SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#326 2012-11-16 04:57:38

jed
#! CrunchBanger
From: Detachment 7
Registered: 2012-08-28
Posts: 191
Website

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

Ok, I'm back....  Some stuff is weird though.  Menu's are different.  Looks really basic.  Conky no longer transparent etc...

Jed

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#327 2012-11-16 04:58:54

jed
#! CrunchBanger
From: Detachment 7
Registered: 2012-08-28
Posts: 191
Website

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

And yes, but not until I had done it on two consecutive boot-ins.
Jed
(the xfce4-panel -q)

Offline

#328 2012-11-16 04:59:07

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

Ahhh You missed my edit...

What file manager are you using?


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#329 2012-11-16 05:01:45

jed
#! CrunchBanger
From: Detachment 7
Registered: 2012-08-28
Posts: 191
Website

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

I was using spacefm...

Offline

#330 2012-11-16 05:03:56

jed
#! CrunchBanger
From: Detachment 7
Registered: 2012-08-28
Posts: 191
Website

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

Now it's using thunar

Offline

#331 2012-11-16 05:04:39

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

Copy the contents of

/etc/skel/.config/xfce4/

to ~/.config/

Restart and you may need to tweak a few things...

Sorry, I wish I had seen you had resolved it sooner...


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#332 2012-11-16 05:06:15

jed
#! CrunchBanger
From: Detachment 7
Registered: 2012-08-28
Posts: 191
Website

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

Just went and changed my preferred apps back to what I had...
Jed

Offline

#333 2012-11-16 05:08:30

jed
#! CrunchBanger
From: Detachment 7
Registered: 2012-08-28
Posts: 191
Website

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

OK, did that.  Should I reboot?
Jed

Offline

#334 2012-11-16 05:09:23

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

log out and back in should suffice... But, turn off the Save this session, just for this logout.


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#335 2012-11-16 05:09:38

jed
#! CrunchBanger
From: Detachment 7
Registered: 2012-08-28
Posts: 191
Website

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

Not a problem.  Learning is learning...
Gonna reboot, back in a sec...

Jed

Offline

#336 2012-11-16 05:10:56

jed
#! CrunchBanger
From: Detachment 7
Registered: 2012-08-28
Posts: 191
Website

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

How and where do I turn that off?  The "Save this Session"...  Haven't rebooted or logged out yet...

Jed

Offline

#337 2012-11-16 05:11:52

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

It is an option that you can check/uncheck on the logout dialogue box at the bottom


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#338 2012-11-16 05:13:42

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

Actually it doesn't matter... just log on out and back in


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#339 2012-11-16 05:14:45

jed
#! CrunchBanger
From: Detachment 7
Registered: 2012-08-28
Posts: 191
Website

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

Just saw it on the logout!  Wow that was quick.  Saw the check-box, saw that it was checked to save the session, muscle-memory took over and made me click on logout.  "FACEPALM"
I'm back in and everything seems to be back to normal however.

Jed

Offline

#340 2012-11-16 05:16:02

jed
#! CrunchBanger
From: Detachment 7
Registered: 2012-08-28
Posts: 191
Website

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

Actually my graphics may look a little better?  Hmmmm.

Jed

Offline

#341 2012-11-16 05:27:15

jed
#! CrunchBanger
From: Detachment 7
Registered: 2012-08-28
Posts: 191
Website

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

Looks like once again, you've saved the day!  Thanks for the help, it is appreciated greatly!  Like I said, now to get Bumblebee to play nice.  Gotta figure out some stuff about my display.  Also have to evidently manually configure xorg.conf...  We'll see how it all goes.

Thanks again,

Jed

Offline

#342 2012-11-18 10:10:03

MrPink
#! CrunchBanger
From: .dk
Registered: 2011-06-28
Posts: 213

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

I have used your guide to install sid, but I am not sure it was a good idea to add experimental to the sources.list. I has resulted in a bloody mess on my pc. Whenever I want to install a program, I can only do it, if I pull half of the dependencies from experimental, and some programs will not install at all, spacefm for instance..
I am considering downgrading everything to sid, because this is not good.  neutral

Offline

#343 2012-11-18 10:29:33

el_koraco
#!/loony/bun
From: inside Ed
Registered: 2011-07-25
Posts: 4,749

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

Huh? Did you set preferences separately? By default, experimental gets an apt pin value of 1, meaning nothing will be pulled from there unless you explicitly make it so.

Offline

#344 2012-11-18 10:35:53

MrPink
#! CrunchBanger
From: .dk
Registered: 2011-06-28
Posts: 213

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

It works now. The library at fault was libglib2.0-0, which was pulled from experimental, but gtk needs the version from sid, otherwise I could only install gtk apps from experimental.  hmm

edit: ...and glib-networking was also pulled from experimental, which made me unable to install Midori.

What could have caused this? A dist-upgrade before apt-pinning?

Last edited by MrPink (2012-11-18 10:45:44)

Offline

#345 2012-11-18 11:13:52

el_koraco
#!/loony/bun
From: inside Ed
Registered: 2011-07-25
Posts: 4,749

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

I have no idea.

Offline

#346 2012-11-18 16:17:11

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

@MrPink

It was caused by experimental have higher priority in preferences, as el_koraco pointed out.

What do you mean by doing a dist-upgrade before apt-pinning?

@el_korako

Cool new avatar!


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#347 2012-11-18 18:11:58

MrPink
#! CrunchBanger
From: .dk
Registered: 2011-06-28
Posts: 213

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

^ Experimental is has a priority of 100 and Sid is 990.
I did it all myself, because there were a lot of stuff in your scripts, I didn't need. I may or may not have done a dist-upgrade before I made the /apt/preferences file, though I don't think it is the case. I was just wondering, whether that could have been the reason for the mess.

But no worries, I have downgraded all that needs downgrading, and I'm certain it was my own fault  lol

Offline

#348 2012-12-02 09:11:19

Gordon
#! CrunchBanger
From: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 238

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

Hi VastOne

I tried your how to yesterday and all was going great, a very easy how to to follow by the way and great How To, until it asked me to reboot the system and now I am stuck as it only goes as far as " welcome to grub " and then hangs. Let me tell you what I did. I followed your how to to install the business card ISO on a usb stick, my idea being that I could take it with me and have a Linux OS on any PC that would boot up from a usb stick, all went well until it asked to write the grub to the hard drive and as stated I said yes did the clock bit OK and then said reboot and that is as far as I got. I am guessing that as I was installing on a usb stick that I shouldn't have written the grub thing to the hard drive so I might have to start that again, I don't know though. My question is can you help me get the grub bit back working or will I have to do a complete reinstall again. Either way I'm easy, just another learning curve. cool  By the way I am using Puppy Racy to post this.


Cheers smile smile
Gordon
Using Janice Testing at present also sid and systemd and  VSIDO
A7N8X delux motherboard, 1 GB ram, AMD ATHLON XP 2800+ ( 2255 Mhz ), Nvidia Geforce PNY 62000 graphics card

Offline

#349 2012-12-02 15:33:45

dura
Bloated Gimp
From: interzone
Registered: 2012-09-15
Posts: 2,106

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

VastOne wrote:

Choose a mirror of the Debian archive
Protocol for file downloads: choose http or ftp
Debian archive mirror country: choose your country
Debian Archive mirror: choose your preferred mirror
HTTP Proxy information (blank for none): insert proxy settings otherwise leave blank
Debian version to install: sid - unstable

I get no option of installing sid at this point. Should I expect it later?

Edit: Sorry, I hadn't noted I need to click the 'Expert Options'

Last edited by dura (2012-12-02 15:48:28)

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#350 2012-12-02 17:27:08

dura
Bloated Gimp
From: interzone
Registered: 2012-09-15
Posts: 2,106

Re: Debian Netinstal Sid - Yet Another How To

Doh, I really liked this until aborting VastOne's install baseonly.sh script just installed everything anyway and seems to have borked it...

It was going to tty login, and now after the baseonly.sh script it doesn't.

Probably my own mistake. Running through the install again now anyway.

Last edited by dura (2012-12-02 17:43:53)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo