SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-12-10 18:36:06

dove
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-07-28
Posts: 163

raid 0

I'm upgrading my fluid cooled computer to a amd 4ghz 8core with (not needed for#!) 16g ram and a gigabyte motherboard. The old OS was lubuntu only because of the motherboard or "false" raid 0 inwitch #! would not see and lubuntu had no problems with. my question is has waldorf fixed this?

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2012-12-10 20:08:41

mynis01
#! Die Hard
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2010-07-02
Posts: 1,963

Re: raid 0

There's really no reason why any iteration of #! would have ever not been compatible with raid 0, but perhaps you mean to say that the installer didn't recognize the raid array? Raid functionality is a result of the kernel and mdadm, so what distro you use really shouldn't impact how that works. There's a lot of info on setting up raid arrays on kernel.org. Usually from what I've heard, people tend to mount /boot on USB sticks, SD cards, floppy disks, or some kind of storage device besides the controller the software raid array is being made on in order to simplify the process. Since debian wheezy is still in the development stage and changes are still being made to it's installer, it's hard to say what will and won't work by the time that installer gets ported to waldorf, but I'm sure there's a way for you to get your raid array working in waldorf, or to add the #! repos to a debian installation.

Offline

#3 2012-12-10 20:34:34

rockon1215
Member
From: Florida
Registered: 2009-05-30
Posts: 39

Re: raid 0

Fake RAID is seperate from software linux RAID (mdadm), although detection of those is still probably dependent on the kernel version

Offline

#4 2012-12-10 20:42:51

dove
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-07-28
Posts: 163

Re: raid 0

Thanx for the responce. will boot from live disk when I finish the hardware upgrade aand see

Offline

#5 2012-12-13 00:14:54

rockon1215
Member
From: Florida
Registered: 2009-05-30
Posts: 39

Re: raid 0

Tell us how it goes

Offline

#6 2013-02-09 21:38:19

dove
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-07-28
Posts: 163

Re: raid 0

I.ve worked through my hardware problems and tried to install crunchbang and sadly it does not see my raid. Will have to go with some sort of ubuntu

Offline

#7 2013-02-09 23:32:56

dove
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-07-28
Posts: 163

Re: raid 0

I found this
http://wiki.debian.org/DebianInstaller/SataRaid
and CB now see's my raid

Offline

#8 2013-02-18 12:22:23

Marcadam
Member
Registered: 2013-02-06
Posts: 17

Re: raid 0

@dove : setting up 2 velociraptor SATA disks with mdadm to a raid 1 allowed installation of crunchbang waldorf without problems for me. I suppose the problem is not with crunchbang.
If the installer does not see the raid, then I guess that the reaid was not installed successfully. good luck.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo