SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2011-10-21 23:56:55

safetycopy
urban legend
From: The Chatsubo
Registered: 2010-04-03
Posts: 1,311

Firefox "Couldn't load XPCOM" [solved]

When trying to launch Firefox (the newest source), I am getting an error:

Couldn't load XPCOM.

I think this might have something to do with xulrunner, but I'm not sure what I need:

apt-cache search xulrunner:

conkeror - keyboard focused web browser with Emacs look and feel
conkeror-spawn-process-helper - spawn external processes in Conkeror
gecko-mediaplayer - Multimedia plug-in for Gecko browsers
icedtea-plugin - web browser plugin based on OpenJDK and IcedTea to execute Java applets
icedtea6-plugin - web browser plugin to execute Java applets (dependency package)
xulrunner-6.0 - XUL + XPCOM application runner
xulrunner-7.0 - XUL + XPCOM application runner
xulrunner-7.0-dbg - Debugging symbols for the Gecko engine library
xulrunner-dev - Development files for the Gecko engine library
pyjamas-canvas - Pyjamas Python port of GWTCanvas SVG Library
pyjamas-desktop - Python web widget toolkit (Desktop version)
totem-mozilla - Totem Mozilla plugin
ia32-libs-xulrunner - xulrunner ia32 shared libraries

Anyone else run into this?

Last edited by safetycopy (2011-10-24 01:26:24)


i wonder if i missed the warning
Skinny Puppy, Love in Vein

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2011-10-22 02:30:32

anonymous
The Mystery Member
From: Arch Linux Forums
Registered: 2008-11-29
Posts: 9,418

Re: Firefox "Couldn't load XPCOM" [solved]

Does it make any difference if you remove xulrunner-6.0/xulrunner-7.0? If you downloaded the Firefox archive from the Mozilla website, it should be self-contained and not need xulrunner separately.

Offline

#3 2011-10-22 02:35:00

safetycopy
urban legend
From: The Chatsubo
Registered: 2010-04-03
Posts: 1,311

Re: Firefox "Couldn't load XPCOM" [solved]

I don't have either xulrunner installed. I tried installing 7, but that didn't seem to make any difference.


i wonder if i missed the warning
Skinny Puppy, Love in Vein

Offline

#4 2011-10-24 01:26:07

safetycopy
urban legend
From: The Chatsubo
Registered: 2010-04-03
Posts: 1,311

Re: Firefox "Couldn't load XPCOM" [solved]

So, I was finally able to remove adobe-flashplugin and installed flashplugin-nonfree instead. This seems to have fixed the XPCOM issue...


i wonder if i missed the warning
Skinny Puppy, Love in Vein

Offline

#5 2014-05-08 10:50:56

Ticheddeol
spambot
Registered: 2014-05-08
Posts: 11

Re: Firefox "Couldn't load XPCOM" [solved]

/spambot post removed

-s11

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo