SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-01-15 14:18:57

flajeen
New Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2012-01-09
Posts: 6

Nitrogen bug

If I add a new folder for wallpapers, at the first time it detects the images in the folder, but if I add another image and go check for it on Nitrogen it doesn't appear, keeps happening if I remove and add the folder again.

Workaround: start Thunar as root and put the images in a default #! folder which I can't remember the name by now.

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2012-01-16 00:35:56

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 11,087
Website

Re: Nitrogen bug

flajeen wrote:

If I add a new folder for wallpapers, at the first time it detects the images in the folder, but if I add another image and go check for it on Nitrogen it doesn't appear, keeps happening if I remove and add the folder again.

Workaround: start Thunar as root and put the images in a default #! folder which I can't remember the name by now.

I use: /media/5/Wallpapers for my wallpapers.

I got tired of the ~/images/wallpapers/shared folder that I've always had problems with.

~/.config/nitrogen/nitrogen.cfg

[geometry]
posx=4
posy=2
sizex=1225
sizey=944

[nitrogen]
view=icon
icon_caps=false
dirs=/media/5/Wallpapers/;

~/.config/nitrogen/bg-saved.cfg

[:0.0]
file=/media/5/Wallpapers/Night_Lights.jpg
mode=2
bgcolor=#252627

[:1.0]
file=/media/5/Wallpapers/Mountain_Road_Night.jpg
mode=4
bgcolor=#000000

#! Conky = 13 Threads & the Conky Archives | Conky PitStop | OHCG'er
#! Forum Moderator   |   StartPage -  protect your privacy   |   BBQ Linux

Offline

#3 2012-03-08 05:35:08

rml
#! Member
Registered: 2012-02-10
Posts: 61

Re: Nitrogen bug

this is happening to me too, and it's not solved by editing nitrogen.cfg or bg-saved.cfg.  those config files are set to the folder and image i chose while running nitrogen.  in nitrogen the folder i selected is still in the list of added directories, but the images in that folder just don't show up in the main nitrogen window.  i have to delete the folder i previously added, click okay, then go back into preferences and re-add the folder, then the images will show up.

anyone have any idea what's going on?

Offline

#4 2012-03-08 12:28:03

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 11,087
Website

Re: Nitrogen bug

rml wrote:

this is happening to me too, and it's not solved by editing nitrogen.cfg or bg-saved.cfg.  those config files are set to the folder and image i chose while running nitrogen.  in nitrogen the folder i selected is still in the list of added directories, but the images in that folder just don't show up in the main nitrogen window.  i have to delete the folder i previously added, click okay, then go back into preferences and re-add the folder, then the images will show up.

anyone have any idea what's going on?

I may be wrong but I think nitrogen can only read sub-directories of the first directory.  The only file you should change is nitrogen.cfg, nitrogen itself creates the second: bg-saved.cfg

I have a sub-directory under:

/media/5/Wallpapers/ and nitrogen sees them:

~/.config/nitrogen/nitrogen.cfg

[geometry]
posx=4
posy=2
sizex=1225
sizey=944

[nitrogen]
view=icon
icon_caps=false
dirs=/media/5/Wallpapers/;

Last edited by Sector11 (2012-03-08 12:30:10)


#! Conky = 13 Threads & the Conky Archives | Conky PitStop | OHCG'er
#! Forum Moderator   |   StartPage -  protect your privacy   |   BBQ Linux

Offline

#5 2012-03-08 16:52:59

rml
#! Member
Registered: 2012-02-10
Posts: 61

Re: Nitrogen bug

Sector11 wrote:

...nitrogen can only read sub-directories of the first directory...

I have a sub-directory under:

/media/5/Wallpapers/ and nitrogen sees them:

is that an external hard drive named '5'?

i'm not sure what you mean by 'first directory'.  do you mean the first one in nitrogen's list?  i only have one in the list:

~/.config/nitrogen/nitrogen.cfg

[geometry]
posx=359
posy=106
sizex=450
sizey=500

[nitrogen]
view=list
icon_caps=false
dirs=/home/ryan/images/1280x800;

thanks for your help

Offline

#6 2012-03-08 16:54:32

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,619
Website

Re: Nitrogen bug

try:

dirs=/home/ryan/images/1280x800/;

in the last line, instead of

dirs=/home/ryan/images/1280x800;

Offline

#7 2012-03-08 17:04:29

rml
#! Member
Registered: 2012-02-10
Posts: 61

Re: Nitrogen bug

^ hmm, no luck...

Offline

#8 2012-03-08 17:06:01

rhowaldt
#!*$%:)
Registered: 2011-03-09
Posts: 4,396

Re: Nitrogen bug

hmm, my wallpapers are in /home/rhowaldt/images/wallpapers, and nitrogen seems to detect them just fine...

Offline

#9 2012-03-08 17:07:47

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,619
Website

Re: Nitrogen bug

^ Wallpapers are BLOAT! lol

Offline

#10 2012-03-08 17:16:37

rml
#! Member
Registered: 2012-02-10
Posts: 61

Re: Nitrogen bug

something else i've been wondering, why the same images located in both

/usr/share/backgrounds/

and

~/images/wallpapers/shared/

not links or anything, but copies of the exact same #! wallpapers that nitrogen shows by default

Offline

#11 2012-03-08 17:23:44

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 11,087
Website

Re: Nitrogen bug

rml wrote:

is that an external hard drive named '5'?

i'm not sure what you mean by 'first directory'.  do you mean the first one in nitrogen's list?  i only have one in the list:

~/.config/nitrogen/nitrogen.cfg

[geometry]
posx=359
posy=106
sizex=450
sizey=500

[nitrogen]
view=list
icon_caps=false
dirs=/home/ryan/images/1280x800;

thanks for your help


No /media/5 is a separate partition that I use for all my personal data

/media/5/Wallpapers being one of them.

And MB is right you need a semi-colon on the end:

dirs=/home/ryan/images/1280x800/;

nitrogen will read sub-directories under that.

Now if you create:

/home/ryan/images/1280x800/
/home/ryan/images/1280x800/Cars
/home/ryan/images/1280x800/Factorial
/home/ryan/images/1280x800/Themed
/home/ryan/images/1280x800/Nature

Your images will be sorted in directories, but nitrogen will see them all in one screen.

Do a test:

in /home/ryan/images/1280x800/
make s subdirectory: /home/ryan/images/1280x800/test

and copy the first 20 or so images in

/home/ryan/images/1280x800/

to

/home/ryan/images/1280x800/test

and then open nitrogen.

You'll see those images twice
Example: /media/5/Wallpapers/test
584dd0178753099.jpg

Last edited by Sector11 (2012-03-08 17:25:31)


#! Conky = 13 Threads & the Conky Archives | Conky PitStop | OHCG'er
#! Forum Moderator   |   StartPage -  protect your privacy   |   BBQ Linux

Offline

#12 2012-03-08 17:31:17

2ManyDogs
dv#!
From: elsewhere
Registered: 2011-11-22
Posts: 1,346

Re: Nitrogen bug

rml wrote:

something else i've been wondering, why the same images located in both

/usr/share/backgrounds/

and

~/images/wallpapers/shared/

not links or anything, but copies of the exact same #! wallpapers that nitrogen shows by default

Because ~/images/wallpapers/shared is a link to /usr/share/backgrounds. Select ~/images/wallpapers/shared/
in thunar and click "properties" or do this in a terminal

ls -l ~/images/wallpapers

Or try deleting one of the files in ~/images/wallpapers/shared/ without root privileges.


Be eggsalad to each other.

Offline

#13 2012-03-08 17:52:45

rml
#! Member
Registered: 2012-02-10
Posts: 61

Re: Nitrogen bug

Sector11 wrote:

...MB is right you need a semi-colon on the end:

the semi-colon was already there, that wasn't what MB suggested, MB suggested putting the '/' at the end before the semi-colon, and anyway, it didn't make a difference.

yes, images in subfolders under '1280x800' show up, but still only the first time.  only works the first time i add a folder to nitrogen.  any subsequent time i run nitrogen, the pics in the folder (and subfolders) don't show up even though the folder is still listed in nitrogen.cfg.  that's the bug i'm experiencing

Offline

#14 2012-03-08 17:54:24

rml
#! Member
Registered: 2012-02-10
Posts: 61

Re: Nitrogen bug

@2ManyDogs thx i see

Offline

#15 2012-03-08 18:09:19

rml
#! Member
Registered: 2012-02-10
Posts: 61

Re: Nitrogen bug

btw i'm running the squeeze nitrogen 1.5.1-1, anybody running the wheezy 1.5.2-1?

also i was wondering if running nitrogen as root would make some kind of difference....

Offline

#16 2012-03-08 19:07:13

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 11,087
Website

Re: Nitrogen bug

rml wrote:

btw i'm running the squeeze nitrogen 1.5.1-1, anybody running the wheezy 1.5.2-1?

also i was wondering if running nitrogen as root would make some kind of difference....

Strange....

Testing (Wheezy) with 1-5.2-1 here.

Should not need to run as root.


#! Conky = 13 Threads & the Conky Archives | Conky PitStop | OHCG'er
#! Forum Moderator   |   StartPage -  protect your privacy   |   BBQ Linux

Offline

#17 2012-03-08 19:16:21

2ManyDogs
dv#!
From: elsewhere
Registered: 2011-11-22
Posts: 1,346

Re: Nitrogen bug

I just tried on squeeze with nitrogen 1.5.1.1 and I can't duplicate the problem. I think I read all the posts, but have you tried specifying the folder in your nitrogen call:

nitrogen /home/ryan/images/1280x800

or

nitrogen /home/ryan/images

to show all the images in all the subfolders?

Last edited by 2ManyDogs (2012-03-08 19:22:56)


Be eggsalad to each other.

Offline

#18 2012-03-08 20:51:59

rml
#! Member
Registered: 2012-02-10
Posts: 61

Re: Nitrogen bug

2ManyDogs wrote:

...have you tried specifying the folder in your nitrogen call:

nitrogen /home/ryan/images/1280x800

or

nitrogen /home/ryan/images

to show all the images in all the subfolders?

Ugh!  That was it!  thanks 2MD.  i didn't expect that.  the entry in obmenu was set to

nitrogen ~/images/wallpapers/

which made it ignore nitrogen.cfg and load ~/images/wallpapers/, so i just changed the command to 'nitrogen', without folder specification, now nitrogen displays images from the correct folder, and remembers it each time i run it.

thanks @everyone for your help

Offline

#19 2012-03-08 23:03:24

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 11,087
Website

Re: Nitrogen bug

^^^ Well doesn't that just beat it all!!

In a terminal:

nitrogen

reads the config file:

[geometry]
posx=4
posy=2
sizex=1217
sizey=952

[nitrogen]
view=icon
icon_caps=false
dirs=/media/5/Wallpapers/;

... and there's all my images ....

I click on my OB menu entry:

Label: Fondos de pantalla
Execute: nitrogen --sort=alpha /media/5/Wallpapers

Shows the same info - sorted

Click on the #! OB menus entry and get - nothing!!!!

Label: Choose Wallpaper
Execute: nitrogen ~/images/wallpapers/

~/images/wallpapers does not exist!!!!

86ab51178803302.jpg

The config file is not even being used ... unless you use the command in a terminal.

So the a577a3177717950.jpg is on all of us!!


#! Conky = 13 Threads & the Conky Archives | Conky PitStop | OHCG'er
#! Forum Moderator   |   StartPage -  protect your privacy   |   BBQ Linux

Offline

#20 2012-03-09 01:41:09

2ManyDogs
dv#!
From: elsewhere
Registered: 2011-11-22
Posts: 1,346

Re: Nitrogen bug

Well, I'm not sure how helpful I was, but I'm glad you got it sorted. Now please mark your thread [solved] (edit your original post ) before rholwaldt notices there's a solved thread not marked hmm

(edit) wait never mind -- it's not your thread -- we will just have to incur the wrath of the mods neutral

Last edited by 2ManyDogs (2012-03-09 01:43:42)


Be eggsalad to each other.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo