SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2010-08-11 10:29:59

droes
Member
Registered: 2010-04-01
Posts: 34

[Fixed] No sudo priveliges

Hello everyone, just installed Statler and to my surprise everything worked out of the box, except for my keyboard settings. The fix was found easily, but it seems there is a problem with my permissions(so I cannot fix the keyboard issue). If I try sudo the terminal tells me I can`t do this and that it`ll be reported.
Does anyone know how to fix this?

Last edited by droes (2010-08-11 12:16:25)

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2010-08-11 11:49:22

luvva_cuppa
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-09-06
Posts: 214

Re: [Fixed] No sudo priveliges

This may seem very basic, but given that you have changed your keyboard settings, are you sure  the right password is being inputted? I had a similar problem opening synaptic in the terminal. It kept on refusing my password. After changing the keyboard settings and a reboot it started to behave.


"In spite of the cost of living, it's still popular."
Kathleen Norris

Offline

#3 2010-08-11 12:06:01

droes
Member
Registered: 2010-04-01
Posts: 34

Re: [Fixed] No sudo priveliges

The password is correct, it doesn't give me the standard wrong password error. It seems I somehow didn't give myself admin rights.

Last edited by droes (2010-08-11 12:06:22)

Offline

#4 2010-08-11 12:12:24

mattatron
#! Member
From: London
Registered: 2009-07-19
Posts: 96

Re: [Fixed] No sudo priveliges

Your user account is probably not added to sudo
  - To fix use visudo as root and add: youruser ALL=(ALL) ALL

I had this on my initial install too > Alpha 2 initial experience


Registered Linux user #503837

Offline

#5 2010-08-11 12:16:00

droes
Member
Registered: 2010-04-01
Posts: 34

Re: [Fixed] No sudo priveliges

That fixed it, thanks!

Offline

#6 2010-09-04 18:05:54

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 3,030
Website

Re: [Fixed] No sudo priveliges

Or maybe just add yourself to the admin group, which is allowed to run sudo commands?
Reboot into recovery mode and run

adduser <username> admin

John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
#! forum moderator

Offline

#7 2010-09-04 21:15:47

wuy
#! Member
Registered: 2009-02-05
Posts: 76

Re: [Fixed] No sudo priveliges

John, I sent a PM to you but I'll post here to clarify. In Debian, the sudo group is sudo, not admin as in Ubuntu.
To add oneself to the sudo group one can run in single user mode (or make sure there are no running processes for the user to be edited) usermod -a -G sudo <user>
or as you said in maybe a simpler way, adduser <user> sudo

Offline

#8 2010-09-08 04:43:41

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 3,030
Website

Re: [Fixed] No sudo priveliges

^I was surprised to see how different the Ubuntu and Debian versions of /etc/sudoers are. In Ubuntu there's a possible "sudo" group which can run root commands with no password, and the "admin" group for the normal password sudo. In Debian, apart from the "sudo" group instead of Ubuntu's "admin", I found my individual username had also been added like this.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
#! forum moderator

Offline

#9 2010-09-10 13:20:22

custard
New Member
Registered: 2010-01-16
Posts: 4

Re: [Fixed] No sudo priveliges

Hi all,

I didn't want to start a new feedback thread so thought I'd add to this one. Dodgy sudo privileges were the only problem that I had on install, everything else seems to be running really well. Solution above fixed sudo privileges.

I'm going to poke around and install some bits so will post if anything comes up. Seems great so far!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo