SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-08-27 08:24:44

NGIB
Member
From: Hinesville, GA
Registered: 2012-08-20
Posts: 13

Waldorf locks up

My Toshiba notebook, a T135D, runs Statler fine but locks up with Waldorf on boot.  I can boot the recovery mode and run startx, but the normal boot hangs up just after starting SLiM.  Here's the output of lspci:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 Host Bridge
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Toshiba America Info Systems Device 9602
00:05.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 1)
00:06.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 2)
00:11.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
00:12.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:12.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:12.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 3c)
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 LPC host controller
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RS780M/RS780MN [Radeon HD 3200 Graphics]
01:05.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc RS780 Azalia controller
08:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications AR8132 Fast Ethernet (rev c0)
09:00.0 Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8191SEvB Wireless LAN Controller (rev 10)

Any quick fixes as I prefer Waldorf?

(this lspci output is from SolusOS)

Last edited by NGIB (2012-08-27 08:26:18)

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2012-08-27 08:53:40

omns
#! wanderer
From: ~/
Registered: 2008-11-25
Posts: 5,131

Re: Waldorf locks up

Moved to Develop: CrunchBang 11 "Waldorf"

smile

Offline

#3 2012-08-27 09:04:02

xaos52
The Good Doctor
From: Planet of the @s
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 4,602

Re: Waldorf locks up

Elaborate on 'hangs up' please.
Can you switch to virtual console? Ctlt-Alt-F2 and login?
Did you edit $HOME/config/openbox/autostart? Every command in there should have an & at the end.

Offline

#4 2012-08-27 09:43:24

NGIB
Member
From: Hinesville, GA
Registered: 2012-08-20
Posts: 13

Re: Waldorf locks up

When trying to start a live session (from a USB drive) the last thing I see during boot is loading Slim then the screen goes blank and the system is hung up - nothing works.  I installed Waldorf on my wife's HP notebook and it runs great.  I popped the drive out of hers and put it in mine and the same result.  If I change the Grub boot line and add "vesa" it will boot up but the wireless will not connect.  It sees my network and prompts me for the key but it just keeps doing this.

I can boot the recovery image and it takes me to the shell and then I can run startx and it gets me to the root openbox configuration just fine (no tint2, conky, etc).  I've tried a bunch of distros on this box and have had zero problems.  Solus runs great (it will be my wife's new OS), but I prefer CB...

Offline

#5 2012-08-27 10:49:26

xaos52
The Good Doctor
From: Planet of the @s
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 4,602

Re: Waldorf locks up

I popped the drive out of hers and put it in mine and the same result.

-> hung system? or does it work? just to avoid confusion smile

Seems like graphic card issue on your PC.
Post output of

lspci -knn | grep -EiA 3 vga

please, to see your HW and what kernel module is loaded.

Offline

#6 2012-08-27 11:04:59

NGIB
Member
From: Hinesville, GA
Registered: 2012-08-20
Posts: 13

Re: Waldorf locks up

With her HD, if I just boot the default it will hang up in the same place as the USB live media.  If I add "vesa" to the boot line, it will boot up fine but I can't connect to my WiFi.  It's in the list and I'm prompted for the key but it just keeps asking for the key over & over.  Statler and Statler BPO boot & install just fine but I don't like different versions on different computers and Waldorf works perfectly on my other computers. 

I'm at work but I'll post the output when I get home.  As this one is my main travel computer, I'd love to get Waldorf operating on it...

Offline

#7 2012-08-27 21:02:39

NGIB
Member
From: Hinesville, GA
Registered: 2012-08-20
Posts: 13

Re: Waldorf locks up

Output of lspci -knn | grep -EiA 3 vga :

01:05.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RS780M/RS780MN [Mobility Radeon HD 3200 Graphics] [1002:9612]
    Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device [1179:ffe2]
    Kernel driver in use: radeon
01:05.1 Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RS780 HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 3000-3300 Series] [1002:960f]

Here's the line in grub.cfg that loads the kernel:

linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-3-amd64 root=UUID=4c617aab-aade-43ad-a084-90656ce19061 ro quiet

If I remove the "quiet" parameter, CB boots and runs just fine.  Now I'm confused as "quiet" is just supposed to suppress messages right?

Last edited by NGIB (2012-08-27 21:03:30)

Offline

#8 2012-08-27 21:08:16

NGIB
Member
From: Hinesville, GA
Registered: 2012-08-20
Posts: 13

Re: Waldorf locks up

Here's proof the "quiet" parameter is the culprit.  Right now I am running on the live media from my bootable USB.  I used Tab to edit the boot line, removed "quiet", and it loaded right up - strange...

Offline

#9 2012-08-27 23:43:22

NGIB
Member
From: Hinesville, GA
Registered: 2012-08-20
Posts: 13

Re: Waldorf locks up

Ran one last experiment.  Since I can remove the "quiet" switch and boot the live system, I did so and installed CB on a spare 100 GB drive I had.  Once install was complete, I was able to get the system started by again removing the quiet switch from grub.  I let the cb-welcome script run and update the system. 

I can't make the newly installed system boot at all as it hangs up after it loads slim.  Changinng the boot parameters has no effect at all so something in the upgrade, kernel?, has caused a problem.  Oh well, Solus runs perfectly on this box and I may just stay with that.  I like CB but I don't want to run different systems/versionns on different machines...

Offline

#10 2012-08-30 10:29:58

NGIB
Member
From: Hinesville, GA
Registered: 2012-08-20
Posts: 13

Re: Waldorf locks up

No thoughts on this one?

Offline

#11 2012-08-30 13:51:09

xaos52
The Good Doctor
From: Planet of the @s
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 4,602

Re: Waldorf locks up

Seems like 2 problems to me:
(1) Problem booting with the 'quiet' boot parameter
(2) Removing the 'quiet' boot parameter boots the system allright, but then X crashes or slim locks up after entering your password.

Lets address (2) first:
• boot without 'quiet'
• do not enter your password in the slim login screen, instead type Ctrl+Alt+F2, and login
• Now stop slim:

sudo invoke-rc.d slim stop

• Enter the command

startx

     If X starts up now, the problem is with slim.
     If X does not start, try to post the content of $HOME/.xsession-errors

Last edited by xaos52 (2012-08-30 13:51:47)

Offline

#12 2012-08-30 14:05:21

NGIB
Member
From: Hinesville, GA
Registered: 2012-08-20
Posts: 13

Re: Waldorf locks up

BTW, when it hangs I never get to the Slim login screen.  I see the message "starting Slim..." and the system just goes into graphics mode and the black screen of death...

Last edited by NGIB (2012-08-30 14:05:46)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo