SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-09-28 09:17:21

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,057
Website

Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

Updated Waldorf images are available now.

The new images should be considered a reissue of the previous builds, built to correct a bug in the install process which rendered partman unable to create a working filesystem table.

Normally, I prefer to give each set of development builds a fairly lengthy trial before updating them, but in this case, I considered the bug important enough to warrant a quick turnaround. My apologies for any inconvenience.

Others changes have been kept to a minimum, with the exception of:

  • New installations will now use the new Debian repository redirector service.

  • A new metapackage, 'cb-metapackage', was used during the build process. The metapackage recommends all packages used in the default install.

  • A new config package, 'cb-configs', was used to include all default #! rc files distributed to '/etc/skel'.

As always with the development images, these builds are not recommended for anyone who requires a stable system, or is not happy running into occasional breakages. That said, thank you to everyone who helped by installing and testing the previous images. You are all awesome! smile

If you install these builds and you have any feedback, please do not hesitate to post a reply. Thank you.

Last edited by corenominal (2012-09-28 10:07:47)

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2012-09-28 09:47:24

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 12,538

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

Wow - that was fast!  (Don't say it - it's too easy.)

Just for clarification, did the partman bug come from upstream?


I'm a moderator here.  How are we doing?  Feedback is encouraged.

Offline

#3 2012-09-28 10:05:25

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,057
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

pvsage wrote:

Just for clarification, did the partman bug come from upstream?

Yes. It crept into the build scripts between the previous two builds. It is yet to be resolved upstream and there seems to be some conflicting ideas as to which package the bug belongs to. For now, I have patched the #! build scripts with a workaround. Also, I would have had the new builds ready earlier, but more upstream changes meant that yesterday I had a full day of fixing broken code. As you say, stuff happens! smile

Also, if the last couple of days are anything to go by, I would estimate that Wheezy is still a fair way off from migrating to stable; parts of the installer are under heavy development and it will require a whole lot more testing. Anyhow, I am hoping these builds will provide for a longer period of testing and therefore allow more time for bug squashing on the default desktop apps.

Last edited by corenominal (2012-09-28 10:43:30)

Offline

#4 2012-09-28 10:25:28

logs_con
#! CrunchBanger
From: Farnham Surrey
Registered: 2009-12-10
Posts: 104
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

I'm posting from the new build. (Just finished running the welcome script now)

Nothing out of the ordinary to report. Installation went smoothly, everything seems to work as it should.

All three images seeding from the server for a while.

Cheers,

T


This week's operating systems (subject to change)
LAPTOP : Crunchbang Waldorf AMD64 Openbox / openSUSE 13.1 x86_64 KDE 4.12 / Win7 64bit
DESKTOP : Crunchbang Waldorf AMD64 Openbox / openSUSE 13.1 x86_64 KDE 4.11.3 / Winvista 64bit

Offline

#5 2012-09-28 10:27:16

Erinsfan
#! CrunchBanger
From: At a terminal
Registered: 2011-01-28
Posts: 148

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

corenominal wrote:

...built to correct a bug in the install process which rendered partman unable to create a working filesystem table.

corenominal: what does that mean in laymans terms please? To ask another way, is that why my LVM wasn't recognised after the install?

Thank you


Enjoying a good !#

Offline

#6 2012-09-28 10:34:00

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,057
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

Erinsfan wrote:
corenominal wrote:

...built to correct a bug in the install process which rendered partman unable to create a working filesystem table.

corenominal: what does that mean in laymans terms please? To ask another way, is that why my LVM wasn't recognised after the install?

Thank you

Yes. Basically, the filesystem table (/etc/fstab) is used to mount partitions on boot. There was an issue in the last build that caused partman to not populate this file during the install process. It should now be fixed. smile

Offline

#7 2012-09-28 10:35:41

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,057
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

logs_con wrote:

I'm posting from the new build. (Just finished running the welcome script now)

Nothing out of the ordinary to report. Installation went smoothly, everything seems to work as it should.

All three images seeding from the server for a while.

Excellent, thank you. smile

Offline

#8 2012-09-28 11:56:00

ElQuia
#! CrunchBanger
From: Cordoba, Argentina
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 141

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

Guys:; please question:

To do a full distro upgrade do I have to download iso and reinstall EACH time a new build comes out?

OR can I: apt-get update &&apt-get dist-upgrade ????


*La vida no es esperar a que pase la tormenta, es aprender a bailar bajo la lluvia...
(Life is not waiting for the storm to pass, it's learning to dance under the rain...)

*Death smiles at us all. All a man can do is smile back.

Offline

#9 2012-09-28 13:33:02

afab4
Member
From: Stony Lake, Michigan
Registered: 2012-08-16
Posts: 23

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

Downloaded 64 bit and the install seems to work smoothly with no error near the end of the install as before.
Wireless works well.  Thunar mounts my network shares just fine.
However, Thunar will not mount the other partitions on my hard drive.
They show in the side pane but when I click on them it says they must be opened as root but no dialog box pops up to put in the sudo password.
If I try to open them as sudo in a terminal it states the other partitions do not exist.
When I open thunar as root, the partitions don't show up at all.


I support the candidate that will steal the least from me....

Offline

#10 2012-09-28 13:37:14

chameleon
UK #! Guy
From: Luxembourg
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 680
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

A fresh install of Waldorf 20120927 64bit;

-> No further requests from the installer for the Debian Wheezy disk big_smile
-> Install completes as expected and disk is ejected big_smile
-> Post install script download speed nice and fast big_smile
-> /etc/fstab is created big_smile

I was unable to use GUI menu editor to change xchat to weechat, gftp to filezilla , for example.
I had to manually edit the menu.xml file to change the commands
sad

Thanks for the updated ISO Corenominal!

Last edited by chameleon (2012-09-28 14:22:11)

Offline

#11 2012-09-28 15:15:09

jst_joe
#! Junkie
From: Here, There and After
Registered: 2012-07-03
Posts: 287

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

WOW!
Everything about the install was very fast (64bit), new Debian repository redirector worked great.

And the update, here in what 2 days!

Do you ever sleep? smile


A person who has a cat by the tail knows a whole lot more about cats than someone who has just read about them.
Mark Twain

Offline

#12 2012-09-28 15:48:32

pghjake
#! Member
From: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Registered: 2009-02-07
Posts: 79

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

Echo afab4. Same problems with permissions on 64 bit install. fstab correctly written.

Offline

#13 2012-09-28 16:13:11

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 2,953
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

corenominal wrote:

Others changes have been kept to a minimum, with the exception of:

  • New installations will now use the new Debian repository redirector service.

  • A new metapackage, 'cb-metapackage', was used during the build process. The metapackage recommends all packages used in the default install.

  • A new config package, 'cb-configs', was used to include all default #! rc files distributed to '/etc/skel'.

These all seem like good changes though. smile
Only: "The metapackage recommends..." not "depends on..."? Doesn't CruncgBang set apt to --no-install-recommends by default?


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
#! forum moderator

Offline

#14 2012-09-28 16:27:15

ElQuia
#! CrunchBanger
From: Cordoba, Argentina
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 141

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

ElQuia wrote:

Guys:; please question:

To do a full distro upgrade do I have to download iso and reinstall EACH time a new build comes out?

OR can I: apt-get update &&apt-get dist-upgrade ????


AnyOne Please?

(sorry for being insistent)


*La vida no es esperar a que pase la tormenta, es aprender a bailar bajo la lluvia...
(Life is not waiting for the storm to pass, it's learning to dance under the rain...)

*Death smiles at us all. All a man can do is smile back.

Offline

#15 2012-09-28 16:29:41

jst_joe
#! Junkie
From: Here, There and After
Registered: 2012-07-03
Posts: 287

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

chameleon wrote:

A fresh install of Waldorf 20120927 64bit;

-> No further requests from the installer for the Debian Wheezy disk big_smile
-> Install completes as expected and disk is ejected big_smile
-> Post install script download speed nice and fast big_smile
-> /etc/fstab is created big_smile

I was unable to use GUI menu editor to change xchat to weechat, gftp to filezilla , for example.
I had to manually edit the menu.xml file to change the commands
sad

Thanks for the updated ISO Corenominal!

I've noticed that the GUI menu editor still uses <execute> instead of <command> so it only changes the label in menu.xml unless you create a new entry.


A person who has a cat by the tail knows a whole lot more about cats than someone who has just read about them.
Mark Twain

Offline

#16 2012-09-28 16:35:51

jst_joe
#! Junkie
From: Here, There and After
Registered: 2012-07-03
Posts: 287

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

pghjake wrote:

Echo afab4. Same problems with permissions on 64 bit install. fstab correctly written.

Are the partitions or drives being writen to fstab?
If they are create an empty folder as root at their mount point.


A person who has a cat by the tail knows a whole lot more about cats than someone who has just read about them.
Mark Twain

Offline

#17 2012-09-28 16:45:41

pghjake
#! Member
From: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Registered: 2009-02-07
Posts: 79

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

^^Same as afab4, this is within thunar.

Offline

#18 2012-09-28 16:52:55

jst_joe
#! Junkie
From: Here, There and After
Registered: 2012-07-03
Posts: 287

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

pghjake wrote:

^^Same as afab4, this is within thunar.

You can install disk-manager and it will edit fstab and create the necessary folders.
Then just drag the folders from /mount to the left side of Thunar.

EDIT: /media not /mount

Last edited by jst_joe (2012-09-28 17:12:44)


A person who has a cat by the tail knows a whole lot more about cats than someone who has just read about them.
Mark Twain

Offline

#19 2012-09-28 17:30:11

afab4
Member
From: Stony Lake, Michigan
Registered: 2012-08-16
Posts: 23

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

jst_joe wrote:
pghjake wrote:

^^Same as afab4, this is within thunar.

You can install disk-manager and it will edit fstab and create the necessary folders.
Then just drag the folders from /mount to the left side of Thunar.

EDIT: /media not /mount

Yes, this worked.  The partition entries are now in fstab and they mount on boot.  SO problem overcome thanks to your post.  Problem created still exists though to be solved in the next release.
Thanks for your help.


I support the candidate that will steal the least from me....

Offline

#20 2012-09-28 17:46:22

jst_joe
#! Junkie
From: Here, There and After
Registered: 2012-07-03
Posts: 287

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

^^You're welcome! Glad I could help.


A person who has a cat by the tail knows a whole lot more about cats than someone who has just read about them.
Mark Twain

Offline

#21 2012-09-28 19:08:24

Milozzy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 622
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

Great job Philip!
Thank you very much, among the other things, for cb-configs smile

Offline

#22 2012-09-28 19:58:53

Erinsfan
#! CrunchBanger
From: At a terminal
Registered: 2011-01-28
Posts: 148

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

i486 image installed perfectly on VB. Config was 512MB RAM, 3GB HDD, encrypted LVM.

It looks good and works well.


Enjoying a good !#

Offline

#23 2012-09-28 21:00:56

SabreWolfy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2009-03-09
Posts: 1,285

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

ElQuia wrote:

Guys:; please question:

To do a full distro upgrade do I have to download iso and reinstall EACH time a new build comes out?

OR can I: apt-get update &&apt-get dist-upgrade ????

This thread is for the current Waldorf testing images, so these would require a reinstall each time. Waldorf is in testing phase at this point.

Once the final Waldorf release is made, sometime in the future, you would be best advised to reinstall the final version. There are some upgrade scripts AFAIK -- search these forums for more information.


Support #!Waldorf • Debian sid • Xubuntu • siduction • Peppermint • OpenBox • Xfce • LXDE •

Offline

#24 2012-09-28 21:38:47

VDP76
#! Bean Roaster
Registered: 2012-04-12
Posts: 833

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

corenominal, thanks for your continuous great job! smile

corenominal wrote:

The new images should be considered a reissue of the previous builds, built to correct a bug in the install process which rendered partman unable to create a working filesystem table.

is that the reason for Waldorf giving me such errors

Disk /dev/mapper/debian-home doesn't contain a valid partition table

for all LVM on two different laptops!? in such case, is it better to re-install!?
thanks


#!#!#! Forum etiquette #!#!#!
Are you a new member!? Have you introduced yourself?!
CLI basics | LVM | smxi | chrooting | multiarch

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#25 2012-09-29 05:22:57

vicshrike
#! by Default
From: /grill
Registered: 2009-02-13
Posts: 3,060

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120927

Oooops, that was fast, will do a reinstall later today to see how it works, am torrenting atm. Is there a better way to spend a Saturday? big_smile


#!, all else is but a shadow.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo