SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#5001 2013-03-29 12:42:54

dk75
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2012-06-14
Posts: 244

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

We talked about it - here or on Ubuntu.
Inside html is only base value. Current value is calculated by JS run by that html (client side).
You can't get that by wget or curl.
I've tried with lynx, links and elinks but no love.

Last edited by dk75 (2013-03-29 12:43:28)


Debian Sid (Minted) x86_64/3.12-10, Conky 2.0_pre, Xorg 7.7/1.15.0, KDE 4.11.5, Intel X3100
Lenovo T61, HITACHI HTS722010K9SA00 100GB, WDC_WD5000BEVT 500GB
Linux user No.: 483055 | Conky Pitstop

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#5002 2013-03-29 12:55:57

lionhead
#! Junkie
From: Dagobah / Germany
Registered: 2011-01-22
Posts: 449

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

it seems that the value that u see within the source-code updates every 24h. i made a screenshot yesterday and the value was different. smile

Offline

#5003 2013-03-29 14:16:21

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 9,984
Website

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

@ ichase

Weird how thing work huh - but at least it is working.  That's worth a big_smile

For a test I have (among other things):

use_xft yes
xftfont Monofur:bold:size=14
override_utf8_locale yes
TEXT

OpenLogos lowercase ${hr}

${font OpenLogos:size=40} a b c d e f g h i j k l m
n o p q r s t u v w x y z${font}


OPENLOGOS UPPERCASE ${hr}

${font OpenLogos:size=40}A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z${font}

${hr}

OpenBox on Debian SID
abwLUfpK.jpg

Ummmmmmmmmmmmm you use a feather for your kernel?  glasses
I would have thought you'd use an uppercase J - but that's just me!  devil
{dodging the rotten tomatoes}

Last edited by Sector11 (2013-03-29 14:18:05)

Offline

#5004 2013-03-30 12:17:08

ichase
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2011-03-16
Posts: 137

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

S11, 
Hahahaha, The Arch Linux symbol USED to be an upper case A in OpenLogos.  smile
Oh, as I am writing this, I am installing VSIDO in VBox, from what I have seen, it's a nice looking OS  smile  This is my 2nd attempt as the first time when trying to install virtualbox-guest-additions it failed and rendered the OS unbootable.

Not sure why in Arch with the Fontconfig upgrade that to this day, OpenLogos won't work.  It's just a simple true type font file like most of the others.  It's the only font group that seems not to work and I read where it was documented but can't find it right now.

Offline

#5005 2013-03-30 18:44:33

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 9,984
Website

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

@ ichase

Use to be?  I have had my OpenLogos font a LONG time.
abip3ntd.jpg

I gotta try VBox someday, I have a couple of partitions I use to test things ... but everyone it seems uses "V" 
Be careful, you might like VSIDO  big_smile

I know nothing about ARCH, but there are problems with other fonts as well - at least with Debian. Check it out.

I'm not so sure if its a pure "ARCH" thing as seen above.

 30 Mar 13 | 15:36:45 ~
         $ acp fontconfig
fontconfig:
  Installed: 2.9.0-7.1
  Candidate: 2.9.0-7.1
  Version table:
 *** 2.9.0-7.1 0
        500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
 
 30 Mar 13 | 15:36:59 ~
         $ 

Offline

#5006 2013-03-31 12:29:34

daggoth
Member
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2012-01-18
Posts: 23

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

I have been dabbling with using Conky as a thin status bar. Its early days for me with conky, nothing pretty to show yet. But so far, I cannot find a way to create a status bar with a width of less than 25, no matter what I put into the conky config.

It is not just to do with font size - using an 8pt font didn't help. Whereas a dzen2 statusbar with the same font had a width of 17. So can a conky bar be created with width <25 please? My current config below..

# Options
background no
draw_shades yes

# Updates
update_interval 1
cpu_avg_samples 1
net_avg_samples 1

# Font
use_xft no

font -gohu-gohufont-medium-r-normal--14-100-100-100-c-80-iso8859-1
#font -misc-fixed-medium-r-normal--8-80-75-75-c-50-iso8859-1

uppercase no

# Display
alignment bottom_middle

own_window yes
own_window_type panel
own_window_class status_bar_bottom
own_window_hints undecorated,above,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

double_buffer yes

# Minimum size of text area -- width (height) ?
minimum_size 1024 15
maximum_width 1024

# Gap between borders of screen and text
gap_x 1
gap_y 1

no_buffers yes
format_human_readable yes

# Output
TEXT
${alignc}${color #909090}kernel: ${color #FFFFFF}$kernel |\
${color #909090} uptime: ${color #FFFFFF}$uptime | \
${color #909090}cpu: ${color #FFFFFF}$freq MHz $cpu% | \
${color #909090}ram: ${color #FFFFFF}$memmax  $memperc% | ${color #909090}swap: ${color #FFFFFF}$swapmax $swapperc% | \
${color #909090}/home: ${color #FFFFFF}${fs_size /home} ${fs_used_perc /home} % | \
${color #909090}wifi: ${color #909090}d/l: ${color #FFFFFF}${downspeed wlan0} ${color #909090}u/l: ${color #FFFFFF}${upspeed wlan0} \

Offline

#5007 2013-03-31 13:56:21

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 9,984
Website

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

daggoth wrote:

I have been dabbling with using Conky as a thin status bar. Its early days for me with conky, nothing pretty to show yet. But so far, I cannot find a way to create a status bar with a width of less than 25, no matter what I put into the conky config.

It is not just to do with font size - using an 8pt font didn't help. Whereas a dzen2 statusbar with the same font had a width of 17. So can a conky bar be created with width <25 please? My current config below..

I think maybe you mean height:

# Minimum size of text area -- width (height) ?
minimum_size 1024 15  ## width height
maximum_width 1024 ## width

I tried your conky with:

# Minimum size of text area -- width height
minimum_size 1024 0  ## width height
maximum_width 1024 ## width

I've never had much success with "panel" conkys - first I see:

Conky: can't load font '-gohu-gohufont-medium-r-normal--14-100-100-100-c-80-iso8859-1'

I expected that so I added:

#font -gohu-gohufont-medium-r-normal--14-100-100-100-c-80-iso8859-1
#font -misc-fixed-medium-r-normal--8-80-75-75-c-50-iso8859-1
font Monofur:bold:size=7

and got:

Conky: can't load font 'Monofur:bold:size=7'

So I added "xft"

# Font
use_xft yes #no
#font -gohu-gohufont-medium-r-normal--14-100-100-100-c-80-iso8859-1
#font -misc-fixed-medium-r-normal--8-80-75-75-c-50-iso8859-1
xftfont Monofur:bold:size=7

And while that worked - it's still ±15 pixels in height - changing font to size 5 did not change that

I'm thinking it's a "panel" thing.  Maybe others who use panel can shed more light.

Also your code has a problem here:

${color #909090}cpu: ${color #FFFFFF}$freq MHz $cpu% | \

By NOT using opening and closing curly brackets { } it messes up right after $freq.   Also ${color} doesn't need the #

The fix:

${color 909090}cpu: ${color FFFFFF}${freq} MHz ${cpu}% | \

As I have it:

TEXT
${color 909090}kernel: ${color FFFFFF}${kernel} |\
 ${color 909090}uptime: ${color FFFFFF}${uptime} |\
 ${color 909090}cpu: ${color FFFFFF}${freq} ${cpu}% |\
 ${color 909090}ram: ${color FFFFFF}${memmax}  ${memperc}% |\
 ${color 909090}swap: ${color FFFFFF}${swapmax} ${swapperc}% |\
 ${color 909090}/home: ${color FFFFFF}${fs_size /home} ${fs_used_perc /home} % |\
 ${color 909090}wifi: d/l: ${color FFFFFF}${downspeed wlan0}\
 ${color 909090}u/l: ${color FFFFFF}${upspeed wlan0}

Unfortunately not the response you are looking for.

As I said ... I think it's a "panel" thing.

Offline

#5008 2013-03-31 16:54:08

ichase
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2011-03-16
Posts: 137

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

S11, I tried again installing VSIDO in the virtual environment, got it to install and got guest additions to install but it ended up locking up again.  I have had other OSs that did not play well in the VM environment.  smile

Offline

#5009 2013-03-31 17:08:02

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 9,984
Website

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

ichase wrote:

S11, I tried again installing VSIDO in the virtual environment, got it to install and got guest additions to install but it ended up locking up again.  I have had other OSs that did not play well in the VM environment.  smile

Interesting, we have a user whose lappy died and he's running it in a VM on {cough cough} Win7 and it's perfect.

No spare partition?

Offline

#5010 2013-03-31 18:01:42

ichase
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2011-03-16
Posts: 137

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

Not on this rig

Offline

#5011 2013-03-31 19:36:25

XenoReseller
New Member
Registered: 2013-03-31
Posts: 5

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

While nowhere NEAR done, I have this conky script I was working on last night.

A funny story is that before I realized my battery was BAT1, I thought ${battery} didn't even work so I was originally using several regexes to grab the stats like this: (I almost did this with /proc/cpuinfo)

${execi 120 acpi -i | sed 's/.*\([0-9][0-9]%\).*/\1/'} | head -n 1}
${execi 120 acpi -i | sed 's/.* \([a-zA-Z].*harging\).*/\1/' | head -n 1} 

(Those MAY work, I rewrote them from memory because I accidentally rm'd that script. [Also my first one ;-;])

Anyways, here is the work in progress: (click)
Af6mRD4s.png

Last edited by XenoReseller (2013-03-31 19:44:58)

Offline

#5012 2013-03-31 19:43:46

ichase
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2011-03-16
Posts: 137

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

A few more tweaks with the color of both conky and tint2.  Uniformity is important.  I don't like the fact that the USB Flashdrive shows the space on root when not mounted.  I would like to see it show something like "Unmounted" or not show anything if unmounted.

a4be59246465754.jpg

Last edited by ichase (2013-03-31 19:44:53)

Offline

#5013 2013-03-31 19:44:53

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

^ Looks good though, well done...  smile


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#5014 2013-03-31 19:46:04

ichase
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2011-03-16
Posts: 137

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

Thanks VastOne, appreciate the compliment.  smile

Offline

#5015 2013-03-31 19:50:27

XenoReseller
New Member
Registered: 2013-03-31
Posts: 5

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

ichase wrote:

A few more tweaks with the color of both conky and tint2.  Uniformity is important.  I don't like the fact that the USB Flashdrive shows the space on root when not mounted.  I would like to see it show something like "Unmounted" or not show anything if unmounted.

http://thumbnails102.imagebam.com/24647/a4be59246465754.jpg

How are you obtaining the information? I have this for my SD card and when it is unmounted, it reports 0B/0B and an empty fs_bar:

'/media/SD'  : ${fs_used /media/6CB5-4CC8} / ${fs_size /media/6CB5-4CC8} ${alignr}${fs_bar 10,100 /media/6CB5-4CC8}} #stripped

Offline

#5016 2013-03-31 19:56:45

ichase
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2011-03-16
Posts: 137

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

Thanks for the reply Xeno:  here is what I have

${font poky}y ${if_existing /mnt/usb}${font sans-serif:normal:size=8}${color1}USB Flashdrive $alignc ${fs_used /mnt/usb} / ${fs_size $
${if_existing /mnt/usb}${color}${fs_bar /mnt/usb}${endif}

Offline

#5017 2013-03-31 20:09:33

XenoReseller
New Member
Registered: 2013-03-31
Posts: 5

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

ichase wrote:

Thanks for the reply Xeno:  here is what I have
*snip*

Does this fix it:

${if_existing /mnt/usb}${font poky} ${font sans-serif:normal:size=8}${color1}USB Flashdrive $alignc ${fs_used /mnt/usb} / ${fs_size /mnt/usb}
${color}${fs_bar /mnt/usb}${endif}

I tried out ${if_existing} and it seems to work fine for my config here:

${if_existing /media/6CB5-4CC8}${color 2E3453}${outlinecolor A5B7FF}'/media/SD'  :${color}${outlinecolor} ${fs_used /media/6CB5-4CC8} / ${fs_size /media/6CB5-4CC8} ${alignr}${color 2E3453}${outlinecolor A5B7FF}${fs_bar 10,100 /media/6CB5-4CC8}${color}${outlinecolor}${endif}

So if what I gave you doesn't fix it, then there is something strange about /mnt/usb, it must be a soft link or something. If it's a softlink, it will still exist even after you pull out /mnt/usb and it auto-unmounts.

In this case, you'll have to make sure your system IS auto-unmounting. (Probably if it auto-mounts.) Then the easiest fix will be to find the actual mount location instead of using a link to it.

Last edited by XenoReseller (2013-03-31 20:17:51)

Offline

#5018 2013-04-01 03:04:20

daggoth
Member
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2012-01-18
Posts: 23

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

Sector11 wrote:
daggoth wrote:

I have been dabbling with using Conky as a thin status bar. Its early days for me with conky, nothing pretty to show yet. But so far, I cannot find a way to create a status bar with a width of less than 25, no matter what I put into the conky config.

I think maybe you mean height:
And while that worked - it's still ±15 pixels in height - changing font to size 5 did not change that...
I'm thinking it's a "panel" thing.  Maybe others who use panel can shed more light...

@Sector11 - Thanks for that. And yes, I did mean height not width. But given there are not easy fixes for having a thinner conky, I'll go with piping conky into dzen2 instead.

Thanks again for your help.

Offline

#5019 2013-04-01 11:59:54

ichase
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2011-03-16
Posts: 137

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

Xeno, did some digging around.  When the flash drive is plugged in, Thunar shows the drive.  Once you click it, it mounts to:
/run/media/ichase02/4 GIG 2.  So I tried adding this line in Conky but it says it can't find directory 4.  I am not sure how Conky handles space in directory names.  In bash I would simply add a backslash as such:  4\ GIG\ 2 and that would recognize that as
4 GIG 2.  Conky is not bash.  I tried using that to see but it did not work.

Also in regards to sim links.  I normally always mount things via the command line.  In the folder /mnt I have folders for what ever it is I am mounting.  External, usb, server etc.  So when I need to plug for example my usb flash drive, I just open terminal and type:

# mount /dev/sdc1 /mnt/usb 

So the next question will be, how does Conky handle spaces in directory names?  smile


@S11  When I run the same test to check the openlogos font this is what I see.  Nothing but boxes.  That really stinks because I really enjoyed that font.  Can't understand nor can I find an answer to why this is only happening in Arch Linux after the fontconfig upgrade last September.

d05c39246597284.jpg

Last edited by ichase (2013-04-01 12:11:59)

Offline

#5020 2013-04-01 13:07:30

ichase
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2011-03-16
Posts: 137

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

Amazing what you can find with the correct Google search parameters  smile
OpenLogos now works.  As does another font that I had not realized was borked.  Pie Charts for Maps.  Any way, my OpenLogos font now works.  smile  Thanks S11 for the conky font tester code.  I changed it up a bit to provide own_window.  smile
3f851f246608526.jpg

In case there are any Arch Linux users on here that were wondering what they needed to do to get OpenLogos and Pie Chart for Maps working, you have to install conky-colors from AUR.  These fonts were re-encoded within conky-colors which are in the AUR.
When installing conky-colors, it will ask you to removed openlogos.ttf, say yes.  The conky-colors package will re-add it to /usr/share/fonts/TTF.
One other thing I noticed when adding this package, it originally failed stating ConkyWeather.ttf was in the system.  I moved that font out (saving it) and deleted it out of /usr/share/fonts/TTF.  It also was re-added with the conky-colors package  smile

***Just remember to update your font cache once done.

fc-cache -vf 

Last edited by ichase (2013-04-01 13:27:31)

Offline

#5021 2013-04-01 13:15:18

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 9,984
Website

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

@ ichase who said in part:

ichase wrote:

So the next question will be, how does Conky handle spaces in directory names?  smile

Answer:  It doesn't, at least that I have found.

I struggled with this not that long ago myself.  I can't get it to show mounted devices with spaces in names. I tried \ and &#032; as well.

ichase wrote:

@S11  When I run the same test to check the openlogos font this is what I see.  Nothing but boxes.  That really stinks because I really enjoyed that font.  Can't understand nor can I find an answer to why this is only happening in Arch Linux after the fontconfig upgrade last September.

That sucks big time.  Can you roll back to the older version of fontconfig?

Here's a GIMP'ed black and white OpenLogos transparent background: OpenLogos.xcf and the Blue Logo (transparent png) itself ${image works too}
NOTE: Links removed

You were faster than I was.  Can you post the solution? A link to what made it half work - I see some still out of whack there.

Hmmm I'll have to rename that conky: fonttester.conky, and do what you did ... put it in a window.  Thanks for the idea.

Last edited by Sector11 (2013-04-01 13:24:53)

Offline

#5022 2013-04-01 13:29:39

ichase
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2011-03-16
Posts: 137

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

I just edited post #5020 to explain the "how-to-fix" as you posted.  wink

Thanks for the update on the directory "space" issue.  It's not a show stopper by a long shot.  I normaly ALWAYS have the external and server mounted so they are showing properly  wink

Last edited by ichase (2013-04-01 13:32:27)

Offline

#5023 2013-04-01 13:54:20

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 9,984
Website

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

ichase wrote:

I just edited post #5020 to explain the "how-to-fix" as you posted.  wink

Thanks for the update on the directory "space" issue.  It's not a show stopper by a long shot.  I normaly ALWAYS have the external and server mounted so they are showing properly  wink

Ok thank you - conky-colors huh.  I used that once a LONG time ago.  helmuthdu has done some remarkable stuff with that
... but changing existing fonts... ?

That fc-cache -vf will get you every time.

I have problems remembering stuff like that but my aliases help big time:

alias font='fc-cache -fv'
alias sfont='sudo dpkg-reconfigure fontconfig'

BTW:  My new conky check the title:
adqmF8ON.jpg
It was doomed to get lost in my test directory.

Offline

#5024 2013-04-01 15:25:36

ichase
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2011-03-16
Posts: 137

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

Hahaha  NICE!!!!  But's it's your code not mine.  Just simpler for me to use it in own window.  big_smile

Yes, helmuthdu has done some great work and it was him that re-compiled it so OpenLogos and Pie Charts for Maps would work again. I should have mentioned that in the earlier thread.  wink

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#5025 2013-04-01 15:46:24

ichase
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2011-03-16
Posts: 137

Re: The New Monster Conky Thread

One other thing to note, this WILL NOT over-write conky-lua so no need to worry that your lua scripts will stop working.  smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo