SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2008-12-24 11:40:30

marc
Member
From: catalonia
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 26

keyboard layout

hello,

is there any easy way to change the keyboard layout from the menus? i have set spanish keyboard, but i'd like to use US keyboard layout.

if that is not easyly doable from the menus, then please tell me which files should i modify. i have browsed and modified in /etc/X11 and /usr/share/.../gdm without success.

TIA.

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2008-12-24 14:45:57

swj
Eagle Eyes
From: USA
Registered: 2008-11-29
Posts: 103

Re: keyboard layout

marc wrote:

hello,

is there any easy way to change the keyboard layout from the menus? i have set spanish keyboard, but i'd like to use US keyboard layout.

if that is not easyly doable from the menus, then please tell me which files should i modify. i have browsed and modified in /etc/X11 and /usr/share/.../gdm without success.

TIA.

Is this what you are looking for?

http://crunchbanglinux.org/forums/topic … board-map/

Offline

#3 2008-12-24 23:18:59

marc
Member
From: catalonia
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 26

Re: keyboard layout

thanks,

swj wrote:

yes, somehow. i'd like to know how to have the US keyboard at bootup (not only inside openbox), but anyhow, it's great now. thanks!

Offline

#4 2009-01-10 00:22:31

marc
Member
From: catalonia
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 26

Re: keyboard layout

so far, swj's solution is fine, but i'd like more. most bloated desktops (kde, gnome, linpus's xfce, etc) allow
to change keyboard layout *on the fly*. but apparently, openbox not. even if there is not a
GUI-based feature to do that, i am sure it is possible to do it : during #! installation, the user
is asked which keyboard layout he desires, and after that, keyboard layout is changed, without
X restart.

is there anybody who know how to this (change keyboard layout on openbox)?

i am aware this is not the most necessary feature on a desktop, but it'd be nice to have. i like
to use US keyboard when i am working, but when i have to write in catalan (my native language)
or spanish, i need to use special keys (like è, à, ç, í, etc), as happens to most non native english
speakers.

marc wrote:

thanks,

swj wrote:

yes, somehow. i'd like to know how to have the US keyboard at bootup (not only inside openbox), but anyhow, it's great now. thanks!

Last edited by marc (2009-01-10 00:23:29)

Offline

#5 2009-01-10 01:31:01

AlexelA
Member
Registered: 2009-01-02
Posts: 33

Re: keyboard layout

setxkbmap is part of the solution you're looking for, marc. All you need to do is assign the keyboard layout to a unique key combination in in ~/.config/openbox/rc.xml

For example, I'd like to switch between a US and a French Canadian keyboard. I've decided to assign Windows Key + F11 for French and Windows Key + F12 for US English. For this to work, I need to edit Openbox's rc.xml file and add this in the <keyboard> section:

<keybind key="W-F11">
      <action name="Execute">
        <startupnotify>
          <enabled>false</enabled>
          <name>French Keyboard</name>
        </startupnotify>
        <command>setxkbmap -model pc105 -layout ca</command>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-F12">
      <action name="Execute">
        <startupnotify>
          <enabled>false</enabled>
          <name>English Keyboard</name>
        </startupnotify>
        <command>setxkbmap -model pc105 -layout us</command>
      </action>
    </keybind>

Save. Restart Openbox to effectuate your changes.

Hope this helps.

Last edited by AlexelA (2009-01-10 01:36:54)

Offline

#6 2009-01-10 02:56:39

marc
Member
From: catalonia
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 26

Re: keyboard layout

AlexelA,

it did not just help, it was to the point and perfect. thanks so much!


AlexelA wrote:

setxkbmap is part of the solution you're looking for, marc. All you need to do is assign the keyboard layout to a unique key combination in in ~/.config/openbox/rc.xml

...

Save. Restart Openbox to effectuate your changes.

Hope this helps.

after i posted i browsed the forums and saw some info about openbox resources in
http://crunchbanglinux.org/forums/topic … resources/
but i found nothing useful regarding this issue.

Offline

#7 2009-02-10 10:07:34

mcarni
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-02-10
Posts: 130

Re: keyboard layout

Thanks AlexelA and Marc

I just moved to crunchbang, and I really like it,
One of the things I need was the possibility to switch between keyboard layouts, and this post was perfect.

Do you know also if there is a way of having a layout indicator in the panel or in conky?
One more question…. would it be possible to set the openbox.rc so to have a key combination that cycles through all the different layouts instead of having lets’ say F10 to Russian, F11 to Italian and F12 to German?

Thanks

M

Offline

#8 2009-05-13 17:59:25

meravblum
New Member
Registered: 2009-05-13
Posts: 2

Re: keyboard layout

help! please...i live in israel, and id like to be able to switch between hebrew and english keyboard layouts ..im brand new to crunchbang linux and have no idea want to do...please help! sad

Offline

#9 2009-05-13 18:12:44

anonymous
The Mystery Member
From: Arch Linux Forums
Registered: 2008-11-29
Posts: 9,418

Re: keyboard layout

Add this to your autostart.sh file (I dont know if I got the correct abbreviation for hebrew):

setxkbmap -option grp:switch,grp:shifts_toggle,grp_led:scroll us,il &

Next time Openbox is started, you can just press both shift keys to switch layouts.

Offline

#10 2009-07-17 14:04:09

lo0m
New Member
Registered: 2009-02-09
Posts: 4

Re: keyboard layout

anonymous wrote:

Add this to your autostart.sh file (I dont know if I got the correct abbreviation for hebrew):

setxkbmap -option grp:switch,grp:shifts_toggle,grp_led:scroll us,il &

Next time Openbox is started, you can just press both shift keys to switch layouts.

...and have scrolllock led as indicator. now that was the solution i was looking for. thx!!

Offline

#11 2009-07-17 17:04:22

murraythegoz
#! Member
From: Milan Area, Italy
Registered: 2009-04-29
Posts: 77

Re: keyboard layout

anonymous wrote:

Add this to your autostart.sh file (I dont know if I got the correct abbreviation for hebrew):

setxkbmap -option grp:switch,grp:shifts_toggle,grp_led:scroll us,il &

Next time Openbox is started, you can just press both shift keys to switch layouts.

I would add fbxkb, the same beautiful way it's done in liveCD:

setxkbmap -option grp:switch,grp:shifts_toggle,grp_led:scroll us,il &
(sleep 10s && fbxkb) &

This way, you can also push the icon to change layout.

Useful expecially if you have more than 2 layouts, and you mapped Fkeys to something else.

My 2 Cents

m.


!# statler 10 + eee-control running on eee701/4gb/512ram
!# statler/sid running on MacBookAir 4,1 (mid 2011) i7-1.8GHz/128SSD/4g RAM

Offline

#12 2009-09-02 13:34:33

liame
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-09-01
Posts: 100

Re: keyboard layout

Hi,
i did this, and worked nicely, i have the icon and it does work when pushing the icon,

I would add fbxkb, the same beautiful way it's done in liveCD:

setxkbmap -option grp:switch,grp:shifts_toggle,grp_led:scroll us,il &
(sleep 10s && fbxkb) &

This way, you can also push the icon to change layout.

Useful expecially if you have more than 2 layouts, and you mapped Fkeys to something else.

BUT, i can't get the key combination to actually work.
And weird as it could sound this is one of the things that i need to get resolved urgently or i'll need to go back to ubuntu before the weekend (i work all the time changing layout while writing) and i miss the option for changing layout only for the window that is in focus.
is there any way to getting that working?
thank u

Offline

#13 2009-12-02 13:47:44

milkycoffee
New Member
Registered: 2009-12-02
Posts: 5

Re: keyboard layout

Hi,

setxkbmap -option grp:switch,grp:shifts_toggle,grp_led:scroll se,uk &

First question on the forum, I hope this is the right place. Is there a way to change from swedish/uk to swedish/colemak? I feel much more comfortable using colemak and my girlfriend can't touch type.

Thanks.

Offline

#14 2009-12-02 16:04:02

anonymous
The Mystery Member
From: Arch Linux Forums
Registered: 2008-11-29
Posts: 9,418

Re: keyboard layout

I don't know if #! already includes colemak but if it does you can try:

setxkbmap us -variant colemak

Otherwise you'll need to install it:

http://siavashs.org/blog:dvorak_and_col … _on_gentoo

Offline

#15 2009-12-02 16:56:12

milkycoffee
New Member
Registered: 2009-12-02
Posts: 5

Re: keyboard layout

Ah that's much better, the learning process carries on, I followed the link and with minor tweaks it all worked out. Thank you very much anonymous.

Offline

#16 2010-01-16 16:04:00

liame
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-09-01
Posts: 100

Re: keyboard layout

hi, is there any way to change the "shifts_toggle" to alt+shift from the left?

Offline

#17 2010-01-23 11:03:16

Azguz
New Member
Registered: 2010-01-23
Posts: 1

Re: keyboard layout

Just in case somebody requires (like myself) a setup of three keyboard layouts in crunchbang linux (openbox), including a Russian phonetic keyboard layout, US and Slovakian, here is my contribution how to set it up editing autostart.sh:

setxkbmap -option grp:switch,grp:shifts_toggle,grp_led:scroll us,sk,ru -variant ,bksl,phonetic &

and you will have a Alt+Shift change between US, slovak and russian phonetic layouts.

Offline

#18 2010-03-07 13:39:34

guriinii
#! Member
From: UK
Registered: 2010-02-20
Posts: 74

Re: keyboard layout

Thank you AlexelA, c'est parfait!


#!Crunchbang - an inverted wall of learning, definitely no curve!

Offline

#19 2011-02-09 01:46:49

4revceto
New Member
From: Bulgaria
Registered: 2011-02-09
Posts: 5

Re: keyboard layout

Hi Guys! setxkbmap is efficient enough. but for the few dummies like me, I would recommend simply installing the kkbswitch package along with the required dependencies. It is part of kde 3.5. You get an icon in systray along with options to easy configure in gui layout switching using keyboard as well. Hope I am not repeating somebody else...

cheers

Offline

#20 2011-02-09 06:21:25

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 12,507

Re: keyboard layout

^ How many dependencies?  Also, how much memory does this extension take?  Some KDE utilities are rather spendy in terms of resources, while others are quite frugal.  Does this KDE utility affect the keyboard setting down to the gettys, or does it only affect the X session?

Perhaps there's a similar utility for Gnome or XFCE4 that is lighter, yet does the same thing?


I'm a moderator here.  How are we doing?  Feedback is encouraged.

Online

#21 2011-02-10 23:05:20

4revceto
New Member
From: Bulgaria
Registered: 2011-02-09
Posts: 5

Re: keyboard layout

I can write all way down to terminal in cyrillic smile. The dependencies were 5, kdeinit one of them, as far as I can remember. Memory footprint is around 10 Mb for kkbswitch and 7 for kdeinit. If someone can show me a less resource-hungry solution, I will go with it. Been looking for something similar(with gui i mean) and working in openbox-xfce, no luck. I like the cleanliness and versatility of crunchbang so much, I came back from Open Suse - KDE and the difference is huge.

Offline

#22 2011-06-08 09:50:25

koleoptero
#! Junkie
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 401

Re: keyboard layout

A million thanks for the tips here, the only problem I had is solved big_smile


I Can't Sing

Offline

#23 2011-06-08 15:50:21

chaanakya
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2010-12-30
Posts: 940

Re: keyboard layout

Wouldn't fbxkb work 4revceto?

-edit- my bad...fbxkb only displays the current layout as far as I can see...

Last edited by chaanakya (2011-06-08 15:51:47)


Check out Musik - an easy-to-use text-to-music converter!
Join SpiderOak using this link and get an extra 1 GB free: https://spideroak.com/download/referral … 660e787ff1

Offline

#24 2011-06-08 16:06:44

anonymous
The Mystery Member
From: Arch Linux Forums
Registered: 2008-11-29
Posts: 9,418

Re: keyboard layout

This thread has been bumped enough times.

/closed

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo