SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2010-08-19 12:51:20

Hannibal666
Member
Registered: 2010-08-14
Posts: 11

Problems iceweasel and fglrx

Hi to all,

I installed the fglrx-Driver from the debian sources. ( Did it with this http://wiki.debian.org/ATIProprietary  )

After reboot everything seems to be ok. But when I started iceweasel. There are nice graphical errors. For example the forumpage ist totally black and when I moved mouse over the "black" some of the links appeared.
The surprising thing is, that is errors only appear in iceweasel. When I m using Midori there are no problems at any webpage.

Has someone an idea why the errors just appear in iceweasel?

Greetings
Frank


For Those About to Rock We Salute You

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2010-08-19 14:12:54

anonymous
The Mystery Member
From: Arch Linux Forums
Registered: 2008-11-29
Posts: 9,418

Re: Problems iceweasel and fglrx

Have you tried Firefox? They're mostly the same browser, so itd interesting to know if it happens there too.

Offline

#3 2010-08-19 16:16:27

Hannibal666
Member
Registered: 2010-08-14
Posts: 11

Re: Problems iceweasel and fglrx

If I have some free time this evening, i will try and report results here.

Greetings

Frank

-------------------------------------------------------

Testresults:

Getting instructions from this page http://techpatterns.com/forums/about1435.html I installed firefox. I tryed varios webpages, but no graphical error appeared in firefox .......
Iceweasel still causes this "nice" errors. Very strange.... but it seems to be only an iceweael-effect.

Last edited by Hannibal666 (2010-08-19 17:27:43)


For Those About to Rock We Salute You

Offline

#4 2010-08-19 22:31:58

ShaneMac
Member
Registered: 2010-07-24
Posts: 11

Re: Problems iceweasel and fglrx

I had the same problem, I just went back to the Radeon drivers.  They are actually faster then the flgrx drivers unless you need them for 3d games etc.

Offline

#5 2010-08-19 22:45:07

Hannibal666
Member
Registered: 2010-08-14
Posts: 11

Re: Problems iceweasel and fglrx

That maybe right, but with radeon or radeonhd i have problems too. For example i can't watch flashvideo with
fullscreen.... so I keep fglrx on my system and don't use iceweasel wink

So that's no real prob for me, but I think its interesting that iceweasel has problems with fglrx. Seems to be a bug.

Greeting Frank


For Those About to Rock We Salute You

Offline

#6 2010-08-19 23:05:40

FiniteStateMachine
Part of the Machine
From: Ontario, Canada
Registered: 2009-06-29
Posts: 1,489

Re: Problems iceweasel and fglrx

I need fglrx for my card to work at all, and I have the exact same problems as you.
In fact, i have problems installing firefox too, so I'm kind of stuck with it.

I did find a solution, that seems to work 99% of the time.
Assuming your on openbox statler, you need to enable compositing. And suddenly no more black fragment crap.


just call me...
~FSM~

Offline

#7 2010-08-19 23:05:47

anonymous
The Mystery Member
From: Arch Linux Forums
Registered: 2008-11-29
Posts: 9,418

Re: Problems iceweasel and fglrx

BTW instead of using the fglrx from a repo, you could try manually installing the latest Catalyst drivers.

Offline

#8 2010-08-19 23:17:53

FiniteStateMachine
Part of the Machine
From: Ontario, Canada
Registered: 2009-06-29
Posts: 1,489

Re: Problems iceweasel and fglrx

(That's what i've done anon, it's no different sadly sad )


just call me...
~FSM~

Offline

#9 2010-08-20 00:14:37

FiniteStateMachine
Part of the Machine
From: Ontario, Canada
Registered: 2009-06-29
Posts: 1,489

Re: Problems iceweasel and fglrx

I can now confirm that it is relegated to ice weasel. With 64bit firefox, there is no issue at all.


just call me...
~FSM~

Offline

#10 2010-08-20 00:17:56

shueddue
Member
Registered: 2010-08-17
Posts: 25

Re: Problems iceweasel and fglrx

i've got exactly the same problem after installing fglrx (the .bin from ati.com).
radeon drivers wasn't a solution for me since i need 3d for playing eve online.

these single line did the trick for me:

sudo aticonfig --set-pcs-str=DDX,ForceXAA,TRUE

its putting fglrx back into an older 2d rendering mode. a bit slower but faultless; the black boxes are gone.
well at least for me...  hopefully it will work for you guys too!

Last edited by shueddue (2010-08-20 00:20:57)

Offline

#11 2010-08-20 00:22:09

FiniteStateMachine
Part of the Machine
From: Ontario, Canada
Registered: 2009-06-29
Posts: 1,489

Re: Problems iceweasel and fglrx

shueddue, thats handy... but is the issue only in iceweasel?
If so, i'd prefer to use regular firefox, for the speed boost.


just call me...
~FSM~

Offline

#12 2010-08-20 00:27:25

shueddue
Member
Registered: 2010-08-17
Posts: 25

Re: Problems iceweasel and fglrx

hmm i don't know if the boxes also appear in firefox, but.. it's exactly the same browser right? hmm

Offline

#13 2010-08-20 01:16:19

FiniteStateMachine
Part of the Machine
From: Ontario, Canada
Registered: 2009-06-29
Posts: 1,489

Re: Problems iceweasel and fglrx

well for everyone else (from what i understand, and from what i've experienced), iceweasel is the only browser that has the problems. regular firefox does not, and neither do other browsers.
So if this black crud shows up in your other applications, or in firefox for you or other browsers, then I can advocate using your solution.
However if this is only an iceweasel issue, it seems better to simply use firefox or an alternative browser.


just call me...
~FSM~

Offline

#14 2010-08-20 10:26:24

Hannibal666
Member
Registered: 2010-08-14
Posts: 11

Re: Problems iceweasel and fglrx

FiniteStateMachine wrote:

I can now confirm that it is relegated to ice weasel. With 64bit firefox, there is no issue at all.

Does someone know, if this is "bug" appears in "normal" debian as well or in 32bit-Version of Statler? Whats about the XFCE-Version?

I'm just asking, so that we can send some informations to developmentteam. I would test this myself, but at the moment my time is short, becouse of some exams during the next weeks.

Have a nice day

Greetings
Frank


For Those About to Rock We Salute You

Offline

#15 2010-08-20 11:25:27

FiniteStateMachine
Part of the Machine
From: Ontario, Canada
Registered: 2009-06-29
Posts: 1,489

Re: Problems iceweasel and fglrx

I can confirm that it appears in 64bit xfce as well. Only time it seems to appear (lless often) is with compositing in openbox, or using another compositing manager, like compiz.


just call me...
~FSM~

Offline

#16 2010-08-20 11:58:33

Hannibal666
Member
Registered: 2010-08-14
Posts: 11

Re: Problems iceweasel and fglrx

Sorry, but i have some problem with my english. sad

I understand, that the graphical errors appear in Xfce 64bit too.

But i dont unterstand, what you mean with this

FiniteStateMachine wrote:

Only time it seems to appear (lless often) is with compositing in openbox, or using another compositing manager, like compiz.

Greetings

Frank


For Those About to Rock We Salute You

Offline

#17 2010-08-20 12:46:42

FiniteStateMachine
Part of the Machine
From: Ontario, Canada
Registered: 2009-06-29
Posts: 1,489

Re: Problems iceweasel and fglrx

Compositing is an option in openbox. If you turn it on, you get fancy shadows and transparency.
Look at my menu on the far right to see the option i'm talking
tNWE4eg

I found when it is enabled, the black errors go away, and i only notice them once in a blue moon in my bookmarks menu.


just call me...
~FSM~

Offline

#18 2010-08-20 14:25:09

Hannibal666
Member
Registered: 2010-08-14
Posts: 11

Re: Problems iceweasel and fglrx

After reading your post, i enabled compositing and opened iceweasel and there are no errors smile
Very nice, but interesting that just iceweasel seems have problem with disabled compositing and installed fglrx.

Greetings

Frank

BTW: The image was very usefull for me. Thx


For Those About to Rock We Salute You

Offline

#19 2010-08-21 17:43:19

Unia
#! Octo-portal-pussy
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-07-17
Posts: 3,956

Re: Problems iceweasel and fglrx

Same problem here


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres
Github

I am a #! forum moderator. Feel free to send me a PM with any question you have!

Online

#20 2010-08-21 23:40:19

IsTI37
#! Member
From: Klausenburg, Romania
Registered: 2010-07-26
Posts: 52
Website

Re: Problems iceweasel and fglrx

Get the Mozilla build of Firefox.
Iceweasel starts to get buggy.


PNIFOC - Programming Naked in Front of Computer

Offline

#21 2010-08-23 07:47:50

bozhkov
#! Junkie
Registered: 2009-12-29
Posts: 463

Re: Problems iceweasel and fglrx

Not nice of it, having bought a Ati-powered laptop just two days ago. smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo