SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2011-11-28 03:11:34

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

(Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

Is anyone to mount a usb or another partition with the new images?

I have several partitions that I do not mount in fstab

In the past I have always just clicked on them and would be presented an option to enter my password and they mounted.  That does not work anymore, it just tells me that I am not authorized ..  this is in both Thunar and PcmanFM

So I loaded lightdm and tried the same thing in both Thunar and PcmanFM and was presented with the password option and the mounts worked

According to this post on aptosid,  it is a known issue with SLiM

Can anyone confirm also that SLiM is no longer a maintained app?

Last edited by VastOne (2011-12-05 05:16:45)


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2011-11-28 03:15:32

ivanovnegro
Ivan #000000
From: unstable madness
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,426

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

I can just say that i faced this problem with Slim under Wheezy on Xfce with Thunar.

Offline

#3 2011-11-28 03:17:00

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

Thanks Ivanov...

Only difference is that this is Stable for me


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#4 2011-11-28 05:41:42

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,631
Website

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

Morning Vast1,
moooorning Ivo wink

I have no idea if the new statlers have gvfs installed, probably yes.
Are you people using a .xinitrc file with the epic exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch openbox-session ?
If this doen't work, maybe some udev rules will do: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Udev

Edit: Of course I mean those who use Slim, not LightDM or LXDM big_smile

Last edited by machinebacon (2011-11-28 05:43:04)

Offline

#5 2011-11-28 06:11:33

ivanovnegro
Ivan #000000
From: unstable madness
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,426

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

^ Gvfs is installed at least here on Wheezy but you have the point, I think I do not use this .xinitrc stuff.

Offline

#6 2011-11-28 06:31:00

ivanovnegro
Ivan #000000
From: unstable madness
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,426

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

There are more and more people complaining about not to be able to mount various drives.

I looked at Wikipedia and the last version of Slim is from summer 2010. Not sure if that indicates inactivity.

Offline

#7 2011-11-28 06:40:18

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,631
Website

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

^ There is actually nothing interesting about slim, to be honest. And it is not slimmer than lightdm or gdm3... wink

Offline

#8 2011-11-28 06:42:40

ivanovnegro
Ivan #000000
From: unstable madness
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,426

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

^ I am not using Slim anyway but it is the default on the new Statler images. That is why we opened the discussion.

Offline

#9 2011-11-28 06:43:06

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

machinebacon wrote:

^ There is actually nothing interesting about slim, to be honest. And it is not slimmer than lightdm or gdm3... wink

Morning MB..

I agree... and lightdm can be configured to whatever you want it to look like and is incredibly light


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#10 2011-11-28 06:51:56

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,631
Website

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

ivanovnegro wrote:

^ I am not using Slim anyway but it is the default on the new Statler images. That is why we opened the discussion.

Yes yes, I am aware of this, that's why I mention the other one wink Some things on the new images I don't understand. For one gdm is kicked, but evince is kept (see gtk dependencies) although epdfview would be a nice alternative, xfce4-screenshooter is still there which probably has some xfce dependencies; and those who will upgrade to Thunar 1.2.3 will need to uninstall gvfs, else thunar will open twice after half a minute big_smile

Offline

#11 2011-11-28 06:58:11

ivanovnegro
Ivan #000000
From: unstable madness
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,426

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

^ Oh, I still have that gvfs. roll But so far no problems with it.

Offline

#12 2011-11-28 07:05:19

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,631
Website

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

^What's your thunar version?

Offline

#13 2011-11-28 07:09:24

VastOne
#! Ranger
From: #! Fringe Division
Registered: 2011-04-26
Posts: 10,163
Website

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

machinebacon wrote:

^What's your thunar version?

version 1.2.3 for me and always the double open and 40 seconds delay...

I do not care to resolve since I do not use it anyway


VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

Offline

#14 2011-11-28 07:10:54

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,631
Website

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

^ Yeah VastOne, this is what I mean - I have purged gvfs and the delay was gone.
Thunar 1.2.3-2, gvfs 1.10.1-2

Offline

#15 2011-11-28 08:17:08

ivanovnegro
Ivan #000000
From: unstable madness
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,426

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

I have gvfs and thunar 1.2.3, no delays here. roll Ok my gvfs version on Wheezy is still on 1.8.2. But I never experienced this delay.

Is that gvfs of any need at all on Xfce 4.8?

Offline

#16 2011-11-28 08:26:40

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,631
Website

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

I think this enables Thunar to browse samba, and I guess it is also there because of gigolo. I would say it is not needed if you don't connect to remote locations.
Edit: are network places shown in your Thunar, ivo?

Last edited by machinebacon (2011-11-28 08:27:15)

Offline

#17 2011-11-28 08:29:59

ivanovnegro
Ivan #000000
From: unstable madness
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,426

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

^ Yes I can see network places. Samba, never used that crap. smile

Offline

#18 2011-11-28 08:31:47

Milozzy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 622
Website

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

In my experience, the delay and the double thunar was caused by gvfs-backends, not by gvfs.

Offline

#19 2011-11-28 08:36:36

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,631
Website

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

That's interesting. So it means that if Thunar >=1.2 and gvfs<1.10 there's no delay.

Offline

#20 2011-11-28 08:37:44

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,631
Website

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

Milozzy wrote:

In my experience, the delay and the double thunar was caused by gvfs-backends, not by gvfs.

Yes, and seemingly not for every user. I thought it is gvfs-smb, does that belong to the backends?
Edit: It does. So removing the gvfs-backends solves the delay.

Last edited by machinebacon (2011-11-28 08:40:14)

Offline

#21 2011-11-28 08:43:48

Milozzy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 622
Website

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

machinebacon wrote:
Milozzy wrote:

In my experience, the delay and the double thunar was caused by gvfs-backends, not by gvfs.

Yes, and seemingly not for every user. I thought it is gvfs-smb, does that belong to the backends?
Edit: It does. So removing the gvfs-backends solves the delay.

I dont' know exactly...but I do know that this Thunar bug exists for too long now and is very annoying sad

Offline

#22 2011-11-28 08:48:21

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,631
Website

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

Yes, over half a year already. The reason I switched back to PCManFM. Since having removed all gvfs-related stuff the delay has disappeared, and I don't use FTP/Remote/Samba anyway, so ... However, a purge shouldn't be the solution.

As long as it works for the Stable folks, out of the box, everything is ok smile

[/back2topic] big_smile

Last edited by machinebacon (2011-11-28 08:50:03)

Offline

#23 2011-11-28 13:32:30

Throne777
#! CrunchBanger
From: UK
Registered: 2011-10-20
Posts: 165
Website

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

Does anyone know how to fix this because all my files are on my external HDD, so my PC is virtually useless if it can't access it. After the hell I've been through trying to install a working operating system (my disc drive is faulty and 90% of the time the install will fail -it's literally a game of luck), I really can't stress enough how I don't want to try and install another one sad

Even if it's just a temporary fix like a command line to mount the HDD instead. Help is much appreciated.

Last edited by Throne777 (2011-11-28 13:34:09)


All we ever were, just zeroes and ones.

Offline

#24 2011-11-28 14:13:53

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,631
Website

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

We can add the drive to /etc/fstab

Open a terminal and enter sudo blkid then post the output here

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#25 2011-11-28 14:17:57

Throne777
#! CrunchBanger
From: UK
Registered: 2011-10-20
Posts: 165
Website

Re: (Solved) SLiM issues and mounting drives with the new images

machinebacon wrote:

We can add the drive to /etc/fstab

Open a terminal and enter sudo blkid then post the output here

/dev/sda5: UUID="E2Y8dv-a4zB-FZP2-84sH-DwIJ-i7ij-3Gw83Z" TYPE="LVM2_member" 
/dev/sda1: UUID="c9fc3abd-12af-4566-b79e-01989c37600d" TYPE="ext2" 
/dev/mapper/theninthgate-root: UUID="ce2c3677-4e5e-47d0-b972-fbaf4274e525" TYPE="ext4" 
/dev/mapper/theninthgate-swap_1: UUID="745a3423-7437-4beb-a008-dd6a81d21fcc" TYPE="swap" 
/dev/mapper/theninthgate-home: UUID="1219d215-bdae-4bae-b0dd-67c2b2f6acc9" TYPE="ext4" 
/dev/sdb1: LABEL="Elements" UUID="A60EFA090EF9D1F3" TYPE="ntfs" 

All we ever were, just zeroes and ones.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo