance wrote:

I am not a skilled bash programmer but this was not very complicated
It works the same way I used to get my cpu temps so I had a good example to go off of.

You get your cpu tempos with wget?
Oops! grep ... OK!

Well, you're skilled enough:

  1 £ = R${execi 600 wget --timeout=0.75 --tries=1 -O - http://themoneyconverter.com/rss-feed/GBP/rss.xml | grep "Brazilian Real" | cut -c 47-53}

  1 R = £${execi 600 wget --timeout=0.75 --tries=1 -O - http://themoneyconverter.com/rss-feed/BRL/rss.xml | grep "British Pound Sterling" | cut -c 39-45}

... works like a charm.

aapYjNDw.jpg

@ ronaldo99 There you go - an arclance / s11 combo.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#2119 2012-07-13 17:29:03

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

lwfitz wrote:

I totally read ronaldo99's post wrong and then was completely thrown by your responses...... I think it might be a long day........

So since I cant get GPU info from this one, does anyone know a way to show my current vuze downloads?

Don't give up on that GPU just yet...

Can't help with vuze though, I've never heard of it until now.  Looks interesting.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#2120 2012-07-13 17:30:52

arclance
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-03-29
Posts: 987

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Sector11 wrote:

You get your cpu tempos with wget?
Oops! grep ... OK!

I used to, when they were in my .conkrc.
They are done this way in my lua script now.

local sensors = io.popen("sensors")
local sensorData = sensors:read("*a")
sensors:close()
sensors = nil
--# convert text data to list
sensorData = sensorData:gsub(",",""):gsub("\n",'","')
sensorData = assert(loadstring('return {"'..sensorData..'"}'))
sensorData = sensorData()
--# end convert text data to list
local core0_temp = sensorData[4]:sub(18,24)
local core1_temp = sensorData[5]:sub(18,24)
local core2_temp = sensorData[6]:sub(18,24)
local core3_temp = sensorData[7]:sub(18,24)
local cpu_ext_temp = sensorData[27]:sub(17,23)
local cpu_voltage = sensorData[11]:sub(16,23)
local cpuFan_speed = sensorData[20]:sub(15,23)
local caseFan1_speed = sensorData[19]:sub(15,23)
local caseFan2_speed = sensorData[22]:sub(15,23)
local case_temp = sensorData[24]:sub(17,23)

If you want to get data for more than one conversion (for the same starting currency) it would be better to use a script since you only need to download the data once that way.

I did a bash script since a python script would be overkill for just one conversion and would have taken longer to write.

Last edited by arclance (2012-07-13 18:03:57)

Offline

#2121 2012-07-13 18:12:16

ElderV.LaCoste
#! Die Hard
From: Equarico
Registered: 2010-07-15
Posts: 817

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Sector11 wrote:

I was just having a bit of fun me friend.  I look at you desktops and I have never been disappointed in the 'artistic' touch you have.

I agree with you, mrpeachy is a master.

Yeah I know of course smile  I got your 24Hour clock up and running too.  I am really enjoying it:

2012_07_13_1342200825_1366x768_scrot.jpg


Things are not as they seem, nor are they otherwise.
- Lankavatara Sutra

Offline

#2122 2012-07-13 18:49:28

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

ElderV.LaCoste wrote:

Yeah I know of course smile  I got your 24Hour clock up and running too.  I am really enjoying it:

WOW!!!!!!!!  That's awesome!
You're a FluxBox Ambassador as well.

BTW, stay tuned, I came up with another idea for the "Chronograph" last night ... now all I need it time.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#2123 2012-07-13 19:02:02

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

arclance wrote:
Sector11 wrote:

You get your cpu tempos with wget?
Oops! grep ... OK!

I used to, when they were in my .conkrc.
They are done this way in my lua script now.

If you want to get data for more than one conversion (for the same starting currency) it would be better to use a script since you only need to download the data once that way.

I did a bash script since a python script would be overkill for just one conversion and would have taken longer to write.

Well, it is obvious you get more out of 'sensors' than I do.  big_smile

I have a very basic bash script - I got the 'wget' idea from Teo's weather scripts (Hi Teo smile ) so my basic script looks like this:

coin

#!/bin/bash

wget -O $HOME/Conky/coin/cad_ar.xml http://themoneyconverter.com/rss-feed/CAD/rss.xml
wget -O $HOME/Conky/coin/ar_cad.xml http://themoneyconverter.com/rss-feed/ARS/rss.xml

exit

But the conky I just created looks like this:

TEXT
 ${color8}CAD=ARS ${color7} ${execi 600 wget --timeout=0.75 --tries=1 -O - http://themoneyconverter.com/rss-feed/CAD/rss.xml | grep "Argentine Peso" | cut -c 40-47}  \
${color3}ARS=CAD ${color7} ${execi 600 wget --timeout=0.75 --tries=1 -O - http://themoneyconverter.com/rss-feed/ARS/rss.xml | grep "Canadian Dollar" | cut -c 39-45} ${color}

aaw2yJBS.jpg
I'm only interested in the CAD=ARS part, but hey, it's easy enough to add the flip side of the coin. roll pun alert!


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#2124 2012-07-13 19:17:41

arclance
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-03-29
Posts: 987

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Sector11 wrote:

Well, it is obvious you get more out of 'sensors' than I do.  big_smile

Yes on this computer I get a lot of data from sensors, I don't even know what all of them are.

sensors
coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Physical id 0:  +35.0°C  (high = +80.0°C, crit = +98.0°C)
Core 0:         +31.0°C  (high = +80.0°C, crit = +98.0°C)
Core 1:         +29.0°C  (high = +80.0°C, crit = +98.0°C)
Core 2:         +32.0°C  (high = +80.0°C, crit = +98.0°C)
Core 3:         +35.0°C  (high = +80.0°C, crit = +98.0°C)

nct6776-isa-0290
Adapter: ISA adapter
Vcore:         +0.91 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +1.74 V)
in1:           +1.03 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +0.00 V)  ALARM
AVCC:          +3.41 V  (min =  +2.98 V, max =  +3.63 V)
+3.3V:         +3.41 V  (min =  +2.98 V, max =  +3.63 V)
in4:           +1.02 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +0.00 V)  ALARM
in5:           +2.04 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +0.00 V)  ALARM
3VSB:          +3.41 V  (min =  +2.98 V, max =  +3.63 V)
Vbat:          +3.31 V  (min =  +2.70 V, max =  +3.30 V)  ALARM
Chassis1:      836 RPM  (min =  500 RPM)
CPU:           910 RPM  (min =  500 RPM)
fan3:            0 RPM  (min =    0 RPM)
Chassis2:     1267 RPM  (min =  500 RPM)
fan5:            0 RPM  (min =    0 RPM)  ALARM
SYSTIN:        +24.0°C  (high =  +0.0°C, hyst =  +0.0°C)  ALARM  sensor = thermistor
CPUTIN:        +82.0°C  (high = +81.0°C, hyst = +76.0°C)  sensor = thermistor
AUXTIN:        +59.5°C  (high = +80.0°C, hyst = +75.0°C)  sensor = thermistor
PECI Agent 0:  +36.5°C  
cpu0_vid:     +0.000 V
intrusion0:   OK
intrusion1:   ALARM

I wish I knew what they all were so I could calibrate the alarm limits but I have not had any luck finding anything out about most of them.

I only know which fan is which because I unplugged them one at a time to see which one went away.

On my other computer I get much less data from sensors.

sensors
coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Core 0:      +45.0°C  (high = +78.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)  
Core 1:      +44.0°C  (high = +78.0°C, crit = +100.0°C) 
Sector11 wrote:

But the conky I just created looks like this:

TEXT
 ${color8}CAD=ARS ${color7} ${execi 600 wget --timeout=0.75 --tries=1 -O - http://themoneyconverter.com/rss-feed/CAD/rss.xml | grep "Argentine Peso" | cut -c 40-47}  \
${color3}ARS=CAD ${color7} ${execi 600 wget --timeout=0.75 --tries=1 -O - http://themoneyconverter.com/rss-feed/ARS/rss.xml | grep "Canadian Dollar" | cut -c 39-45} ${color}

...
I'm only interested in the CAD=ARS part, but hey, it's easy enough to add the flip side of the coin. roll pun alert!

Your conky looks good, no need to make any changes.
A real script is really only an improvement if you want to do something like get the value of the Euro in more than 1 other currency.

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2125 2012-07-13 20:34:05

arclance
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-03-29
Posts: 987

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

I posted an update about the changes I am making to my iCalendar conky script in its thread.

The big change is that the output of the script will now be drawn with a lua script instead of ${execp}.

This slightly reduces cpu use and allows for the new multicalendar output to work in any conky without extensive user modification of the script.

There is a working example script posted in the thread if anyone is interested in looking at it.

Last edited by arclance (2012-07-13 20:34:27)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo