SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#101 2011-01-17 17:37:21

SmashedGlass
#! CrunchBanger
From: Colorado Springs, Colorado USA
Registered: 2009-05-20
Posts: 238

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

I've a possibly silly question. Is it still possible to install, say, the XFCE version and have the option of an OB session as well? I remember Phil saying somewhere that Statler worked that way (XFCE with optional OB session and vice-versa).

Forgive me for my ignorance, I've been off regular use of my #! laptop for awhile and am contemplating upgrading to the 20110105 image.


n00b~ness, evolving at a glacial pace
"I don't have an internet-addiction....I'm just trying to get to the end of it."
   --------------------Registered Linux User #494414--------------------
Dell D420 | 1.2Ghz Core Duo | 2Gb Ram | Intel 950GM | Kick~ass #! Box

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#102 2011-01-17 17:39:15

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 9,924
Website

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

SmashedGlass wrote:

I've a possibly silly question. Is it still possible to install, say, the XFCE version and have the option of an OB session as well? I remember Phil saying somewhere that Statler worked that way (XFCE with optional OB session and vice-versa).

Forgive me for my ignorance, I've been off regular use of my #! laptop for awhile and am contemplating upgrading to the 20110105 image.


Yup, open a terminal and run:

cb-welcome

One of the options is to install Xfce if you have IOpenBox and OpenBox if you have Xfce.

Online

#103 2011-01-17 17:54:48

omns
#! wanderer
From: ~/
Registered: 2008-11-25
Posts: 5,131

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

Sector11 wrote:

Yup, open a terminal and run:

cb-welcome

One of the options is to install Xfce if you have IOpenBox and OpenBox if you have Xfce.

It's easier just to run

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install crunchbang-multi-session

Offline

#104 2011-01-17 18:02:52

SmashedGlass
#! CrunchBanger
From: Colorado Springs, Colorado USA
Registered: 2009-05-20
Posts: 238

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

Alrighty then. I'll throw 20110105 on the lil'Dell today. Original Alpha2 got borked while visiting the kids for Xmas, so it's currently running an un-modded Mint9 XFCE. Thanks.


n00b~ness, evolving at a glacial pace
"I don't have an internet-addiction....I'm just trying to get to the end of it."
   --------------------Registered Linux User #494414--------------------
Dell D420 | 1.2Ghz Core Duo | 2Gb Ram | Intel 950GM | Kick~ass #! Box

Offline

#105 2011-01-17 18:47:02

Sector11
77345 ¡#
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 9,924
Website

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

omns wrote:
Sector11 wrote:

Yup, open a terminal and run:

cb-welcome

One of the options is to install Xfce if you have IOpenBox and OpenBox if you have Xfce.

It's easier just to run

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install crunchbang-multi-session

Yes, it is, but I didn't know that - then!  I do now  big_smile

Online

#106 2011-01-18 02:03:36

earth_walker
New Member
Registered: 2009-05-25
Posts: 2

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

I've been a (silent) crunchbang fan for a few years now, and played with the livecd on various machines but  put Statler on my mini hp a few days ago. And I love it - it's fast, it's beautiful, and even as a beta seems more... polished and stable than the ubuntu-based ones were. The touchpad is a bit wonky on this - but that's a kernel issue and I've worked around it until it's fixed, but other than that, a lovely release. Can't wait for the finished product, and as soon as I have a spare moment I'm doing an upgrade on 9.04 on the other laptop.

Offline

#107 2011-01-18 09:01:45

goekhan
Member
Registered: 2009-09-02
Posts: 21

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

mattatron wrote:
biology-geek wrote:

Can you tweak the installer/software to include encryption during installation?  Encryption of the entire disk, save for the boot directory, would be even better...

+1 I'd love native disk encryption!

+1 for native disk encryption, too!

can´t wait to resurrect my centrino laptop...(+1 gb ram, new hdd)

Offline

#108 2011-01-18 14:12:24

biology-geek
Member
Registered: 2011-01-07
Posts: 15

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

K...so what's the deal with liquonix kernel, #!-32-bit and #!-amd64?

Ran 32-bit with stock kernal - boot time is 35 seconds and idle-ram 52MB.

Ran 64-bit with stock kernal - boot time is 35 seconds and idle-ram 80MB.

Ran 32-bit with liquonix kernel - boot time of 35 seconds and idle-ram of 49.5MB.

I didn't notice any performance difference...just that under the 64-bit version it used more ram across the board...even when opening applications.  While running the liquonix kernel under 32-bit it uses less memory across the board.

I was able to confirm that swap space is working.  Have swappiness set to 100, but doesn't start swapping till I literally use all of ram.

Anyone have input?

Bio...

Last edited by biology-geek (2011-01-18 14:14:55)

Offline

#109 2011-01-18 14:17:04

anonymous
The Mystery Member
From: Arch Linux Forums
Registered: 2008-11-29
Posts: 9,364

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

It is normal that 64-bit may require a lil more memory.

Wikipedia wrote:

The main disadvantage of 64-bit architectures is that relative to 32-bit architectures, the same data occupies more space in memory (due to swollen pointers and possibly other types and alignment padding). This increases the memory requirements of a given process and can have implications for efficient processor cache utilization. Maintaining a partial 32-bit model is one way to handle this and is in general reasonably effective.

Offline

#110 2011-01-18 14:31:01

slapfish
#! Die Hard
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 601

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

Just to clear this out and avoid any stupid actions in the near future: It isn't possible to install (without breaking the system) a 32bit kernel on amd64 system and vice versa...or is it? If someone wants to 32<->64 his/her (who am I kidding here...only a guy could try that, but anyway...) system a clean re-install is the only way right?


EDIT: and sorry for the kinda off topic question smile

Last edited by slapfish (2011-01-18 14:32:28)

Offline

#111 2011-01-18 15:09:13

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 11,485

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

^ Dual-boot? hmm


Yes; as a matter of fact, I am a cop.  Why do you ask? cool
I'm a moderator here.  How are we doing?  Feedback is encouraged.

Offline

#112 2011-01-18 15:20:32

slapfish
#! Die Hard
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 601

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

pvsage wrote:

^ Dual-boot? hmm

I was wondering if it's possible to have a grub with 32/64 entries... I did a little search while waiting and I think it's possible theoretically to upgrade or maybe downgrade a system, but it will require at least a re-installation of a lot of packages...I don't think it is possible to have both.

I'm thinking to downgrade my mini to 686 architecture since amd64 didn't solve any of the problems with drivers etc... if I decide to do it, I'll try to install the 686 kernel and see if it is practically able to downgrade it. if not, then I'll do the clean install I would have done anyway.

Offline

#113 2011-01-18 15:32:59

biology-geek
Member
Registered: 2011-01-07
Posts: 15

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

My N450 processor handles both 32 and 64 bit.  I'm left in the dark what advantage a  64 bit processor provides for someone like me.  Maybe graphics are enriched, but I don't do games. 

As for running office applications...32 bit works just fine.

I've left my system with 32-bit and the liquonix kernel...just cause I like to have the bragging rights of idling 49.5MB big_smile

Have my swap space set to 3.0GB...which is overkill I'm sure, but I'll never have swap space issues in the next decade.

Bio...

slapfish wrote:

Just to clear this out and avoid any stupid actions in the near future: It isn't possible to install (without breaking the system) a 32bit kernel on amd64 system and vice versa...or is it? If someone wants to 32<->64 his/her (who am I kidding here...only a guy could try that, but anyway...) system a clean re-install is the only way right?


EDIT: and sorry for the kinda off topic question smile

Last edited by biology-geek (2011-01-18 15:36:37)

Offline

#114 2011-01-18 17:17:31

anonymous
The Mystery Member
From: Arch Linux Forums
Registered: 2008-11-29
Posts: 9,364

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

The most common reason/advantage to use 64-bit is if you have 4GB of memory or more. Otherwise you're fine with 32-bit.

Offline

#115 2011-01-18 18:53:35

benj1
Wiki Wizard
From: Yorkshire, England
Registered: 2009-09-05
Posts: 1,084

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

anonymous wrote:

The most common reason/advantage to use 64-bit is if you have 4GB of memory or more. Otherwise you're fine with 32-bit.

Isn't it also needed for larger hard drives? or have I just made that up.


- - - - - - - - Wiki Pages - - - - - - -
#! install guide           *autostart programs, modify the menu & keybindings
configuring Conky       *installing scripts

Offline

#116 2011-01-18 18:57:36

anonymous
The Mystery Member
From: Arch Linux Forums
Registered: 2008-11-29
Posts: 9,364

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

Maybe your thinking of MBR vs GPT?

Offline

#117 2011-01-18 19:25:28

benj1
Wiki Wizard
From: Yorkshire, England
Registered: 2009-09-05
Posts: 1,084

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

anonymous wrote:

Maybe your thinking of MBR vs GPT?

probably roll


- - - - - - - - Wiki Pages - - - - - - -
#! install guide           *autostart programs, modify the menu & keybindings
configuring Conky       *installing scripts

Offline

#118 2011-01-19 12:52:58

charlie01
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2009-02-09
Posts: 556

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

The new gui installer sure looks nice.
Im using for the first time,Were to install grub has me confused.
I just put in in the root partition.
Ill find out soon enough if that worked.  lol

Offline

#119 2011-01-19 13:11:03

Feared
New Member
From: Wylie, Texas
Registered: 2011-01-17
Posts: 8
Website

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

charlie01 wrote:

The new gui installer sure looks nice.
Im using for the first time,Were to install grub has me confused.
I just put in in the root partition.
Ill find out soon enough if that worked.  lol

I noticed this as well. They seem'd to remove the "Entire partition" feature in Statler 20110105. You have to manually set up your partitions.

Offline

#120 2011-01-19 13:23:55

goekhan
Member
Registered: 2009-09-02
Posts: 21

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

goekhan wrote:
mattatron wrote:
biology-geek wrote:

Can you tweak the installer/software to include encryption during installation?  Encryption of the entire disk, save for the boot directory, would be even better...

+1 I'd love native disk encryption!

+1 for native disk encryption, too!

can´t wait to resurrect my centrino laptop...(+1 gb ram, new hdd)

actually found this workaround but haven´t tried it with #!:
http://www.linuxbsdos.com/2011/01/01/ho … le-system/

Last edited by goekhan (2011-01-19 13:24:09)

Offline

#121 2011-01-19 23:40:23

charlie01
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2009-02-09
Posts: 556

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

Feared wrote:
charlie01 wrote:

The new gui installer sure looks nice.
Im using for the first time,Were to install grub has me confused.
I just put in in the root partition.
Ill find out soon enough if that worked.  lol

I noticed this as well. They seem'd to remove the "Entire partition" feature in Statler 20110105. You have to manually set up your partitions.

I had no problems with it,I already has a partition made,All i had to do was click the format partition before it installs.Putting grub inside my root partition did the job.Installing grub gave me multiple options,I have a dual boot Windows7/#! with recovery partitions and swap.
No matter how long i use linux the SDB SDA thing still confuses me,Windows is more basic with C D E and so on.
My installation went well besides whats already known,,Like the time,It was fixed with NTP,Quick and easy.And Thunar video thumbnails gave me an issue.
I usually install ffmpegthumbnailer, totem with gstreamer and mencoder,that usually gets the job done.
But this time it didnt do the job,I think it was an issue with ffmpegthumbnailer,Once i reinstalled it it worked.

Offline

#122 2011-01-20 13:07:11

merelyjim
#! Die Hard
From: Fort Worth, Texas
Registered: 2010-04-07
Posts: 2,303
Website

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

earth_walker wrote:

I've been a (silent) crunchbang fan for a few years now, and played with the livecd on various machines but  put Statler on my mini hp a few days ago. And I love it - it's fast, it's beautiful, and even as a beta seems more... polished and stable than the ubuntu-based ones were. The touchpad is a bit wonky on this - but that's a kernel issue and I've worked around it until it's fixed, but other than that, a lovely release. Can't wait for the finished product, and as soon as I have a spare moment I'm doing an upgrade on 9.04 on the other laptop.

Welcome to the community, if it hasn't been said before... smile

Do you have the HP mini with the SSD, or standard hard drive?


"When I enter a command... I expect ass to be hauled and the coffeelike aroma of hustle delicately hovering in the air." -thalassophile

My attempt at a blog; http://waitingonragnarok.blogspot.com/

Offline

#123 2011-01-20 15:59:02

vicshrike
#! by Default
From: /14.04
Registered: 2009-02-13
Posts: 2,915

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

corenominal wrote:
anonymous wrote:

@corenominal - how often will you be updating the Statler images?

I am not too sure. I had not planned on updating the images, but I managed to work through a fair amount of stuff over the holidays and so I figured the images could do with an update.

relax, just do it the Debian way, when ready!


#!, all else is but a shadow

Offline

#124 2011-01-21 09:37:23

alef
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-02-05
Posts: 199

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

I have installed r20110105 over the existing one, keeping /home. I did this rather than a dist-upgrade because of some problems I caused that I could not resolve.

Everything went smoothly, I did not need to use my backup of the home folder.

The new installer "looks" nicer (is that really important?), as some others mentioned the partition setup interface is quite disturbing.

The only problem I had was that there was no option to install grub in other partitions than in the MBR...

Great work, thanks papanominal smile


Eee-PC 1000H    |  Statler r20110207 Openbox
Vaio VGN-FE21H  |  Statler r20110207 Openbox
Thinkpad X1Carbon | Waldorf r20121015
-- I live well without owning a printer.

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#125 2011-01-23 18:39:09

maddmike
New Member
Registered: 2009-11-22
Posts: 7

Re: CrunchBang 10 "Statler" r20110105

Thank-you for the Chrome browser set as default!  It has been more stable for me than other browser lately.  I have to admit that I have had less issues with the pure Debian based  Staler version on Crunchbang than the Ubuntu Jaunty based version.  Keep up the good work! big_smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo