SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-05-09 05:22:10

shazeal
New Member
Registered: 2013-05-08
Posts: 7

fglrx console issues. [solved]

Hi guys,

I have a new AMD 7850 graphics card and have the AMD 13.4 drivers up and running fine, games/wine/amdcccle etc work great. The issue I have is that I am unable to CTRL-ALT-Fx back to a console. The screen just goes black and nothing happens. I can switch back to X no worries. Exiting X back to the command prompt has the same effect, its like the resolution is staying at 1680x1050 so the console cant show anything?

I followed the guide here on the forums to get the driver working. http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=17948

My kernel command line is...

linux   /boot/vmlinuz-3.8-10.dmz.1-liquorix-amd64 root=UUID=8e76d2a2-d98b-4236-84f0-66d4c4207e6c ro  quiet nomodeset radeon.modeset=0

Any help would be appreciated! smile

Last edited by shazeal (2013-05-09 23:59:42)

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2013-05-09 21:05:08

tralce
Member
From: Maine, USA
Registered: 2013-05-02
Posts: 24
Website

Re: fglrx console issues. [solved]

Have you tried passing a nofb to the kernel?

Offline

#3 2013-05-09 23:48:23

shazeal
New Member
Registered: 2013-05-08
Posts: 7

Re: fglrx console issues. [solved]

I tried adding nofb and nothing changed. I dont think its loading a fb anyway. Everything is fine until I load X and then there is no turning back  yikes

Ive tried googling this and the only thing that turned up was something about removing 'quiet splash' from the grub command line which I had already.

I also tried turning off the grub graphical console which lets me see the kernel boot without switching modes, but I still cannot return to consoles.

This is what i have atm.

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=""
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="nomodeset"

Offline

#4 2013-05-09 23:59:27

shazeal
New Member
Registered: 2013-05-08
Posts: 7

Re: fglrx console issues. [solved]

Ok I found the solution on the archlinux boards.

Adding a vesa resolution to the command line worked. I added vga=792 and it all works fine now. Apparently its a bug in 13.4 drivers.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo