SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2009-10-28 15:59:46

fopetesl
New Member
From: North Yorkshire Dales, England
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 8

Realtek ALC660 - no Skype mike or sound with video capture

As a newb I am arrrghhh#! frustrated sad
Installed fresh #! 9.04, installed upgrades.
Installed gtk-recordMyDesktop and latest Skype.
Tried all the suggestions I could Google without change.
Windoze XP works OK with the REALTEK HD Audio ALC660, so it looks like a hardware driver issue?

I haven't found the Hardware Manager so I don't know what #! thinks my sound hardware is.

Is there a simple answer before I give in?

I do actually like #! smile

ASUS M2SLi, Athlon 2800, 2GB RAM, 650GB SATA

Last edited by fopetesl (2009-10-28 16:00:34)


Every day a little more knowledge.  Every day a little more forgotten.

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2009-10-28 16:34:31

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,626
Website

Re: Realtek ALC660 - no Skype mike or sound with video capture

Skype is pure fun. I have surely spent hours to get the sound options configured right. Firstly you should have the Volume Manager (alsamixer or gnome-volume - press Super and V to open one of them) open while making changes in Skypes audio options. The labels for the Audio inputs *might* be wrong, so dont wonder when for example "Digital Out" changes the volume of your microphone. A good start is to crank everything up as first, and then to choose Skype's Sound In/Out/Ringing devices. In my case (NVidia on board) it is SoundIn hw:Nvidia,2 - but Sound out and Ringing are both "Default". It is a pain in the #!
Good luck smile

Edit: typos

Last edited by machinebacon (2009-10-28 16:36:12)

Offline

#3 2009-10-28 16:38:29

fopetesl
New Member
From: North Yorkshire Dales, England
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 8

Re: Realtek ALC660 - no Skype mike or sound with video capture

machinebacon wrote:

Skype is pure fun. I have surely spent hours to get the sound options configured right. Firstly you should have the Volume Manager (alsamixer or gnome-volume - press Super and V to open one of them) open while making changes in Skypes audio options. The labels for the Audio inputs *might* be wrong, so dont wonder when for example "Digital Out" changes the volume of your microphone. A good start is to crank everything up as first, and then to choose Skype's Sound In/Out/Ringing devices. In my case (NVidia on board) it is SoundIn hw:Nvidia,2, Sound out and Ringing are both "Default". It is a pain in the #!
Good luck smile

Edit: typos

Thanks, machinebacon.  I tried alsamixer but I can't alter anything.  sad
BTW, WTH is the "Super" key?
I also tried the gnome-volume but that didn't change anything either!  'Cept earphone volume .. ouch!


Every day a little more knowledge.  Every day a little more forgotten.

Offline

#4 2009-10-28 23:42:07

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,626
Website

Re: Realtek ALC660 - no Skype mike or sound with video capture

the Super key is the Windows-Key on your keyboard (between Ctrl and Alt)

can you tell us your device entry? In Terminal :

lspci | grep Audio

aplay -l 

arecord -l

tells you as what your hardware is detected (playback and record).

edit: 

How to get video capture work in skype: try to run skype from the terminal with the command:

LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/libv4l/v4l2convert.so skype

Usually (normally loaded) some cameras only show a green screen.

Last edited by machinebacon (2009-10-29 00:23:22)

Offline

#5 2009-10-31 11:53:25

fopetesl
New Member
From: North Yorkshire Dales, England
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 8

Re: Realtek ALC660 - no Skype mike or sound with video capture

..so much to do. So little time...

machinebacon wrote:

the Super key is the Windows-Key on your keyboard (between Ctrl and Alt)

Thanks smile

machinebacon wrote:

can you tell us your device entry? In Terminal :

lspci | grep Audio
aplay -l 
arecord -l

..desktop:~$ lspci | grep Audio
08:01.0 Audio device: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT1708/A [Azalia HDAC] (VIA High Definition Audio Controller) (rev 10)


..desktop:~$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: VT82xx [HDA VIA VT82xx], device 0: ALC861 Analog [ALC861 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: VT82xx [HDA VIA VT82xx], device 1: ALC861 Digital [ALC861 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

..desktop:~$ arecord -l
**** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
card 0: VT82xx [HDA VIA VT82xx], device 0: ALC861 Analog [ALC861 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


machinebacon wrote:

How to get video capture work in skype: try to run skype from the terminal with the command:

LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/libv4l/v4l2convert.so skype

Usually (normally loaded) some cameras only show a green screen.

..desktop:~$ aplay -l LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/libv4l/v4l2convert.so skype
still no microphone (or camera either actually)

Oh! And BTW where is the hardware manager?

Last edited by fopetesl (2009-10-31 12:17:33)


Every day a little more knowledge.  Every day a little more forgotten.

Offline

#6 2009-10-31 19:11:34

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,626
Website

Re: Realtek ALC660 - no Skype mike or sound with video capture

1) The command to start skype is without 'aplay -l' smile
2) So it is only the microphone not working? In this case be sure to open the right microphone channel in the gnome-volume-control. Click on Preferences, tick all "Recording" and "Options" checkboxes (latter might be called different) and go to the Tab where you can choose "Microphone Source". There is probably Front and Back.
3) You can also use this - it looks reasonable: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php? … ght=vt82xx
4) The only hardware manager I know of is the "Restricted Device Manager" in OpenBox Menu -> System

Offline

#7 2009-11-01 11:49:01

fopetesl
New Member
From: North Yorkshire Dales, England
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 8

Re: Realtek ALC660 - no Skype mike or sound with video capture

Hmmm. Well that didn't work. sad
And now I cannot control the earphones volume.
And after removing pulseaudio, etc., I get an error message when executing gnome-volume-control:

GConf Error: Failed to contact configuration server; some possible causes are that you need to enable TCP/IP networking for ORBit, or you have stale NFS locks due to a system crash. See http://projects.gnome.org/gconf/ for information. (Details -  1: Failed to get connection to session: Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken.)

Didn't get any error previously.

Time to realise when enough is enough sad


Every day a little more knowledge.  Every day a little more forgotten.

Offline

#8 2009-11-01 16:27:15

oscillik
#! Member
From: Widnes, Cheshire
Registered: 2009-05-15
Posts: 53
Website

Re: Realtek ALC660 - no Skype mike or sound with video capture

unfortunately audio problems and video performance in Ubuntu (which also affects Crunchbang) have forced me to stick with Windows for the time being.

after having tested Ubuntu 9.10 on my EeePC it looks like, unless Crunchbang makes some major changes, i'll be sticking with Windows 7 on my EeePC for the foreseeable future sad

which is a shame, because i love Crunchbang and i do miss it dearly!

Last edited by oscillik (2009-11-01 16:28:27)


Asus EeePC 1000HE, Intel Atom N280, #!
home-built "euclid", Intel Core2 Quad Q9650, Windows 7 x64
Google Nexus S, Hummingbird S5PC110, Android 2.3
Psion netBook, StrongARM SA-1100, EPOC ER5

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo