SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#51 2012-01-19 00:39:24

kri5
#! Die Hard
From: L.G.C. UK
Registered: 2011-11-10
Posts: 568

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

Try it without the F

panel_items = LTSC

Then you can tweak the size and positions .. we will get you there

That seems to have done the trick! Cheers!!!

With the 'F' in the statement the open tasks would sometimes display and sometimes not, occasionally they would disappear, strange,


#! Waldorf - 64bit - Xfce

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#52 2012-01-19 00:41:00

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

Yes, I talked to the developer of the F function and he is aware of it... So there may be a fix soon.  I just do not use F with tasks...

I am glad you got it going, I really appreciate your help and patience...


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#53 2012-01-19 00:44:40

kri5
#! Die Hard
From: L.G.C. UK
Registered: 2011-11-10
Posts: 568

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

Thanks! and I yours lol.

I have a couple of questions though:

Even though i specified the 'Clarity' icon set, i still get the default application icons as the launchers:

# Launchers
launcher_icon_theme = Clarity
launcher_padding = 4 2 3
launcher_background_id = 1
launcher_icon_size = 0
launcher_apps_dir = /home/kris/.tint2launchers/

Also when i select the 'iceweasel' launcher, it opens another instance and not the one that is already open.


#! Waldorf - 64bit - Xfce

Offline

#54 2012-01-19 00:49:23

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

Back on the initial post and How To... It covers the launchers with the section on

Here is how to create and use launch

I have never been able to get tint2 to use another icon theme.. that may be something you want to ask about at the Google Code site

I always tell tint2 to use specific icons in the .desktop file and I also tweak any app icons in various areas


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#55 2012-01-19 00:55:36

kri5
#! Die Hard
From: L.G.C. UK
Registered: 2011-11-10
Posts: 568

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

OK, i have already carried out all the stages you detailed in the 'how to' regarding creating and using launch.

I presume therefore that if i want icedove and iceweasel to use Clarity icons and to launch correctly i need to create my own .desktop file as below for each?

You can also build your own .desktop file, here is a sample of one I have created.

05-pithos.desktop

[Desktop Entry]
Type=Application
Name=Pithos
Exec=launch pithos
Icon=/home/vastone/images/music.png
Categories=Audio;AudioVideo;
StartupNotify=true

Last edited by kri5 (2012-01-19 00:57:17)


#! Waldorf - 64bit - Xfce

Offline

#56 2012-01-19 00:58:25

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

^ Or edit the one that is there to specify where the icon is.. that is what I do..

If you have already created ~/bin/launch then it should be working... and only one instance opening when you click it..  Is that in the .desktop file like

Exec=launch pithos

VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#57 2012-01-19 00:59:38

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

^ Let me investigate the Clarity / Icon issue at the Google Code Site


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#58 2012-01-19 01:06:29

kri5
#! Die Hard
From: L.G.C. UK
Registered: 2011-11-10
Posts: 568

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

My .desktop file for icedove is as follows:

[Desktop Entry]
Name=Icedove Mail/News
Comment=Read/Write Mail/News with Icedove
GenericName=Mail Client
Exec=icedove %u
Terminal=false
X-MultipleArgs=false
Type=Application
Icon=icedove
Categories=Network;Email;News;GTK;
MimeType=message/rfc822;
StartupWMClass=Icedove-bin
StartupNotify=true
Name[ca]=Client de correu Icedove
Name[cs]=Poštovní klient Icedove
Name[fi]=Icedove-sähköposti
Name[fr]=Messagerie Icedove
Name[ja]=Icedove メールクライアント
Name[pl]=Klient poczty Icedove
Name[pt_BR]=Cliente de E-mail Icedove
Name[sv]=E-postklienten Icedove
Comment[ca]=Llegiu i escriviu correu
Comment[cs]=Čtení a psaní pošty
Comment[de]=Emails lesen und verfassen
Comment[fi]=Lue ja kirjoita sähköposteja
Comment[fr]=Lire et écrire des courriels
Comment[it]=Leggere e scrivere email
Comment[ja]=メールの読み書き
Comment[pl]=Czytanie i wysyłanie e-maili
Comment[pt_BR]=Ler e escrever suas mensagens
Comment[sv]=Läs och skriv e-post
GenericName[ja]=メールクライアント

I presume therefore that i just add 'launch' to the exec path and add the path to the icon i want?


#! Waldorf - 64bit - Xfce

Offline

#59 2012-01-19 01:08:19

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

Yes..  that is how each launcher must be setup to correctly use launch and your icon you want

Do you use Clarity as your X or theme icons too?


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#60 2012-01-19 01:14:00

kri5
#! Die Hard
From: L.G.C. UK
Registered: 2011-11-10
Posts: 568

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

Do you use Clarity as your X or theme icons too?

I do, they look really nice on the systray, i like all my icons the same style and colour.

Just changed the .desktop file and the launcher works fine now, the icon has changed also.
I just need to find the right icon for the job now.

I believe everything is working fine, it was a long battle but worth it in the end.

Many thanks for help, it's much appreciated.


#! Waldorf - 64bit - Xfce

Offline

#61 2012-01-19 01:16:33

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

Sure... Just one more thing.. You know you can have multiple instances of Tint2 also?  I have 3 in my setup .. One just or launchers, one just for Tasks and one for systray clock etc...

Anyway, it has been fun and enjoy!

Cheers!


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#62 2012-01-19 01:26:27

kri5
#! Die Hard
From: L.G.C. UK
Registered: 2011-11-10
Posts: 568

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

Sure... Just one more thing.. You know you can have multiple instances of Tint2 also?  I have 3 in my setup .. One just or launchers, one just for Tasks and one for systray clock etc...

I wasn't aware of that, perhaps that'll be something to experiment with at later date, i'll sort this out first, best learn to walk before i run a marathon lol.


#! Waldorf - 64bit - Xfce

Offline

#63 2012-02-04 19:04:14

joypunk
Member
Registered: 2012-01-27
Posts: 27

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

VastOne wrote:
launcher_apps_dir = ~/.tint2launchers

FYI, this code doesn't work. You can't use the ~/ shortcut, you have to spell out the location

launcher_apps_dir = /home/username/.tint2launchers

Offline

#64 2012-02-04 19:45:59

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

That is correct.... Found and corrected it


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#65 2012-02-04 19:49:23

joypunk
Member
Registered: 2012-01-27
Posts: 27

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

Edit: you're fast.

Last edited by joypunk (2012-02-04 19:49:55)

Offline

#66 2012-02-04 19:50:09

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

See my update .. found and corrected it.

Thanks for pointing it out...


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#67 2012-02-08 20:51:44

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

UPDATE - 08 February 2012

Using the launchers the same as tasks is now doable now thanks to my friend ToZ.  The  launch file on the first page and instructions has been updated and now uses wmctrl and xdotool and:

This script acts as a launcher for apps that observes the following rules:

1. If the app is not running, then start it up
2. If the app is running, don't start a second instance, instead:
2a. If the app does not have focus, give it focus
2b. If the app has focus, minimize it


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#68 2012-10-13 19:36:57

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 9,961
Website

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

  13 Oct 12 | 16:35:23 ~
         $ sudo apt-get install cmake
[sudo] password for sector11: 
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
  cmake-data emacsen-common libarchive12 libxmlrpc-core-c3
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  cmake cmake-data emacsen-common libarchive12 libxmlrpc-core-c3
0 upgraded, 5 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 6,599 kB of archives.
After this operation, 16.1 MB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? 
Get:1 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid/main libarchive12 amd64 3.0.4-2 [303 kB]
Get:2 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid/main libxmlrpc-core-c3 amd64 1.16.33-3.2 [186 kB]
Get:3 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid/main emacsen-common all 2.0.3 [20.3 kB]
Get:4 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid/main cmake-data all 2.8.9-1 [1,359 kB]                                  
Get:5 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid/main cmake amd64 2.8.9-1 [4,730 kB]                                     
Fetched 6,599 kB in 28s (228 kB/s)                                                                                 
Retrieving bug reports... Done
Parsing Found/Fixed information... Done
serious bugs of emacsen-common (-> 2.0.3) <unfixed>
 #676424 - emacsen-common: debian-startup puts items before /usr/local directories in load-path, violating policy
 #677191 - emacsen-common: errors while upgrading to wheezy(some time ago) => wheezy(today)
Summary:
 emacsen-common(2 bugs)
Are you sure you want to install/upgrade the above packages? [Y/n/?/...] 

I said NO - any suggestions?

Offline

#69 2012-10-13 19:42:29

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

I have it installed and have for several months with no issues...

And have built several apps with cmake...  Best I can tell you is it is a non issue.


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#70 2012-10-13 21:17:33

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 9,961
Website

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

VastOne wrote:

I have it installed and have for several months with no issues...

And have built several apps with cmake...  Best I can tell you is it is a non issue.

OH! OK... Thanks...

Offline

#71 2012-10-17 15:11:20

ew
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-09-27
Posts: 1,975

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

Hi...

I`m setting up a launcher panel(tint2) and for the most part it`s working, but I have a couple of issues. I have managed to link to the google-chrome. desktop file, but it starts in incognito mode, and I have tried a lot, but I cant make chrome launch in normal mode from the launcher panel. When I start it from the menus, then it launches as it should.

Secondly. I`m trying to make a cb-exit desktop file. Running the command from terminal works just fine, but my desktop configuration file doesn`t seem to work. Can anyone post or link to a cb-exit. desktop file that I can put in /usr/share/applications to use as a launcher in my tint2 script? Or point me in the right direction if the desktop file exists in another location. I do find a python script in /usr/bin named cb-exit, and executing it does exactly what I want my desktop file to do. But it isn`t a launcher, and I cant seem to make it work as a laucher:)

Thankful for any tips that could lead me to a solution, because these two launchers are essential to make my tint2 configuration complete. Then I just have to fine tune the visual appearence:)

This is how my configuration looks right now. Mission not complete, but getting there:)

zz.png

Update. Google Chrome problem solved. Removed the entrys for new window and new incognito window in the desktop file, and now it launches in regular mode as I wanted to. Well, CB-exit next...

Last edited by ew (2012-10-17 22:39:27)


- Vacant account

Offline

#72 2012-10-17 23:55:18

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

Hey there EW...

Easy enough to create a .desktop file..

This is one I use for the OB tint2 side that works

06-oblogout.desktop

[Desktop Entry]
Version=1.0
Type=Application
Exec=/usr/bin/cb-exit
Icon=system-log-out
StartupNotify=false
Terminal=false
Name=Log Out

Comment=Log out of the OpenBox Desktop

Just save that as  06-oblogout.desktop in the same directory that you have your other launchers in

You may have to tweak this line to reflect what icon you want to use and where it is at

Icon=system-log-out

I use this one, right click it and save it to you /home/your user name/images... you can use it or whatever you want... Just make sure the path is correct in that Icon= line above...  In other words, you may have to put the entire path .. like this

Icon=/home/your user name/images/system-log-out

Of course that is a sample...

Good luck and let me know how it goes or if you need anything else...


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#73 2012-10-18 01:07:21

ew
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-09-27
Posts: 1,975

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

VastOne wrote:

Good luck and let me know how it goes or if you need anything else...

Thanks, I somehow got it working by copying the geany desktop file, and edited it, but it doesn`t look anything like yours. I guess there was a lot more info in that file, but I still made it work. Now I will use your file instead, because it looks a lot better. It`s even possible that I`m able to understand your file. That is not the case with the one I created.

I haven`t organised it as you have done in your guide. I just started playing with it, and are linking my launchers directly to usr/share/applications, and not to home/user/.tint2launchers as you suggested. Now that I see that I actually can make this work, then I will structure everything according to your guide. Because as my configuration is right now, it`s not easy to transfer to the new pc that hopefully will arrive any day now....

Anyway, this is where I am right now. I have a lot more tweaking left to do, and the three tint2 panels, the three conky windows, and my wallaper are more or less randomly choosed and placed just to keep them apart until I get the hang of this, so that I feel I`m ready to create a full custom desktop look, organised in a manner that makes it easy to transfer to other pc`s, and easy to change to match my mood at any time. In the far feature I may be able to set my mood at login, and be greeted with the according desktop. I guess I`m not there yet, but that day will come. A bit ambitious for a linux-newbie, but why not... smile

screenshot-10182012-022332am.png

This is the look right now. It`s 3.01 here in Norway, so I guess it`s bedtime. I will resume my mission tomorrow:)


- Vacant account

Offline

#74 2012-10-18 23:41:41

elboy71
Member
Registered: 2012-05-12
Posts: 10

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

I have built the Debian Business Card install and now I'm configuring tint as you describe here but I got stuck:

oscar@debian:~$ cd tint2-read-only
oscar@debian:~/tint2-read-only$ patch -p0 < src-task-align.patch
can't find file to patch at input line 5
Perhaps you used the wrong -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|Index: src/panel.h
|===================================================================
|--- src/panel.h    (revision 639)
|+++ src/panel.h    (working copy)
--------------------------
File to patch: 1   
1: No such file or directory
Skip this patch? [y] n
File to patch:

     What's next???

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#75 2012-10-18 23:44:54

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: How To - Latest Tint2 Code and New Tint2 Additions

It looks as if this step was missed or the files were extracted to the wrong directory

Download this file:

Tint2 Patch Files

and extract the three files to ~/tint2-read-only

... The easiest way to confirm is to go to ~/tint2-read-only
and verify that the files are there.


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo