SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2009-02-15 15:55:03

The_Doctor
New Member
Registered: 2009-02-15
Posts: 2

SSH and Thunar

If you use Thunar , you know you can't connect to a ssh directory .

I find a solution on

http://www.commandlinefu.com/

Install sshfs :

sudo apt-get install sshfs

      Use :

Mount

 sshfs name@server:/path/to/folder /path/to/mount/point

And go to the mount point with thunar for copy/delete/past files on your other PC .


Umount :

 fusermount -u  /path/to/mount/point

Source : http://fuse.sourceforge.net/sshfs.html

[Sorry for the english , i'm french]

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2009-02-15 16:24:22

Mehall
#! Die Hard
From: Scotland, Cold
Registered: 2009-01-17
Posts: 850
Website

Re: SSH and Thunar

Your english is fine, and your implementation is superb.

I've just apt-got sshfs, and I plan on using it frequently.

Now to find a windows implementation for those times I'm stuck using Microsoft: BSOD.


Ex-KDE user.
Collects old PC's (Coz he can't afford new ones =P)
Crunchbang @ Distrowatch
My Blog (updated infrequently, and on the #! Planet too.)

Offline

#3 2009-02-15 17:35:08

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,057
Website

Re: SSH and Thunar

Hello The_Doctor smile

Thank you for providing this tip. I use sshfs everyday and I swear by it; however, I never thought to post about it, doh! Thank you again and welcome to the forums.

Offline

#4 2009-02-15 17:40:17

Mehall
#! Die Hard
From: Scotland, Cold
Registered: 2009-01-17
Posts: 850
Website

Re: SSH and Thunar

Philip:

how big is it? (I never really looked when installing...) if it's not too bad, I'd say it's something to consider by default in .03

i certainly use it mroe often than fontypython, which is fragging HUGE


Ex-KDE user.
Collects old PC's (Coz he can't afford new ones =P)
Crunchbang @ Distrowatch
My Blog (updated infrequently, and on the #! Planet too.)

Offline

#5 2009-02-15 17:45:33

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,057
Website

Re: SSH and Thunar

Mehall wrote:

how big is it?

It is relatively small, not sure about including it by default though? Hmm, I will give it some thought.

Offline

#6 2009-02-15 17:50:50

Mehall
#! Die Hard
From: Scotland, Cold
Registered: 2009-01-17
Posts: 850
Website

Re: SSH and Thunar

it's useful. Ever so useful.

Find me a regular Linux user who doesn't use ssh.

And find me the number who get annoyed with sftp, etc.

when I found out about this, I thought it was a godsend.

As I said: more useful than fontypython wink


Ex-KDE user.
Collects old PC's (Coz he can't afford new ones =P)
Crunchbang @ Distrowatch
My Blog (updated infrequently, and on the #! Planet too.)

Offline

#7 2009-02-15 18:04:45

The_Doctor
New Member
Registered: 2009-02-15
Posts: 2

Re: SSH and Thunar

corenominal wrote:

Hello The_Doctor smile

Thank you for providing this tip. I use sshfs everyday and I swear by it; however, I never thought to post about it, doh! Thank you again and welcome to the forums.

Thank you but I'm not new on the crunchbanglinux forum , I was on the old wink .

Is it possible to dev a script  for use sshfs in a window ? I don't use window anymore for other things but for sftp and the new user of crunchbang it's could be very helpful .

Offline

#8 2009-02-16 14:35:27

Nik_Doof
#! Junkie
Registered: 2008-12-13
Posts: 361
Website

Re: SSH and Thunar

I do this on my machines, but my user is a member of the fuse group and then in the autostart.sh mount it under ~/ssh/

Offline

#9 2009-02-16 14:48:32

Mehall
#! Die Hard
From: Scotland, Cold
Registered: 2009-01-17
Posts: 850
Website

Re: SSH and Thunar

Nik_Doof wrote:

I do this on my machines, but my user is a member of the fuse group and then in the autostart.sh mount it under ~/ssh/


I don't like doing that as I don't always need the folders, and I have several which, if i were to automount one, I'd do them all, but I rarely use one or two of them.


Ex-KDE user.
Collects old PC's (Coz he can't afford new ones =P)
Crunchbang @ Distrowatch
My Blog (updated infrequently, and on the #! Planet too.)

Offline

#10 2009-02-16 20:56:08

8mihi
New Member
Registered: 2009-02-16
Posts: 1

Re: SSH and Thunar

Hi - new to #! CL for just a few weeks and am greatly impressed. Great work !

Many thanks to The_Doctor ! Great tip, concisely written and worked first time. Had an ssh mount going within a couple minutes.

With some others, I wanted to add my vote for moving sshfs up the list to be considered part of the 'default' install. It's nearly an indispensable tool at this point, imho, but I also understand the need fight distro 'bloat creep'.

Offline

#11 2009-02-18 19:54:17

djakku
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2008-12-09
Posts: 27

Re: SSH and Thunar

Hello and merci beaucoup pour l'info. wink
I had no problem connecting to my ssh host but do I need to set a special permission in order to write in it? I can't create files or folders with sshfs unless they are in my host/home/user/ directory.
I want to create www server and in /home/www/
Any advices?
Or should I just create a www user and sshmount its directory? (it seems smarter now that I think about it)

Oh and this is my terminal input

sshfs djakku@djakku.ath.cx:/ ~/oshiro

Last edited by djakku (2009-02-18 20:00:03)


eeepc-901 crunchbang with eeepc-kernel 2.6.27-8-eeepc

Offline

#12 2009-03-03 00:30:00

sirwilliamthenice
New Member
Registered: 2009-03-02
Posts: 9

Re: SSH and Thunar

Just agreeing with most of these posts.. I found that command also, and it has made my life a dream.. I have used sshfs and have made a little bash script that mounts the directory and subsequently open up my file manager. After I put that in my menu in open box, file instantly became easier.

Especially now that I have set up password free ssh login from my laptop.

Offline

#13 2009-03-03 07:52:47

pitje
#! Junkie
From: me to you
Registered: 2009-02-10
Posts: 437
Website

Re: SSH and Thunar

corenominal wrote:

Hello The_Doctor smile

Thank you for providing this tip. I use sshfs everyday and I swear by it; however, I never thought to post about it, doh! Thank you again and welcome to the forums.

ghehehe, same here smile
super-useful!


oh yeah? well, your momma dresses you funny and you need a mouse to delete files

Offline

#14 2009-04-17 02:12:14

fhsm
#! Junkie
From: New Hampshire, USA
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 445

Re: SSH and Thunar

for old fashion ftp

curlftpfs ftp://username:password@example.com ~/someplace/local/remote

Offline

#15 2009-11-15 21:25:30

achristoffersen
#! Junkie
Registered: 2009-03-23
Posts: 354

Re: SSH and Thunar

sirwilliamthenice wrote:

(...)I have used sshfs and have made a little bash script that mounts the directory and subsequently open up my file manager. After I put that in my menu in open box, (...)

Could you post an example? Nautilus' ability to connect to a server is actually the only feature I envy my ubuntu friends :-)

Offline

#16 2010-01-06 20:47:53

monkeybritt
#! Junkie
From: Nowhere, Indiana
Registered: 2009-10-17
Posts: 288
Website

Re: SSH and Thunar

f-ing just what i've been hunting works with pcmanfm too of course


failure is only a negative way to describe a learning experience.
i am constantly learning. smile

Offline

#17 2010-01-06 21:03:15

monkeybritt
#! Junkie
From: Nowhere, Indiana
Registered: 2009-10-17
Posts: 288
Website

Re: SSH and Thunar

i use ssh to access media with vlc does anyone know if that is the best protocol for simple at home sharing, smb sucks and lags. sshfs works fantastic i just didnt know if streaming would in any way be detrimental to sshfs.

also for copying over files through sh i use midnight commander it works great as long as there are no spaces in dir and ' in file names

Last edited by monkeybritt (2010-01-06 21:05:12)


failure is only a negative way to describe a learning experience.
i am constantly learning. smile

Offline

#18 2013-11-27 13:54:32

adRn
New Member
Registered: 2013-01-22
Posts: 9

Re: SSH and Thunar

what's the difference with ....?

# mount ssh-server-addres:ssh-path local-empty-folder

Only that you need to configure server's exportfs and nfs-common. But, actually this other way is faster if you're transfering lots of big files.


How are we going to explain the future generations that "it was good for economy" when they'll be unable to farm their soils, breath some fresh air or drink the water?...

Offline

#19 2013-11-27 14:02:08

iann
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2010-09-10
Posts: 708

Re: SSH and Thunar

sshfs uses a fair bit of CPU, but with multiple cores that shouldn't be a problem for streaming.  Otherwise it is brilliant for this sort of small-scale network device access.

Offline

#20 2014-03-05 16:06:00

pandroidanaroid
Member
Registered: 2014-02-22
Posts: 19

Re: SSH and Thunar

Thank you so much for posting this. I was breaking my head trying to mount OpenShift so that I may edit my wordpress site that's on it easily. Very simple. Thanks a ton!

And I always preferred this even for regular servers as it's much easier to live edit files using a GUI text editor than on CLI remotely.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo