SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-09-03 02:35:47

pvsage
Internal Affairs

Include kernel headers in Waldorf?

I mean, since we're no longer trying to keep the size of the image under 700MiB anyway, why not include the headers for the kernel in case somebody needs to install a binary, especially for something like wifi?  Chances are, most of us who have problematic wireless chipsets are going to have a local copy of the binary, but might have difficulty getting the right headers.

Yes; as a matter of fact, I am a cop.  Why do you ask? cool
I'm a moderator here.  How are we doing?  Feedback is encouraged.

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2012-09-03 07:32:23

mynis01
#! Die Hard

Re: Include kernel headers in Waldorf?

NVidia drivers and virtualbox require headers too iirc.

#3 2012-09-03 10:26:27

corenominal
WRONG
Website

An interesting suggestion. I will definitely keep an eye on this thread smile

#4 2012-09-03 12:20:22

greywolf

I would support including the headers for the installed kernel in the default install. I would also suggest adding "module-assistant" package in the install.

Once I find an Nvidia driver and kernel combination that works well on my hardware I do not like to update/change them unless I have to. I therefore, tend towards always using the smxi/sgfxi scripts for driver and kernel setup rather than using dkms from Debian.

The rubbishy 290.40 Nvidia drivers for example that broke dozens of machines I support when dkms updated them from working versions.

This smxi method always requires the kernel headers and the module-assistant programs to be present.

Thanks for considering it.

Greywolf.

Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass...
it's about learning to dance in the rain.

#5 2012-09-03 12:38:17

Vuoristoneuvos

I don't see the real benefit.

pvsage wrote:

...in case somebody needs to install a binary, especially for something like wifi?