SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-14 09:54:51

showan412
Member
From: Gothenburg
Registered: 2012-10-23
Posts: 13

Conky restart error

so, whenever i edit the .conkyrc file, and save my changes, conky just dissapears from my grid.

I tried restarting Conky but that doesn't solve it. Only way to get conky to appear again is to restart the computer

I'm doing small changes like changing colours and align_placements.

I'm a newbie in training


Hashtag Exclamation mark

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2013-01-14 11:26:58

fatmac
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-11-14
Posts: 1,948

Re: Conky restart error

The changes I've made are only in the basics, but mine updated on its own.
(I added in disk usage & program start key combos.)
If yours doesn't update itself, try restarting your WM, or loging out & back in.


Linux since 1999
Currently:  AntiX, & Crunchbang.
A good general beginners book for Linux :- http://rute.2038bug.com/index.html.gz
A good Debian read :- http://debian-handbook.info/get/now/

Offline

#3 2013-01-14 19:24:32

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: Conky restart error

It is most likely a syntax error in the changes you made.

The best thing to do is run it from terminal and see the output for errors.


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#4 2013-01-14 23:21:15

lwfitz
#! Die Hard
From: Monrovia, CA
Registered: 2012-01-19
Posts: 886
Website

Re: Conky restart error

Conky doesnt always refresh correctly after you save a change, but to be safe, as VastOne said I would start conky from a terminal and see what error your getting. More than likely its a simple typo that is causing the refresh to error out but will still allow it to start fresh. If you post the terminal output we can probably help you more.

Offline

#5 2013-01-15 01:24:27

PackRat
#! Die Hard
From: USA
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 1,097

Re: Conky restart error

I have this problem sometimes. How are you restarting conky? You may need to kill any conky processes then restart.

You can try using one of the startup scripts here.

or use this command in a terminal:

killall -SIGUSR1 conky

Killing conky before restarting has always worked on my systems.


"It does not require many words to speak the truth." - Chief Joseph, Nez Perce tribe

Offline

#6 2013-01-15 22:43:10

showan412
Member
From: Gothenburg
Registered: 2012-10-23
Posts: 13

Re: Conky restart error

starting conky from the terminal solved it, thaaaanks


Hashtag Exclamation mark

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo