SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#26 2012-08-09 14:33:48

chameleon
UK #! Guy
From: Luxembourg
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 678
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

@machinebacon
Yep no problems with the cb-welcome...

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#27 2012-08-09 14:40:56

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,631
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

Can you try:
1) check if you have an entry in

cat /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list

2a) if yes, do:

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install -y google-chrome-stable

2b) if no, let us know smile

Offline

#28 2012-08-09 14:47:48

chameleon
UK #! Guy
From: Luxembourg
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 678
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

neil@prometheus:~$ cat /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list
### THIS FILE IS AUTOMATICALLY CONFIGURED ###
# You may comment out this entry, but any other modifications may be lost.
deb [url]http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/[/url] stable main

However, when the script did not run I simply downloaded Google Chrome from the Google website and;

sudo dpkg -i google-chrome-stable_current_amd64.deb

Google Chrome is installed on my machine - I was just pointing out a possible issue with the script.

Offline

#29 2012-08-09 14:50:55

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,631
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

That's why I am asking: the script uses the sudo apt-get install command, and not the manual deb -> dpkg installation. If you run the sudo apt-get install -y google-chrome-stable and it would (!) offer to install, you simply enter N and we know that the script is ok wink Because here it did work (I use VPN, though, so it can be that your ISP blocks something)

Offline

#30 2012-08-09 14:53:59

elvaqueroloco
#! CrunchBanger
From: #! Rodeo bucking chute
Registered: 2012-03-25
Posts: 121

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

@corepa@ Thanks for your hard work!

This explain why my reinstall early this morning took foooooorever when using the cb-welcome script after popping in the cd with the previous Waldorf image.  Mystery explained! big_smile

I thought it was me getting my just deserts for being so brazen as to try and install XFCE 4.10 from 4.8 and borking my machine. tongue  It was kinda a noobtastic mess. roll


To say that any people are not fit for freedom, is to make poverty their choice, and to say they had rather be loaded with taxes than not. - Thomas Paine

Offline

#31 2012-08-09 15:05:46

chameleon
UK #! Guy
From: Luxembourg
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 678
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

@machinebacon

neil@prometheus:~$  sudo apt-get install -y google-chrome-stable
[sudo] password for neil: 
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
google-chrome-stable is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
neil@prometheus:~$ 

Not sure what happened for the menu entry not to work...

Offline

#32 2012-08-09 15:29:32

kelean
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-01-21
Posts: 178

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

dom wrote:
sano wrote:

I am having the same problem as reported here: Live works fine, but the installer won't advance past "Detect disks". The old testing release installed just fine.
I was trying to install it on a fairly new laptop with  a 1TB HD, Windows 7 and Waldorf-20120430 already installed.
If you need any more information, or if there's anything I should/could try please let me know.

Same problem here. Running a Thinkpad X200s with a SSD drive. The installer stops when it says "Detect disks" just before it should show the partition options.


This the same problem I ran into.  There a couple of screens that flash very quickly before it stops that I cannot read.

@machinebacon I have Statler and XP currently installed.  Some days I miss the text based installer.

Offline

#33 2012-08-09 15:33:22

lcafiero
The #! Guy
From: Felton, California, USA
Registered: 2011-07-21
Posts: 2,196
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

Just installed on a ThinkPad T30 (the 32-bit) and putting it through its paces. So far, so good.


Res publica non dominetur | Larry the CrunchBang Guy speaks of the pompetous of CrunchBang

CrunchBang Forum moderator

Offline

#34 2012-08-09 15:34:57

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,631
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

Can you prepare a free space (format to ext4, label it "CB11" so you will have it easier later) in Statler using gparted and then reboot and run the installer again?

Offline

#35 2012-08-09 15:40:56

uke-eda
Member
Registered: 2012-01-09
Posts: 23

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

After some playing around with it I have to say I like it very much. A very polished release. Very nice.

Cb-welcome script and Chromium install script worked both fine.

The only thing I noticed is that Thunar still has no trash and network folder when run as root. As I seem to be the only one who misses that it won't count I guess:-)

Last edited by uke-eda (2012-08-09 15:41:26)

Offline

#36 2012-08-09 16:13:41

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,057
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

chameleon wrote:

Some feedback;
->The script to install Google Chrome fails;
2012_08_09_1344520267_644x107_scrot.jpg

Not a show stopper as I installed it from the Google site.

Interesting. I have seen this happen before when another process has a lock on APT. I don't suppose this is what happened? Were you running through cb-welcome or similar at the same time? I should probably update the scripts to include some sanity checking for this event.

Offline

#37 2012-08-09 16:32:02

kelean
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-01-21
Posts: 178

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

machinebacon wrote:

Can you prepare a free space (format to ext4, label it "CB11" so you will have it easier later) in Statler using gparted and then reboot and run the installer again?

No I do not have enough free space for that I would have to do it running live and wipe out my statler install.  I will have to it tonight when I get home from work.

Offline

#38 2012-08-09 16:47:22

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,631
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

It's just a test, not sure if it brings anything. So better don't do it, if you want to keep at least Statler as working system.

Offline

#39 2012-08-09 16:48:50

chameleon
UK #! Guy
From: Luxembourg
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 678
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

@corenominal
I had finished the cb-welcome script (no issues) and some time later I thought I would install Google Chrome from the menu. I thought there might have been a connection glitch at first but I did try to run the script 3 or 4 times...
I then installed Google Chrome from the Google site.

Hope the feedback makes sense.
Congrats once more on a great release and greetz from Luxembourg!

Offline

#40 2012-08-09 16:56:04

sqlpython
#! Die Hard
From: New England
Registered: 2011-11-28
Posts: 930

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

Thank You, Phil !
Now I have to decide where to put this install.. smile


OHCG #!, Jessie,, Siduction-13.1,  Slackware 14,  Bridge,, Sabayon 13.4,

Offline

#41 2012-08-09 17:26:45

pidsley
Window Mangler
Registered: 2012-05-23
Posts: 1,752

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

Just downloaded and installed to my test machine. "dd" to a USB stick and installed with no problems at all.

Offline

#42 2012-08-09 18:54:44

Tunafish
#! Die Hard
From: the Netherlands
Registered: 2010-03-07
Posts: 1,204

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

This new version also shows colored ads on the forums...


sed 's/stress/relaxation/g'
Privacy & Security on #!

Offline

#43 2012-08-09 18:59:01

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 3,388

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

Tunafish wrote:

This new version also shows colored ads on the forums...

Amazing - I must have installed the new version in my sleep, cos I've got coloured ads as well hmm


Artwork at deviantArt;  Iceweasel Personas;  SLiM #! Themes;  Openbox themes

Offline

#44 2012-08-09 19:02:44

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,057
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

Tunafish wrote:

This new version also shows colored ads on the forums...

*chuckles*

Sorry about the adverts, but they really do help to pay the bills. If they offend, simply use an ad blocker. smile

Offline

#45 2012-08-09 19:29:53

SabreWolfy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2009-03-09
Posts: 1,285

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

^ Or click on an ad or two every now and then ...

Last edited by SabreWolfy (2012-08-09 19:30:34)


Support #!Waldorf • Debian sid • Xubuntu • siduction • Peppermint • OpenBox • Xfce • LXDE •

Offline

#46 2012-08-09 20:04:50

stavros
Member
Registered: 2011-12-16
Posts: 41

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

I installed the 64bit in Virtualbox 4.1.
No problems running the live cd or installing.

I will do some testing, but noticed two things;
- Iceweasel still in version 10
- can not connect to the internet. Don't understand why. My connection is ok (ethernet).


crunchbang-10-20120207-amd64.bpo

Offline

#47 2012-08-09 20:05:44

SabreWolfy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2009-03-09
Posts: 1,285

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

Does anyone have any experience reinstalling with encrypted /home and swap? I have / on one partition, encrypted /home on another, and encrypted swap on a third, running updated Waldorf 20120430. If I install the 20120806 release to the / partition and leave the /home partition unformatted, will the installer detect it is encrypted and set it up accordingly?

Reposted here as suggested by omns below.

Last edited by SabreWolfy (2012-08-09 20:14:24)


Support #!Waldorf • Debian sid • Xubuntu • siduction • Peppermint • OpenBox • Xfce • LXDE •

Offline

#48 2012-08-09 20:08:15

omns
#! wanderer
From: ~/
Registered: 2008-11-25
Posts: 5,131

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

^ I'd suggest starting a new thread in the Waldorf dev forum for that one SabreWolfy.

Offline

#49 2012-08-09 20:41:37

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,631
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

corenominal wrote:
Tunafish wrote:

This new version also shows colored ads on the forums...

*chuckles*

Sorry about the adverts, but they really do help to pay the bills. If they offend, simply use an ad blocker. smile

No way. Use an adblocker, and disable it on this domain. wink

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#50 2012-08-09 20:43:42

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,631
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20120806

stavros wrote:

I installed the 64bit in Virtualbox 4.1.

- can not connect to the internet. Don't understand why. My connection is ok (ethernet).

Pick another virtual network adapter (there are some NATs like Fast II or something) in the GUI of virtualbox and restart.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo