SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#5326 2013-05-10 12:54:50

farmersdaughter
#! Member
Registered: 2009-08-27
Posts: 87
Website

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

Sector11 wrote:
farmersdaughter wrote:

You have no idea... my first name means “bear girl” in Latin. So yes, I get a kick out of my host name LOL. My netbook (also now running #!) is TinyPengiun. Still hunting for the ideal Conky and Tux-related wallpaper there.

Tux Penguins can be found at the Tux Factory.  And at http://wallbase.cc/ search for Tux.  Lots there.  big_smile

This one is cute:  http://wallbase.cc/wallpaper/172437

The ideal conky doesn't exist ... conky is addictive and as such we are always tweaking them.  lol

Oh pretty! And yes, Conky is addictive!


The Canuck with Questions. And Acer Aspires... if you have #! on an Acer and have a question... ask!

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#5327 2013-05-10 15:36:15

easysid
#! CrunchBanger
From: India
Registered: 2013-01-25
Posts: 123

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

Using my newly acquired lua/cairo skills big_smile .... tried to make a butterfly, and a flower. Have some ideas in mind.

6lV5ifj.png   J0eVBIy.png?1

Offline

#5328 2013-05-10 18:43:34

lionhead
#! Junkie
From: Dagobah / Germany
Registered: 2011-01-22
Posts: 456

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

@easysid

wow, that looks amazing. nice drawing smile

i have a little problem. the function that draws a bar works if i use values that give me percents (for example memperc).  i have a problem if i want to use 'downspeedf' or 'upspeedf'. sometimes the indicator is bigger then the background.

what about setting up a 'max-value'? do u have an idea how i could solve this problem?

you call the function like this:

draw_bar({var="cpu",dev="cpu1", w=100,h=20, x=15,y=400, bgc=0xffff00,indc=0xff0000,lc=0x000000,la=0.3,lw=5, r=10})

the function looks like this:

function draw_bar(db) -- draw simple bar
------------------------------------------------------------------------
var=db.var
dev=db.dev or ""
width,height=db.w,db.h
across,down=db.x,db.y
bgc,inc,lc=db.bgc,db.indc,db.lc
------------------------------------------------------------------------
bga=db.bga or 1
ina=db.inda or 1
la=db.la or 1
------------------------------------------------------------------------
lw=db.lw
rotate=db.r or 0
justify=db.j or "l"
------------------------------------------------------------------------
if conky_window == nil then return end
local cs = cairo_xlib_surface_create(conky_window.display, conky_window.drawable, conky_window.visual, conky_window.width, conky_window.height)
cr = cairo_create(cs)
local updates=tonumber(conky_parse('${updates}'))
------------------------------------------------------------------------
if updates>5 then -- starts the display

--indicator calculation
if not dev then dev=''; end

conum=conky_parse("${"..var..' '..dev.."}")
conum=tonumber(conum)

local inum=(((width-lw)/100)*(conum or 0))

-- justify bar ---------------------------------------------------------
if justify=="r" then -- sometimes very useful
across=across-width
elseif justify=="l" then
across=across
end

-- background bar ------------------------------------------------------
cairo_translate (cr, (across+(lw/2)), (down+(lw/2))) 
cairo_rotate (cr, rotate*math.pi/180)
cairo_set_source_rgba (cr, col(bgc, bga));
cairo_rectangle (cr, 0, 0, (width-lw), (height-lw))
cairo_fill (cr)
cairo_rotate (cr, (rotate*-1)*math.pi/180)
cairo_translate (cr, -1*(across+(lw/2)), -1*(down+(lw/2))) 
--indicator bar --------------------------------------------------------
cairo_translate (cr, (across+(lw/2)), (down+(lw/2))) 
cairo_rotate (cr, rotate*math.pi/180)
cairo_set_source_rgba (cr, col(inc,ina));
cairo_rectangle (cr, 0, 0, inum, (height-lw))
cairo_fill (cr)
cairo_rotate (cr, (rotate*-1)*math.pi/180)
cairo_translate (cr, -1*(across+(lw/2)), -1*(down+(lw/2))) 
--boundary line --------------------------------------------------------
cairo_translate (cr, (across+(lw/2)), (down+(lw/2))) 
cairo_rotate (cr, rotate*math.pi/180)
cairo_set_line_width (cr, lw);
cairo_set_source_rgba (cr, col(lc,la));
cairo_rectangle (cr, -lw/2, -lw/2, width, height)
cairo_stroke (cr)
cairo_rotate (cr, (rotate*-1)*math.pi/180)
cairo_translate (cr, -1*(across+(lw/2)), -1*(down+(lw/2))) 
	end
end

please help me.

Offline

#5329 2013-05-10 19:47:08

Dobbie03
Resident Metaller
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 1,575

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

Sector11 wrote:
Dobbie03 wrote:

Needing some more help, my weather icons are sitting underneath the lua background.  How do I make them be on top?

Call the background after TEXT

# -- Lua Load -- #
lua_load ~/.draw_bg.lua
#lua_draw_hook_pre draw_bg

lua_load ~/.bargraph_small.lua
lua_draw_hook_post main_bars

imlib_cache_size 0

color1 0099CC
color2 9933CC
color3 669900
color4 FF8800
color5 CC0000
color6 AAAAAA
color7 484848

TEXT
${lua conky_draw_bg}${execi 300 curl -s "http://weathe... ... ...

For some reason I had to put "${lua conky_draw_bg}" in front of every line that the weather icons were mentioned.

Offline

#5330 2013-05-10 22:32:40

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 11,702
Website

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

Dobbie03 wrote:

For some reason I had to put "${lua conky_draw_bg}" in front of every line that the weather icons were mentioned.

Weird, works perfect here...
acy3KR1v.jpg
Don't know what to say ... fonts are out as I don't have the font called for.

Last edited by Sector11 (2013-05-10 22:33:10)


#! Forum Moderator | To #! or not to #!?  That is the question!
#! Conky = 16 Threads & the Conky Archives | Conky PitStop | OHCG'er
StartPage -  protect your privacy   |   BBQLinux

Offline

#5331 2013-05-11 01:57:26

mrpeachy
20% cooler
From: The Everfree Forest
Registered: 2009-11-08
Posts: 3,460

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

^ i think sector11 is using a different version of the draw_bg script from packrat
packrat is using the VD version, while sector11 is using the version i modified with help from DK75

might make a difference, but might not smile

Last edited by mrpeachy (2013-05-11 01:58:33)

Offline

#5332 2013-05-11 02:16:44

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 11,702
Website

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

mrpeachy wrote:

^ i think sector11 is using a different version of the draw_bg script from packrat
packrat is using the VD version, while sector11 is using the version i modified with help from DK75

might make a difference, but might not smile

Normally I would agree with you, but when I saw the VD background called up at: lua_load ~/.draw_bg.lua downloaded it and used it from that location.  Works OK, I only needed to call it once after text ...

Mine is: /media/5/Conky/LUA/draw-bg.lua, which as you say is the one edited by you and DK75.


#! Forum Moderator | To #! or not to #!?  That is the question!
#! Conky = 16 Threads & the Conky Archives | Conky PitStop | OHCG'er
StartPage -  protect your privacy   |   BBQLinux

Offline

#5333 2013-05-11 04:38:28

xtn5021
New Member
Registered: 2012-12-13
Posts: 7

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

Can someone help me with my simple conky?

Why does my conky go way up above the point to where I cannot see the CPU display? 

Here's a picture.

1KcG1zC.png

Here's the config.

# Settings
##############################################
   
    background yes
    use_xft yes
    xftfont HandelGotD:size=8
    xftalpha 0.5
    update_interval 1.0
    total_run_times 0
    own_window yes
    own_window_type normal
    own_window_transparent yes
    own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
    double_buffer yes
    minimum_size 200 5
    maximum_width 220
    draw_shades no
    draw_outline no
    draw_borders no
    draw_graph_borders yes
    default_color grey
    default_shade_color red
    default_outline_color green
    alignment top_right
    gap_x 5
    gap_y 5
    no_buffers yes
    uppercase no
    cpu_avg_samples 2
    override_utf8_locale no

    TEXT
    CPU $alignr ${cpu cpu0}%
    ${cpugraph cpu0}

    MEM $alignc $mem / $memmax $alignr $memperc%
    $membar
   

    HD $alignc ${fs_used /} / ${fs_size /} $alignr ${fs_free_perc /}%
    ${fs_bar /}
   
   
    $processes processes ($running_processes running)
   
    NAME $alignr PID    CPU
    ${top name 1} $alignr ${top pid 1} ${top cpu 1}
    ${top name 2} $alignr ${top pid 2} ${top cpu 2}
    ${top name 3} $alignr ${top pid 3} ${top cpu 3}
    ${top name 4} $alignr ${top pid 4} ${top cpu 4}
    ${top name 5} $alignr ${top pid 5} ${top cpu 5}
    ${top name 6} $alignr ${top pid 6} ${top cpu 6}
    ${top name 7} $alignr ${top pid 7} ${top cpu 7}
    ${top name 8} $alignr ${top pid 8} ${top cpu 8}
    ${top name 9} $alignr ${top pid 8} ${top cpu 9}
   
    Inbound $alignr ${downspeed wlan0} kb/s
    ${downspeedgraph wlan0}
    Outbound $alignr ${upspeed wlan0} kb/s
    ${upspeedgraph wlan0}
   
    Alt+F2$alignr Run Dialog
    Alt+F3$alignr Alt Menu
    Super+space$alignr Main Menu
    Super+t$alignr Terminal
    Super+f$alignr File Manager
    Super+e$alignr Editor
    Super+m$alignr Media Player
    Super+w$alignr Web Browser
    Super+g$alignr Graphics Editor
    Super+l$alignr Lock Screen
    Super+v$alignr Volume Control
    Super+x$alignr Logout
    PrtSc$alignr Screenshot

Ideally it's supposed to look like THIS.

conkykq1.png

Last edited by xtn5021 (2013-05-11 04:39:57)

Offline

#5334 2013-05-11 05:24:33

falldown
#! Samurai
Registered: 2011-09-01
Posts: 1,726

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

xtn5021 hello  big_smile
First your size..

 minimum_size 200 5

should be more like

 minimum_size 200 500

and you can change

 alignment top_right

to this

 alignment middle_right

Offline

#5335 2013-05-11 06:50:48

easysid
#! CrunchBanger
From: India
Registered: 2013-01-25
Posts: 123

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

lionhead wrote:

@easysid

wow, that looks amazing. nice drawing smile

i have a little problem. the function that draws a bar works if i use values that give me percents (for example memperc).  i have a problem if i want to use 'downspeedf' or 'upspeedf'. sometimes the indicator is bigger then the background.

what about setting up a 'max-value'? do u have an idea how i could solve this problem?

you call the function like this:

Thanks. smile
As for the max_value problem, you can scale the value you get from the object.

Given x ∈ [max, min] , you can scale it to lie in [a,b] using
x' = a + (b - a) * (x - min) / (max-min)  x' ∈ [a,b]

So, in your case, it takes the form of simple percentage like
x =  100 * value / max
where max is a suitable maximum value for upspeed/downspeed.

Last edited by easysid (2013-05-11 07:03:14)

Offline

#5336 2013-05-11 07:16:09

xtn5021
New Member
Registered: 2012-12-13
Posts: 7

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

falldown wrote:

xtn5021 hello  big_smile
First your size..

 minimum_size 200 5

should be more like

 minimum_size 200 500

and you can change

 alignment top_right

to this

 alignment middle_right

Thanks a lot.

big_smile

As you can tell, I'm a newb to this conky stuff..

Offline

#5337 2013-05-11 14:53:56

falldown
#! Samurai
Registered: 2011-09-01
Posts: 1,726

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

xtn5021 glad to have helped!
Conky is so addictive that you will be a pro at it very fast.  big_smile

Offline

#5338 2013-05-11 16:27:50

lionhead
#! Junkie
From: Dagobah / Germany
Registered: 2011-01-22
Posts: 456

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

i've just found this interessting ip-monitor: http://linuxexpresso.wordpress.com/2009 … p-monitor/

can i realize something similar then this in lua?

Offline

#5339 2013-05-11 17:35:10

easysid
#! CrunchBanger
From: India
Registered: 2013-01-25
Posts: 123

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

lionhead wrote:

i've just found this interessting ip-monitor: http://linuxexpresso.wordpress.com/2009 … p-monitor/

can i realize something similar then this in lua?

look at os.execute(). You could pass a command/script to it for execution

Offline

#5340 2013-05-11 18:34:29

lionhead
#! Junkie
From: Dagobah / Germany
Registered: 2011-01-22
Posts: 456

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

this should work:

${execi 300 vnstat -i wlan0 -m | grep "`date +"%b '%y"`" | awk '{print $3 $4}'}

but it doesn't display the current status sad but i can see the amount of downloaded data if i use the vnstat-code for the day resp. the week.

the curious thing is that it worked before sad any idea?

Offline

#5341 2013-05-11 19:19:32

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 11,702
Website

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

falldown wrote:

xtn5021 glad to have helped!
Conky is so addictive that you will be a pro at it very fast.  big_smile

Conky addictive?  naaaaaaaaaa - I can quit anytime!

Meantime I'm modifying "BlackPearlConky" to something manageable here - no wifi, wlan just a wired setup so it strips out a bunch of stuff ... plus there is no MPD here ... might just end up with one conky that will be almost nothing like the original.

conkyrc0 on the right almost done, conkyrc1 and 2 swapped positions on the left.
abePJWZq.jpg
Like I said, I can quit anytime at all ... tomorrow sounds good - because tomorrow never gets here, it's always today!

Done - combined the two into one ... for my system:

advRVmif.jpg 2 USB mounts <-> no mounts acbKUFeq.jpg

Last edited by Sector11 (2013-05-12 01:36:45)


#! Forum Moderator | To #! or not to #!?  That is the question!
#! Conky = 16 Threads & the Conky Archives | Conky PitStop | OHCG'er
StartPage -  protect your privacy   |   BBQLinux

Offline

#5342 2013-05-13 14:14:30

ragamatrix
#! CrunchBanger
From: Horgen Switzerland
Registered: 2012-12-05
Posts: 234

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

The new "big weather convert forecast" running with externals scripts xplanet, rss links weather sat map and only 2 conkys (system and music)
Weather with convert-imagemagick

Offline

#5343 2013-05-13 14:58:03

easysid
#! CrunchBanger
From: India
Registered: 2013-01-25
Posts: 123

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

Finally got v9000 setup on my computer. Happy with the config. Going to keep it a while smile
Thanks to SR11 for reminding me of black pearl/ballon conky.
83aAqgs.png

Offline

#5344 2013-05-13 15:04:10

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 11,702
Website

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

ragamatrix wrote:

The new "big weather convert forecast" running with externals scripts xplanet, rss links weather sat map and only 2 conkys (system and music)
Weather with convert-imagemagick

WoW!!!  that look great!  Lot of nice work there.


#! Forum Moderator | To #! or not to #!?  That is the question!
#! Conky = 16 Threads & the Conky Archives | Conky PitStop | OHCG'er
StartPage -  protect your privacy   |   BBQLinux

Offline

#5345 2013-05-13 15:06:46

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 11,702
Website

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

easysid wrote:

Finally got v9000 setup on my computer. Happy with the config. Going to keep it a while smile
Thanks to SR11 for reminding me of black pearl/ballon conky.
http://i.imgur.com/83aAqgs.png

You're welcome.  I like what you did with it.  V9000 looking good there too!
Think I'll borrow that binary cloud while I'm here.  big_smile


#! Forum Moderator | To #! or not to #!?  That is the question!
#! Conky = 16 Threads & the Conky Archives | Conky PitStop | OHCG'er
StartPage -  protect your privacy   |   BBQLinux

Offline

#5346 2013-05-13 15:33:06

ragamatrix
#! CrunchBanger
From: Horgen Switzerland
Registered: 2012-12-05
Posts: 234

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

@Sector11 Thank-you ! I'm still working on it it's like never ending... big_smile
In the french ubuntu forum ljere made a combined thing with "conky ballon" and weather; this can you gives you ideas...
weather&baloons
There's the link of this archive under the pic at this page:
ubuntu_conky_forum

Last edited by ragamatrix (2013-05-13 15:34:33)

Offline

#5347 2013-05-13 17:55:06

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 11,702
Website

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

ragamatrix wrote:

@Sector11 Thank-you ! I'm still working on it it's like never ending... big_smile
In the french ubuntu forum ljere made a combined thing with "conky ballon" and weather; this can you gives you ideas...
http://www.zimagez.com/miniature/captur … 111710.php
There's the link of this archive under the pic at this page:
ubuntu_conky_forum

That is really nice!  There is a lot of great conky talent in the Ubuntu-fr conky thread, of which you are one.

The Never Ending Conky Story - The Ending is the Fantasy! (a pun)

Last edited by Sector11 (2013-05-13 18:00:34)


#! Forum Moderator | To #! or not to #!?  That is the question!
#! Conky = 16 Threads & the Conky Archives | Conky PitStop | OHCG'er
StartPage -  protect your privacy   |   BBQLinux

Offline

#5348 2013-05-14 04:58:23

Sir Stooper
New Member
Registered: 2013-05-14
Posts: 2

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

Simple Conky question here.  I've tried looking around but cannot seem to find an answer to display GPU temps from two GPUs.  I have the display set for the one GPU, but I have recently added a second.  here is the existing code:

${color2}${font led:size=10}GPU ${font}$hr
${color}Temperature ${alignr} ${execi 60 nvidia-settings -query GPUCoreTemp | perl -ne 'print $1 if /GPUCoreTemp.*?: (\d+)./;'} °C

In nvidia settings, they are listed as GPU 0 and GPU 1.

Thanks for any and all help!

Offline

#5349 2013-05-14 12:24:07

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 11,702
Website

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

Sir Stooper wrote:

Simple Conky question here.  I've tried looking around but cannot seem to find an answer to display GPU temps from two GPUs.  I have the display set for the one GPU, but I have recently added a second.  here is the existing code:

${color2}${font led:size=10}GPU ${font}$hr
${color}Temperature ${alignr} ${execi 60 nvidia-settings -query GPUCoreTemp | perl -ne 'print $1 if /GPUCoreTemp.*?: (\d+)./;'} °C

In nvidia settings, they are listed as GPU 0 and GPU 1.

Thanks for any and all help!

In a terminal what to you get for:

nvidia-settings -query GPUCoreTemp

I get:

 14 May 13 | 08:45:44 ~
    $ nvidia-settings -query GPUCoreTemp

  Attribute 'GPUCoreTemp' (sector11:0.0): 39.
    'GPUCoreTemp' is an integer attribute.
    'GPUCoreTemp' is a read-only attribute.
    'GPUCoreTemp' can use the following target types: X Screen, GPU.
  Attribute 'GPUCoreTemp' (sector11:0[gpu:0]): 39.
    'GPUCoreTemp' is an integer attribute.
    'GPUCoreTemp' is a read-only attribute.
    'GPUCoreTemp' can use the following target types: X Screen, GPU.
 
 14 May 13 | 08:45:48 ~

Using your line in a conky I get:

4343

maybe you'll get a GPUCoreTemp0 & GPUCoreTemp1 that you can -query

What do you get with just:

${nvidia temp}

Conky has native 'nvidia' calls

nvidia     threshold     Nvidia graficcard support for the XNVCtrl library. Each option can be shortened to the least significant part. Temperatures are printed as float, all other values as integer.

    threshold - The thresholdtemperature at which the gpu slows down
    temp - Gives the gpu current temperature
    ambient - Gives current air temperature near GPU case
    gpufreq - Gives the current gpu frequency
    memfreq - Gives the current mem frequency
    imagequality - Which imagequality should be chosen by OpenGL applications

Not sure how they would work with dual GPU's though

conky code:

${font}Temperatures ${color7}${hr}${color}
${alignc}CPU  ${color5}${platform f71882fg.2560 temp 1}${color}°\
     MB  ${color5}${platform f71882fg.2560 temp 2}${color}°
${alignc}GPU  ${color5}${nvidia temp}${color}°\
     HD  ${color5}${hddtemp /dev/sda}${color}°

${exec nvidia-settings -query GPUCoreTemp | perl -ne 'print $1 if /GPUCoreTemp.*?: (\d+)./;'}${font Monofur:size=14}

${font}Nvidia GPU ${color7}${hr}${color}
GPU ${color5}${nvidia gpufreq} ${color}MHz${alignr 5}MEM ${color5}${nvidia memfreq} ${color}MHz${font Monofur:size=14}
${font}Disk Activity ${color7}${hr}${color}

Produces:
abxaByRS.jpg


#! Forum Moderator | To #! or not to #!?  That is the question!
#! Conky = 16 Threads & the Conky Archives | Conky PitStop | OHCG'er
StartPage -  protect your privacy   |   BBQLinux

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#5350 2013-05-14 15:31:23

lionhead
#! Junkie
From: Dagobah / Germany
Registered: 2011-01-22
Posts: 456

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

i can not show the status of vnstat (month). this my code:

function os_capture(cmd, raw) -- parse shell in lua
	local f = assert(io.popen(cmd, 'r'))
	local s = assert(f:read('*a'))
	f:close()
	if raw then return s end
	s = string.gsub(s, '^%s+', '')
	s = string.gsub(s, '%s+$', '')
	s = string.gsub(s, '[\n\r]+', ' ')
	return s
end

function command(value,device,del,se)
	local ms=nil
	
if value=="cpu" then
	cmd=[[cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep 'model name' | sed -e 's/model name.*: //'| uniq]]
	ms=os_capture(cmd, raw) -- excecute function (see above)
elseif value=="today" then
	cmd=[[vnstat -i ]]..device..[[ | grep "today" | awk '{print $2 $3}']]
	todayVnstat=os_capture(cmd, raw)
	ms=conky_parse("${if_up "..device.."}"..parse(todayVnstat,del,se).."${else}n/a${endif}")
elseif value=="week" then
	cmd=[[vnstat -i ]]..device..[[ -w | grep "current week" | awk '{print $3 $4}']]
	weekVnstat=os_capture(cmd, raw)
	ms=conky_parse("${if_up "..device.."}"..parse(weekVnstat,del,se).."${else}n/a${endif}")
elseif value=="month" then
	cmd=[[vnstat -i ]]..device..[[ -m | mawk '$0 ~ "'`date +"%b.+%y"`'" {print $3, $4}']]
	monthVnstat = os_capture(cmd, raw)
	ms=conky_parse("${if_up "..device.."}"..parse(monthVnstat,del,se).."${else}n/a${endif}")
end

return ms
end

i hope that it's 'only' a write error. do u see what's wrong?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo