SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2011-12-02 20:28:18

Ragnarok
#! Member

Hello, #!

Hello,

I'm new to the Linux world. I've been using Ubuntu on and off for the past year, but I never really felt "at home" when I used it.
Everything was already preconfigured, automated and if you tried to change one thing you would break ten others.
I didn't like not knowing how my system worked and how everything was hidden behind a pretty UI.
(Ubuntu is still an awesome system and it's amazing what Canonical's accomplished, but it's just not for some people.)

So, a few days ago I decided I wanted to switch to a new distro and breakup with W*****s for good. I've know about CrunchBang for awhile and I thought it would be a perfect distro to start learning how Linux systems work while still having a stable system I can use daily.
Note: While I think W*****s is a horrible OS, I still think it can be a useful tool at times.

I'm sooo~ loving #! so far. I finally feel like I'm "at home". I can configure things how I want and only install the packages I need. I feel like this is an awesome distro to get familiar with how Linux systems work while having the stability Debian.

^I know stories like this are extremely common, but it just so happens that it's true for me, so there's nothing I can do about it smile

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

About me:
(To give a basic image of myself -->)17, Male, Orlando, FL. (U.S) Height: 5'7" Weight: ~125lbs/~56.5kg

Nothing much to say. I've enjoyed computers and gadgets since I was little. I truly find modern technology fascinating.

I want to study computer science and will hopefully be attending college next year (I have yet to set anything up; I'm still in school.)
I plan on attending Seminole State for two years to get my AA and then transfer over to UCF, where I want to get my bachelors and hopefully masters.