SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2010-10-23 17:42:35

fredbird67
#! Junkie
From: Ballwin (St. Louis), MO
Registered: 2010-03-20
Posts: 293

[SOLVED] Can't use ALT-TAB to cycle among programs in Xfce

I just installed Statler Xfce yesterday and I've run into a little problem:  I can't seem to use ALT-TAB to cycle between open programs.  I looked around on this forum and also looked in /home/me/.config/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/xfce4-keyboard-shortcuts.xml and found the following:

<property name="&lt;Alt&gt;Tab" type="empty"/>

Obviously, that's not right.  What's the magic word to restore the desired functionality?  I've been using that keyboard shortcut for years and nothing happening when I activate that key combination is driving me crazy.  If someone could help me out here, I would really appreciate it.

Thanx in advance,
Fred in St. Louis

Last edited by fredbird67 (2010-10-23 23:58:27)


Just who is General Failure and what's he doing reading my hard drive?

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2010-10-23 18:02:42

fredbird67
#! Junkie
From: Ballwin (St. Louis), MO
Registered: 2010-03-20
Posts: 293

Re: [SOLVED] Can't use ALT-TAB to cycle among programs in Xfce

More information:  I also tried going into the Xfce settings, Window Manager, the "Keyboard" tab, and it even lists "Cycle windows", with the keyboard shortcut being "<Alt>Tab".  Yet, whenever I try that, it's acting ONLY as straight Tab, without the <Alt> modifier working and it's lying worse than a politician! LOL  Also, I've tried switching out keyboards too, and that doesn't help, either.


Just who is General Failure and what's he doing reading my hard drive?

Offline

#3 2010-10-23 18:10:22

jollysnowman
#! CrunchBanger
From: Austin, TX
Registered: 2009-11-17
Posts: 223

Re: [SOLVED] Can't use ALT-TAB to cycle among programs in Xfce

Is your system recognizing Alt as the correct key? In other words, if you run xev, pressing the left or right Alt key should show as "Alt_L" or "Alt_R".

Offline

#4 2010-10-23 18:19:52

fredbird67
#! Junkie
From: Ballwin (St. Louis), MO
Registered: 2010-03-20
Posts: 293

Re: [SOLVED] Can't use ALT-TAB to cycle among programs in Xfce

OK, I've also got my main computer on which I plan to switch from Linux Mint to Statler (Clement Lefebvre is very anti-Israel, as evidenced by a now-infamous post from last year on his blog, and as a Christian, I'm definitely a supporter of Israel), and it showed up as Alt_L and Alt_R.  But on this one, for some funny reason, it's showing up as "ISO_Level3_Shift".  Obviously, that's not right.  How does one correct that?


Just who is General Failure and what's he doing reading my hard drive?

Offline

#5 2010-10-23 23:58:09

fredbird67
#! Junkie
From: Ballwin (St. Louis), MO
Registered: 2010-03-20
Posts: 293

Re: [SOLVED] Can't use ALT-TAB to cycle among programs in Xfce

Well, never mind.  Since I only installed Statler yesterday, I just simply did a complete re-install.  That, of course, is a radical way of doing it, but hey, it works...


Just who is General Failure and what's he doing reading my hard drive?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo