SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-06-29 17:05:08

donpi
Member
From: In the middle of nowhere in EU
Registered: 2012-02-04
Posts: 26

[solved] PHP-cli interactive mode

Hello there,

I need to use php in some interactive way by terminal. So, I installed php5-cli (but not php and Apache).
Now, according the manual page, I should run the following command in the terminal to use php in interactive mode.

~php -a

And it's what I did. The output is

~$ php -a
Interactive mode enabled

It doesn't work, in fact nothing happen if I write

echo 8+4;

Also, when I try to use the arrows (left and right) to move backward and forward, some strange characters appears..

^[[C^[[D

I reinstalled the new !#

~$ lsb_release -a
No LSB modules are available.
Distributor ID:	Debian
Description:	Debian GNU/Linux 7.1 (wheezy)
Release:	7.1
Codename:	wheezy

~$ uname -a
Linux tronix 3.2.0-4-686-pae #1 SMP Debian 3.2.46-1 i686 GNU/Linux

but with the previous version everything work.. (Don't know if it's important, but I had php and Apache installed in the previous !#).

Last edited by donpi (2013-12-17 01:11:54)


Do you have any bash script for updating something?
Help me to improve my collection! netUpdates Git Repo

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2013-06-30 15:14:35

hi./hack
New Member
Registered: 2013-06-24
Posts: 5

Re: [solved] PHP-cli interactive mode

it seems you have "interactive mode", but not "interactive shell".
in your case you should type something like this:

~$ php -a
Interactive mode enabled

<?php
echo "hello world\n";
?>

then press Ctrl-D
to get your output

take a look here for more info:
http://php.net/manual/en/features.comma … php#108006

about "arrows": some prompts don't recognize 'em as a "move to" key. that's probably be the case of php-cli.


hijhack

Offline

#3 2013-07-05 10:08:37

donpi
Member
From: In the middle of nowhere in EU
Registered: 2012-02-04
Posts: 26

Re: [solved] PHP-cli interactive mode

Thx for your answer hijhack,

but unfortunately still not working..   cry


Do you have any bash script for updating something?
Help me to improve my collection! netUpdates Git Repo

Offline

#4 2013-12-17 00:58:13

donpi
Member
From: In the middle of nowhere in EU
Registered: 2012-02-04
Posts: 26

Re: [solved] PHP-cli interactive mode

I fixed the problem installing a different repository version.

In my apt/source.list file

## DotDeb.org
deb http://packages.dotdeb.org wheezy all
deb-src http://packages.dotdeb.org wheezy all

deb http://packages.dotdeb.org wheezy-php55 all
deb-src http://packages.dotdeb.org wheezy-php55 all

Do you have any bash script for updating something?
Help me to improve my collection! netUpdates Git Repo

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo